Merrell Women's Bare Access Arc 2

Style #:

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (26)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $90.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

For all you fitness freaks out there, these Bare Access Arc 2 running shoes for women from Merrell's Barefoot collection are an idyllic pick. These shoes ensure great comfort and grip while you're jogging or on a rigorous fitness session. Team these up with your track pants and a T-shirt to complete the look. This women's minimalist runner is assembled using breathable mesh and synthetic upper, and features supportive overlays with six-eye exotic lace closure for a snug, glove-like fit. It comes with an Aegis-treated footbed and 8mm cushioned midsole providing greater shock absorption.

51% textile upper.
Cement construction.
Low cut upper.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out.
Lining treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (26)

Shoe Size: 80% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 96% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


77 of 158 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love these shoes 10/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Susan from
I wasn't sure about the "barefoot" shoe, but I love it. I walk every day for exercise and this shoe is so comfortable.

The review of the Women's Bare Access Arc 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

69 of 147 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love my Merrells! 09/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: marybeth from
I love my Merrells with the Vibram soles! Feel like I'm wearing nothing at all!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

77 of 146 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars I was amazed! 09/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: guest from
I had a Merrell gift certificate, so I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try barefoot shoes. There was no cash outlay on my part, so I wouldn't feel too bad if I didn't like them. Wow! I love them! So comfortable, and I love them for walking and running. The only sad part is now I want more and I will have to use my own money on my next pair!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

78 of 152 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 09/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: kat from
I bought this shoe primarily for walking. Fits true to size. I was happily surprised at the amount of arch support it gives. A little disappointed in the color. Was not quite as true as the photo. Just added a different color shoelace to accent. Would highly recommend this shoe. Light weight, good fit.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

74 of 148 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Awesome shoes! 09/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Shannon from
Me and my boyfriend shopped for new workout shoes for quite a while. We read blogs and asked around for about 3 months. I had been stuck with Nike purely because it was convenient and you can get them almost anywhere. With the amount of activity I do indoors as well as outdoors the toes of my shoes would wear through within a few months. I was tired of wearing shoes for a few months with holes in them and finally caving and buying a new pair of Nike's that were the 'newer/better pair and great for any level of activity'. Not at all true. Now I've only had my Merrell's for about a month but I am absolutely in love! I have a skinny foot and they fit me perfectly while still having a large enough toe box. I train with them indoors and outdoors and they're honestly the best shoes I've every trained in. No wear so far and they are super comfy. Great stability through the arch and the toe box is quite flexible. It took a few days for my feet/legs to adjust to the shoe but it was just a bit uncomfortable. Me and my boyfriend agree we will stick with Merrell's from now on. I'm contemplating my second pair already not because I NEED to but because I WANT to!!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 89 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars marietaas 08/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: marietaa from
This is my second pair. I'm a nurse and prolong standing makes your legs sore but this shoe solved the problem.I love them, very comfortable and light especially with long walks. I have a bunion and the shoes fits right without pain.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 82 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 08/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Merrellfan from
These shoes are great! They protect my feet when hiking and if I get them wet they dry rapidly. I only wear Merrell when I out in nature and was concerned that the Barefoot sole would not provide the support I require (I have a bad knee) but it has preformed fantastically. Thanks for your quality that stands up to the abuse an outdoor person puts them through!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

48 of 90 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Yet another pair of these great shoes..... 08/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: r-hutch from
Yes, my wife wanted another pair (4 now) so that she can have two pairs at home in The Netherlands, and two pairs at home in US...... I can't say more, these are excellent for everything: all day wear, training, running, the lot. Well made, great room around the toes, fantastically comfortable and good looking I do notice tho' that at least two of the pairs no longer appear on this website (white/blue and white/orange). Is this just part of a continuous process of phasing out some colours and introducing others: there seem to be less to choose from than before? I hope that's not a signal that, having found what are the best pair of shoes my wife has found, that you're going to replace them!!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

44 of 84 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Quality issues 08/21/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TMartin from
I would whole heartedly give these shoes five stars for fit and comfort. I have worn stability and motion control shoes for almost 8 years and switching to barefoot shoes has solved my chronic plantar faciitis and several other issues I've had over the years. That being said, after four weeks of light to moderate use, the sole of one shoe began to peel off. I returned them to the store where I purchased them and was able to exchange them. The only pair in my size has some serious stitching defects. The store suggested two options: take the defective pair and see if the stitching was irritating or order and pay for a new pair online and then return the defective pair later. I just want a pair that is stitched correctly and doesn't fall apart. Am going to attempt a third pair. Wish me luck.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

36 of 74 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Cushioned Minimal Shoe 08/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ngiove17 from
Absolutely love this shoe! Used it this morning in a crossfit wod for the first time and ran an awesome season best in the mile for the workout! Feels amazing and the arch feels perfect! I love it for running and for crossfit wods. Nice zero drop for working out and feels great! I will be shopping more often for Merrell shoes! I don't let the look of the shoe make the decision for me but this shoe feels great and looks very clean and sleek. A lot of shoes just have too much stuff to them. This was perfect! Try them and you won't regret! Also amazing colors! I love all the colors! I got the black because its easy to match but I am tempted for the teal :) Try to try on beforehand though, I had to size a half size down from my usual size.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

38 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Merrell Bare Access Arc 2 08/12/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: winterchild27 from
Shoes are exactly my size, very light weight and comfy. Color was true to picture. I wore them all day, standing up all day and on my toes, and feet felt great! Have yet to run in them.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 77 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars AWESOME SHOES!!! 08/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: JULIE from
I love these shoes they are so comfortable, light weight, and the arch fits my foot perfectly!! I wear the black pair for work and I ordered a backup pair for when those wear out. I also ordered the dazzling blue pair and love them too!! I would recommend these to anyone that like a low profile barefoot shoe.

The review of the Women's Encore Apex was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 78 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc 2 07/31/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: kathymac from
I love these shoes - they are very very light weight and perfect for travel. They have an arch support that I did not expect in such a light weight shoe, but it is really nice to have when you spend a lot of time walking. I can slip these on and off easily without fooling with the laces and they are comfortable with or without socks. Love the color!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 80 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars my new favorite 07/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Laura from
I've tried lots of different brands of running shoes over the past couple years because my feet are changing and I need arch support. I've been doing brisk walking for exercise and developed plantar fascitis. Most running shoes feel bulky and heavy on my feet and I feel like I'm tripping over my feet. I came across Merrell shoes in reading online what others have tried for shoes that have similar foot problems. Merrell brand was highly recommended so I thought I'd give them a try. The Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc 2 arrived in no time at all and I've been wearing them ever since. They are perfect because they are so lightweight on my feet but supportive and adequately cushioned. They are the shoes for me and I love them so much I ordered a second pair. I would highly recommend these shoes especially if you have foot pain.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 78 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Too narrow! 07/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits narrow
Reviewer: runpipparun from
I run in Pace Gloves (wide), Dash Gloves, and Lithe Gloves. I tried these on in my normal size, and they were waaaayyyy too narrow through the mid foot. Like, my foot was overlapping off the last of the shoe painfully. Bad times! I was really looking for something a bit more cushioned for my long runs, but I'll have to figure something else out. Booo.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Need more width in certain area 06/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Beth from
When I tried these on, I was so excited to have found a sneaker with such great arch support. I tried them on with a light weight cotton sock. The sneakers felt slightly snug at the distal, lateral aspect of my 5th metatatarsal of my right foot. I loosened them as much as I could, but the longer I wore them (I am talking less than 10 minutes), the more pressure I felt. I even started to feel a pulsation in my foot. If you have even a slight bunion or protrusion in the area I described, then these will not be totally comfortable. When I took them off, there were red pressure marks on both feet in the same area (the part of the 5th metatarsal that protrudes laterally - just under 5th toe.) I am disappointed there was not a wider width option, though I am usually a regular width. The toe box had plenty of room. Hope the company can remedy this. The area affected was pressing into the lip of the rubber base, so it wasn't like I could stretch the fabric out and solve the problem. 5 stars for the arch support and toe box, 1 star for the problem I noted.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

43 of 83 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Bare Access ARC 2 06/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Martie from OH from
Overall, this is a great shoe - perfect for those newer to barefoot. The ties really help with arch support, and I have room for my orthotics. I have 2 pair of the original style in these. The new version is 'about' the same, except that what I miss is the nice bit of padding around the heel that the original had - and is missing in the ARC 2. I wondered why when I put them on, they felt 'funny' in the heel portion - and upon comparison, it is the padding.... I will keep these, but I do wish you would bring back that little touch of heel padding - it was just a nice snug feeling. Normally, I would wear a 10; however, with the orthotics and socks for cooler weather - the 10.5 is the best option for me. Fit is as expected. I do like the color selection - the new gray is great - lighter than the black, yet neutral!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

44 of 84 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Very disappointed 06/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: all sports from
I saw great reviews on these shoes and honestly I hadn't known that I could find a bad Merrell, until these. These were awful on my feet. I do Crossfit and I run. For both activities my feet hurt were in pain afterward. My big and small toes were bruised. I have been purchasing Merrells for a long time, a long, long time. This was the first time I was disappointed. I am not giving up yet, but I hope I don't regret my loyalty. The lithe glove that no longer is carried was a great shoe for both men and women. Bring that one back!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

54 of 87 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Quality concern 05/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: flee from
These felt like great shoes, but they started to fall apart after three uses. I was able to return them, but I'm hesitant to buy the same pair again. I had high expectations because I've bought Merrells in the past and had good luck. Hopefully this was a one time occurrence. :(

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Not quite as expected 05/21/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Lyssa from
I currently own two pair of Wonder Gloves, and they are fantastic! So, I was a little bit disappointed when I received these in the same size, and they were too small! I also was not expecting these to have arch support and as much cushion. As for a "barefoot feel", these didn't meet my needs. The description does state that they are good for "transitioning to barefoot". These feel too much like any other athletic shoes out there. I was expecting a more low to the ground sole. I have sent them back for an exchange for the Vapor Glove. Hopefully, the Vapors will fit like the Wonder glove.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 04/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Shaw from
The shoe is lightweight and comfortable. I wear them to work and my feet don't get tired. Best of all their cute.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

43 of 83 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Love despite an issue 04/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mindi from
bought these on a whim after two pairs of a different style were close but not perfect. I have been in love with these since day one, using them for CrossFit and day-to-day wear. Unfortunately, about three weeks in, part of the rubber on the left sole started peeling off. I've tried superglue twice, but it just gets loose again. I love these so much I'm just continuing to wear them anyway, until I can afford another pair.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 74 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 04/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mary_Jane_65 from
This is my first ever pair of barefoot wear from Merrell. I am having the best comfort while walking. I am looking forward to my trek through Europe and will be purchasing a pair for my daughter.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 03/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: berry from
these were pretty much size as expected very comfy. The toe is more square or wide makes for walking very nice and sooooo light weight.... love them

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

38 of 79 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars AMAZING! 01/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ironjeep13 from
This is the women's shoe I was hoping Merrell had last year! After trying on the different versions of Merrell women's running shoes, I was never satisfied. The Pace Glove never fit right nor had enough room in the toe box and felt minimally supportive as a whole. The Train Lithe Glove was such a close hopeful: great design like the men's Trail Glove, great fit, comfort, and support BUT it was meant for colder weather. Living in Florida and deployed to warmer climates didn't make having sweaty feet a great experience to working out 6 days a week. I had hoped Merrell would make their Lithe Train Glove without the soft shell material, so I ended up buying (and loving) the Men's Barefoot Trail Glove. After tearing up those shoes for a year it was time to buy another pair but since I run a lot on pavement, I needed a little more cushion than the 4mm Trail Glove. What's this? the Bare Access Arc shoes with 8mm??!! I purchased the first generation. These were not up to par with what I expected from Merrell... at all. They were flimsy, un-supportive and only had 2 spots on the sole with Vibram material, all this made for a very disappointing first experience. I ran 3 miles, after which the shoe never held together the same (I noticed they have since been placed on Clearance). I figured maybe try the men's since I had a better experience with their Trail Glove. But after further research I found too many complaints that their men's "minimalist" shoe was upgraded (or downgraded) with 12mm of cushioning! I still wanted the feel of "barefoot" with a little cushion, not a lot. But man did they hit the nail in the head with the Bare Access Arc 2s!!! These are the women's answer the the Men's Trail Glove. Plenty of support around the arch and top of foot, like a true "glove" feel, breathable, soft "sock-like" inside for running without socks, roomy toe box but not too much compared to the men's, Vibram across the whole sole, and the 8mm of cushion with a 0 drop still gives me the feel of the ground without the pain afterwards. Thank you Merrel!!! Only complaint, they run large. The original Arcs in 10 were too small, but now the arc 2s in 10.5 are too large. Size 10s already on their way!

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 79 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc 2 11/09/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mary from
These shoes are comfortable but run about a half size big. The toe area is large and appears to hook to one side, but maybe that is a plus for runners. I use them on the treadmill and they are comfortable and do not hurt my feet. My footing feels stable and after using them a few times now my neck doesn't hurt as much when I walk.

The review of the Women's Barefoot Run Bare Access Arc was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront