Merrell Women's Moab Mid Waterproof

Style #: J88792, J88790

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (18)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $119.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

This pair of Moab Mid Waterproof hiking boots from Merrell is designed for the ones whose soul rests at the mountains. This mid-height women's hiker is fabricated with mesh waterproof membrane and features a padded collar and embossed bellows tongue along with Ghillie-style lace closure and a pull-on tab for snug fit. These are a comfortable and durable option and works great in every kind of weather condition.

Waterproof Dura leather and mesh upper.
Ortholite anatomical footbed.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out.
Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter.
Waterproof membrane treated with Aegis.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (18)

Shoe Size: 88% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


71 of 146 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Slippers for hiking in Alaska! 09/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Bob from
Merrell is unmatched in making the most comfortable boots for any environment. I have used a pair almost daily for 4 years, with low wear. Living in Alaska I like the GoreTex insulation, and also the way this style breathes to prevent overheating. I have walked in temps down to minus 20 without feeling cold! This model probably has the widest temperature range for usage of any hiking boot!

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

69 of 143 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 09/19/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Diana from
These boots are fantastic! I got the Moabs as an exchange for my Chameleon Arc 2s, which I had purchased 1/2 a size too small for hiking boots and the line had been discontinued. It turns out that I like the Moabs better. I tried out the Moabs for the first time this weekend. I live in rural Central America and work the shoes pretty heavily in mud, rain, and sharp rocks. The Moabs held up fantastically -- really good ankle and foot support, and my feet stayed cool and dry in the tropical humidity and rain. Furthermore, the Merrell customer service has been fantastic. They sent me a prepaid label for the shoes AND credited me for the price difference in the boots. They are a pleasure to work with. I started wearing Merrells when I was 14, and I can't think of a reason to look anywhere else for my next pair of boots. Thanks! Photo: Merrells for Volcano Boarding on Cerro Negro, Leon, Nicaragua. The waterproofing and ankle support are really important!

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

70 of 140 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Fantastic Hiking Boot! 08/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: katies from
Absolutely loved this pair of boots! Super cute and comfortable. Just got off of a bad ankle injury and these boots give me the support I need!! Heading off on a four day hiking trip and I can't wait to be wearing these!

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

75 of 143 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great! 08/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jldrg from
I bought my Moab mid waterproof for a backpacking trip in... Moab! They were great. I had no issues with slipping on rock, even when we were caught in a thunderstorm and were climbing up and down the rocks. My feet didn't get wet when running through the rain or puddles either. They have AMAZING support. I have plantar fascitis and did not have any pain at all. These are miracle shoes! They are very durable as well. I expect them to last quite a few years. Thank you Merrell! - See more at: http://www.merrell.com/US/en-US/Product.mvc.aspx/22829W/0/Womens/Moab-Mid-Waterproof#sthash.eQp7f6lj.dpuf

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

67 of 138 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Moab Mid Waterproof 07/04/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Linda from
These serve as my hiking boots and my motorcycle riding boots - most days they are on my feet all day. They are comfortable right away, look good, fit great, last a long, long time. This is my second pair. I hope they are always available (in the color periwinkle as I don't do brown) because I will continue to wear them as long as I can walk and ride.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 76 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Fantastic. 07/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: charlie705 from
Very sturdy, good ankle support. I've had these for a while (they've endured a lot of abuse!), and I see very few signs of wear. The waterproofing needs to be refreshed, and the sole split off slightly on one side of my left boot, but that's nothing a little superglue can't handle. Besides those two things, they're still in great condition. I would HIGHLY recommend these to anyone who needs a sturdy, supportive boot.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 73 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Awesome Shoe 06/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ThunderFan from
I bought the Moab boot before we went to the Tetons. I'm not a hiker, but I had Achilles surgery in late November and still have weakness and now supinate on that foot. The Moab was excellent! It supported my ankle just enough and still was a lightweight and extremely comfortable shoe. It feels like they were made for my feet, they fit so well. I wore them the first day all day walking in Yellowstone, they needed no breakin at all. My feet were never sore and they didn't get tired like they did in all the different 'walking' shoes I've tried before. I'm wearing them now to work every day, I just can't get over how great a shoe they are! I did buy a 1/2 size larger and they were a perfect fit.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 71 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars J88792 Mid hiking boot 05/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: CJ from
The boot fits very well and is comfortable, however, they do not last more than six months. For the price, I would at least like to get a year's worth of wear out of the boot, before the sole falls off. Merrell soles are made of a poor quality material, which either completely wears off the grip, or the sole separates from the shoe. It's a shame, since it's hard to find a shoe that fits my narrow heel and wide toes, but I can't justify spending $120 for shoes that don't even last a year. Granted, I do hike and backpack just about every weekend, but other brands don't have the same sole issues.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 71 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Disappointed 04/21/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Greece12 from
I bought my boots not long ago after much convincing from my husband and hiking partner. I am always hesitant to spend more than $100 on shoes. I finally decided that these shoes would be worth the price. I find them extremely comfortable and sturdy. I noticed though that part of my right boot is beginning to tear away from the heel. I have barely put miles on these boots and I it weren't for the already damage shoe I would be happy. This makes me hesitant to buy another.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 03/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Rosemary from
Great hiking shoe. Very comfortable and good support for foot and ankle. Especially like the fact they are so light weight. Makes hiking more enjoyable.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 74 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars moab hiking boots 03/04/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: hanleylin from
I have summer running shoes that give me great support and shock absorbency. (Nike track shoes, Saucony and Aesis). But you can't wear them in the winter because water goes thru the mesh and you have wet feet and they do not have good traction on winter surfaces. I need waterproof, good traction, good support and shock absorbency. I have arthritis/neuropathy & fibromyalgia and walking/hiking is very important to keep me healthy. I do not want to be in pain. I have been looking for months for something to wear. I walk dog daily for 2 miles and I go on longer hikes on weekends in the mountains. I was very excited when I started reading about Merrell hiking shoes and boots. I wanted the Chameleon hiking boots, but they were not available in the stores I visited. So tried on the Moab hiking boots for $120. This is alot of money to me, but I want something that works ! They cradled my arch and my whole foot felt happy in the store.! Again, in the house they felt great and I was happy that this problem is solved- or so I thought. Today I walked 2 miles in them at a park. My foot was moving inside the shoe - back and forth and back and forth. I sat on the ground and tightened them. My foot started to sweat, I think and its 30 degrees out. It was moving back and forth and my feet started to burn very badly. Pain started going up my right leg where I have neuropathy. My knees and hips started to hurt. The whole walk was painful. Could not wait to get home and take them off. I bought sock liners, and in a few days when I recover, I will try again with heavier socks and sock liners. I am very disappointed and in pain as I sit here writing this and I dread tomorrow when I am afraid I will get even worse pain in knees, calves and feet from all the rubbing and all the trying to correct while walking. Maybe a young person that doesn't have things wrong with them - in perfect condition, could wear these. I do not know where to turn and I hope someone from Merrell will contact me and help me. I will stick with Merrell until I get ones that work, just help me out if you can. thanks Linda, an aging baby-boomer that wants to run around in the woods with my dog !!

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Hiking 12/11/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: BuenosAires from
I have just returned from a trip to Patagonia where I had the opportunity to test my new hiking shoes. I had bought them at the beginning of the year but did not have the opportunity to actually use them for hiking until now; I have only used them a few times for a stroll in Central Park and they were almost new at the beginning of my trip. The difficulty of the trail was moderate. After 7 days of hiking, I had a painful blister on my right leg and a very tender and inflamed Achilles' tendon on the left so that every step I made was painful, I had to limp. And, as if that wasn't enough, I noticed that the shoe soles had detached from the rest of the shoe on both sides. They are not waterproof, but I am not sure if that was due to my ruptured shoe soles or to the quality of the material they used. I am not sure if these particular shoes were an accident, but paying 120USD for a pair of shoes that doesn't even last 7 days when doing moderate difficulty hiking is unbelievable! I certainly am disappointed. I was the only one from a group of 18 people with this problem and also the only one having Merrell shoes.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars So far so good! 11/20/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Hiker2012 from
I bought these to replace the Merrell Cruise Control Trail Runner which was of horrible quality and were a waste of money. Because I usually have good luck with Merrell products I thought I would give them another chance. The Moab Mid fits well, allows range of motion and support, and is fairly lightweight. So far so good...time will tell. I am hoping Merrell fixed quality problems and that this boot lasts through normal wear and tear. Fingers crossed!

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 78 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 10/26/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Audra from
Very comfortable, and keeps your feet dry in wet weather. I could (and do) walk all day in these.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 70 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Shoes 09/17/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: aliriegil from
I bought these to replace a low rise, worn out, pair of Moabs. I broke them in and took them to New Zealand. Great shoes did well with extensive hiking and water. The advice about ordering a size larger than your dress shoe was right on. I would definitely purchase these again.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

36 of 71 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great Boots! 05/15/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: cyndik from
These are the first pair of hiking boots I ever bought. I ordered a .5 size larger than normal and they fit perfectly. They were comfortable right out of the box. My main concern was how waterproof they were. On my first couple hikes it was very hot outside and when I passed a small creek I would stand in the deepest part, which came up to about an 1" below the top of the shoe. My feet did not get wet! When I went back to hiking I felt a difference in temperature of my feet, they were much cooler. I checked again, and they were not wet. I did this test many times. One day I went on a hike in the rain for about an hour or so. My feet remained dry, while my shoes were soaked. Since it was not hot outside my feet were felt midley chilled, but still comfortable. However, the next day I put the boots on to run to the store and they were damp on the inside. I blame this on leaving the shoes wet in a dark cool spot where they were not able to dry out well. I just wanted to share that with you, because my main concern with buying boots was their water proof ability. Overall I am pleased with these boots, they are comfortable, they perform well, and surprisingly they look good off the trail too!

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 71 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars The Fall of Hiking 11/18/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: absatonpluto from
I dig my Moab Mids, They make me feel like a kid. Went splashing on the coast, Now I love to boast- No, really, That's enough, No more bids. The Oregon rain, Is such a pain, But my feet, they stay dry and toasty. Sturdy as a rock, And warm to the top. I feel like a dinosaur, mostly. My shoes makes me sing, If they've proven anything It's the joy of being able to do. Now get yous a pair, And do if you dare, Find the adventure in you.

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 73 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars great uphill shoes, awful downhill shoes 10/11/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: rebatours from
Love the look & the feel of these shoes! Bragged about them, until I had to hike downhill. I actually had to run sideways, in order to avoid my toes pointing down at all. With the momentum pushing me downhill quickly, slaloming down the mountain, was the only way! Not sure what to do for my next hike; my brand new all day long until the end Merrells, or my awesome, but old Adidas trail runners, w/ no ankle stability???

The review of the Women's Moab Mid Waterproof was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront