Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport

Style #: J57252, J57254

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (18)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $100.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

A runner's delight! Merrell's Proterra Vim Sport shoe provides a natural, barefoot feel. This multi-purpose women's athletic shoe features a Stratafuse breathable mesh upper that provides a glove-like fit for natural movement and super breathability. This pair features Ghillie-style lace closure, padded bellows tongue and collar, and an easy back pull loop. It is assembled using minimal polyurethane midsole that absorbs shock and enhances stability, whereas its sticky rubber outsole offers great ground contact and traction with reversed, diamond-cut lugs.

Fabric upper.
Strobel construction.
Molded TPU arch shank.
Protective TPU rand and toe cap.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out.
Breathable mesh upper treated with Aegis.
EVA removable footbed treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (18)

Shoe Size: 66% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


59 of 126 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Fantastic light hiker! 09/29/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ashleyg from
I'm an active, athletic early thirty-something and picked up these shoes after a great experience with my Siren Sports that have treated me well for 5 years and are still going. These light hikers are perfect for my frequent day hikes and for everyday use around town. They cradle the foot nicely without being bulky at all. Love the lightweight nature and breathability. Fantastic shoe and will absolutely recommend to friends!

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

59 of 122 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings... 09/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nina from
Initially I absolutely without a doubt loved these shoes. The style took a little getting used to, but the comfort was fantastic. I typically use these at work (on my feet 80%+) and have also taken them to the trail for light hikes. These shoes have performed great in all aspects- keeping in mind what they are and are not capable of. My only real complaint is how quickly they wore out. Seriously, I've had these only a few months and theres holes on the inside heels and the material is nearly worn through from the outside in where the toe box flexes. This is the first time I have been remotely disappointed with Merrell shoes. I want another pair but I want them to last longer.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

58 of 119 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Women's Proterra Vim Sport 07/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mc from
Have been using barefoot shoes as my everyday shoes now for about a year and bought these to replace my last day hikers. Was hoping they would be supportive enough and give enough protection for hiking on rocky terrain while keeping the same feel I've grown used to with minimal drop shoes. A difficult balance to strike but I am very happy with these so far! Very comfortable, good contact with the terrain. Toe box is very large, might prefer it snugger but shoe fits through the rest of the foot very well. Haven't tried them yet on slippery conditions, but very happy so far, definitely won't be going back to regular hikers. Looking forward to seeing if they can be used for backpacking trips!

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

59 of 119 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Super comfy, but dewy grass soaks 'em! 07/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Dog Walker from
These shoe are comfortable, stable, and lightweight, I love them. They are suitable as I scramble up sandy hills and rocky terrain, very responsive to the terrain. However, I wear them to walk my dogs each morning, and even going through slightly dewey grass leaves my shoes, socks, and feet wet! I am surprised that even 20 seconds of dewey grass makes them soaked...embarrassing to say but after getting wet a few mornings, leaving them outside to dry, they completely reek! None of my other hiking shoes have this odor, even my (gasp) Nike tennis shoes don't leave my socks wet like these shoes. Would return them but will use them as walking shoes only on the pavement. Disappointed in this development, but very comfortable and super cute shoes.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

59 of 117 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great trail shoes 07/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Wendellen from
These have great support,true fit and look terrific.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 50 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed 07/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Inger from
I was really looking forward to these shoes. Finally something lightweight for hiking! I have very small feet, and had to order these shoes directly as most stores don't carry my size in stock. Last time I bought hiking boots in a store, I had to buy kids 4.5. I ordered a 5, as a few said they were larger than expected. When I put the shoes on they "seemed" to fit. I had give in the toe, and heel felt comfortable. However, they felt a little tight in the middle of the shoe (not the width, more around the arch). I took them out with me for an 11.5 mile hike in Glacier National Park. The first half mile I was a little uncomfortable. The second half mile I started to realize it felt like the "arch" support was simply in the wrong spot of the shoe. The tendon or ligament, under the arch of my foot, was rock hard. By the third mile I honestly contemplated going barefoot. Additionally.. the shoe seemed to provide little to no toe protection. As I would walk among rocky paths, I would knock my toes and let out a little "ouch!" The shoe was the right size length wise, and even in the width where you normally measure the width, but the arch area was just wrong! Whether it was from the lack of toe protection, or my feet wiggling around trying to get comfortable, the end result is that I have 2 massive blood blisters under the toenails of the second toe on each foot, and will likely loose at least one toe nail. Not helpful when you are trying to train for a Warrior Dash.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Merrell Proterra Hiking Shoe 07/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: AMK from
These shoes are the most comfortable walking shoes ever. I love them. They run true to size and have very good arch support. They are light weight and just right.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 07/04/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: feet from
this is exactly what my feet have been looking for! I have problem feet- hammertoes, bunions, Morton's neuroma. And I walk 5 miles a day. I have two pairs of Merrell's minimals that I used to swap off with for walking, but my arthritic knees were acting up. These hikers are just perfect for walking every morning. support but not too much. give my knees some support and my feet enough cushioning. I love them. I have not hiked mountain trails in them yet but will do that in the fall. Sized right with a big toe box for my problem feet. thanks!

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 44 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great hiking shoe! 06/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Anea from
Bought these a couple weeks ago for some hiking I planned to do on a trip to Colorado. Their first excursion was a small nature trail here in Louisiana and were comfortable right out of the box, as I expected them to be. Their second excursion was a big change in location and difficulty - the Great Sand Dunes in Colorado. While not the usual hiking terrain, these shoes held up great - it was nice to have a lightweight shoe on my feet, since shoes are recommended over sandals due to the heat of the sand. Then a pretty strenuous hike up Red Mountain Trail - again, was so happy that these shoes added little weight that I needed to haul up the mountain! I was complimented on the cute color multiple times. This shoe was comfortable throughout all hikes/wear so far, no blisters or "breaking in" period. If you live the barefoot lifestyle like me and are hesitant to try a hiking boot, check out this hiking shoe - not too much of a shock to your feet, not clunky, great for day hikes. I look forward to wearing these on other hiking trips!

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Women's Proterra 06/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mary from
This is the first time I've worn a shoe that I can run with my dog in and still feel comfortable scaling the rocks on the beach cliffs. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Them!

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 06/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jalud14 from
I'm typically a 7.5 or 8 depending upon the show. I just received these in a 7.5 and feel that they are on the larger side for a 7.5. Debating an exchange for the size 7.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars great multi-purpose 06/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: daniellaa317 from
I bought these for our trip to the Big Island in Hawaii. These were excellent for walking through lava fields, sand, and rainforest. I am looking forward to using these for day hikes around our area. Loved the light-weight and quick drying.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 06/14/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Terry from
Great walkers/hikers for warm weather--very comfortable even after several miles/hours.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 06/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Sharon from
I just bought a pair of Women's Proterra Vim Sport. I worn it yesterday for the first time. I been wearing the Moab for years and decided to gave it a changed. No surprise it very comfortable. It bit wider so I have to wear two pair of socks. The only different i feel a bit more of the rock under my foots.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars flexible sole, flexible uses 06/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Betzgirls from
I just got a pair to try on and my feet are liking this shoe. I have a narrow heel and need room for my toes to move. These boots have a nice flexible sole and they are truly flat. The insole provides enough arch support without being intrusive and pressing on my arch. Wish there were more shoes out there like these but I think Merrell got it right with this design. I'm between an 8 1/2 and 9 and the 8 1/2 is plenty roomy.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 44 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars These shoes ROCK!!! 05/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: JessAnn from
I've never owned hiking SHOES, just boots and thought it might be a good idea to get some hiking SHOES for my hiking trip to Utah's national parks. My husband updated his Merrell Chameleon shoes to the newest ones that are out and he brags all the time about how comfortable they are and just how great the traction is so I decided to do some digging and find a similar pair for myself. After a lot of researching I found the Proterra Vim Sport (in pink of course). These shoes could not have been any more perfect!!! The fit, the color, the feel, all are just perfect! I cannot stress enough just how pleased I am with these shoes. They were PERFECT for hiking the rocky terrain in Utah and am proud to say that they helped me survive the hike on Angels Landing in Zion :) Whoohoo!!! The traction on rock from these shoes is unsurpassable in my opinion. I have Merrell hiking boots but I honestly don't see myself using them again anytime soon now that I've got these Merrell hiking shoes! We sent my family and friends many pics of our trip and they all commented on my cute hiking shoes :) I wear Merrells all the time. For work and play, Merrells are perfect :) Thank you for making such awesome shoes!!! :)

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 54 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Not As Expected 03/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Jalero08 from
These shoes seemed very substantial in their online photos, great for rugged terrain until they arrived. I found them to be longer, wider and flimsier than expected without much support. However, the cushioning was good and the workmanship better than average. Overall, I feel that other Merrell shoes are a better choice.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 51 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Can't take them off 03/14/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Julia from
These are so comfortable. I put them on to try, wore them all day and was sod to take them off for bed! These are going to be the best hikers I have ever had.

The review of the Merrell Women's Proterra Vim Sport was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront