Merrell Women's Vapor Glove

Style #:

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (17)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $80.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Bestowing a right mix of style and comfort, these trendy Vapor Glove shoes from the house of Merrell are a must-have. This zero-drop men's minimalist shoe comes with breathable mesh uppers providing perfectly balanced and free movement along with prior protection and cushioning effect. It features 0mm ball-to-heel drop, an external heel sling for stability, lace-up closure for personalized fit, back pull loop, reflective detailing and a lightly padded footbed with antimicrobial treatment along with a slim rubber sole offering road feel and better traction. These shoes will keep your feet intact, while giving them ample room to breathe and move easily.

Breathable mesh upper.
Barefoot construction.
Vibram Vapor Glove Sole / TC1 Rubber.
External TPU heel sling for contoured support.
Integrated microfiber footbed treated with Aegis.
Reflective details for increased visibility in low light.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (17)

Shoe Size: 70% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


31 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great minimal running shoes 10/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: maggieh from
These shoes are really fantastic. I love the wide toe box (my bunions are happy), the very stylish bright colors (even better than they appear in the picture, how lightweight they are. They are less expensive that most other quality running shoes. I have run about 60 miles in them and my feet and body are loving them! Thanks, Merrel.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 73 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars I will never wear shoes that hurt me again! 09/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: PerilousPeace from
I am 30 years old now, and after years of school, work, life, etc., I just figured that it was normal for your knees and hips to hurt every day after being on your feet. Maybe I was getting old. Maybe I was developing arthritis... whatever. I went to the chiropractor for my hip pain (right leg is just a little longer than the left) and back pain, and that was all I thought I could do. I went to DSW in the spring to get a new pair of sandals for dog walking. I found a pair of (now discontinued) Merrell Barefoot "water" sandals that were comfortable and bought them. They took about a week of getting used to--I'd never heard of "barefoot" shoes before and thought they were just a style name and not a state of mind (as I later learned). I almost gave up on them, but "broke them in" after about a week and wore them all summer. In August, I realized that my hips weren't hurting me anymore! I'd had good weeks/months in the past, but it dawned on me that after wearing these sandals every day all summer long, by knees, hips and lower back were now pain free. I researched the shoes and learned about Merrell as a brand and what the "barefoot" thing is all about. So... now to the Vapor's. I found these at the local Merrell outlet and settled on them after trying on just about every barefoot style in the store. The saleslady was really nice and let me know up front that even if I'd worn barefoot shoes before, that the Vapors were the most "extreme" 0-drop barefoot style Merrell makes and would take some getting used to. She said she'd seen a lot of them come back to the store and that she herself hadn't quite gotten into the Vapors as she liked a little more support. The Vapors have NO support, but they are the BEST SHOES I've ever worn. Have you ever worn a pair of shoes that feel better and better the longer you wear them? Or that make you want to stay outside and walk MORE because it feels so good? The Vapors did take about 3 days to get used to during which time my feet adjusted and my walking gait began to change to accommodate the new shoes. The soles are essentially a layer of nice, grippy Vibram rubber, but there is no "support." They are like wearing ballet slippers or socks with grippy rubber on the bottoms. They are very flexible and it actually takes some adjustment to walk with full range of motion for your feet because we are so not used to it in regular sneakers! After wearing these shoes every day since I got them, I find that my feet are stronger, my balance is better, my knees and hips are still pain free (though my knees did hurt a little bit during my "adjustment period" at the beginning while I got used to the new way of walking) and I actually LIKE to go out and walk. I'm not a runner--but these shoes make me feel like I could be! I just might, I feel so good. I can completely understand these shoes not being for everybody. There is NO SUPPORT, which people just are not used to. Size-wise, I have wide, fairly flat feet and usually wear a size 8.5. I got these in an 8 and they are perfect--I was very happy to have the opportunity to try them on at the store. I lace them comfortably, but not too tight--there isn't really any padding between the laces and the upper, so don't lace them so tight that you're cutting off circulation. If you get the right size, they almost stay on by themselves anyway. These shoes have changed my life and I'm a Merrell customer now, for life! Thank you!

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 65 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love These! 09/19/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Trin from
I just started running about 6 weeks ago and was wearing a pair of Nike cross trainers. They were nice, but I've always preferred thin-soled shoes for everyday wear. I've now ran with these for a week, and I am such a convert. I feel like I get a better workout since there isn't any assist in my natural stride. And the amazing part is I didn't need any adjustment to using minimalist if shoes nor did I get ugly blisters or had rubbing as with the 5finger shoes. I ran my first ever 2miles, and I don't plan on slowing any time soon!

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 72 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Barefoot Run Vapor Glove 09/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: justme from
I absolutely love this shoe! I can wear it all day and it feels great. The 'barefoot' feel of it is so different than other shoes, but it's a treat to wear. Try it, you'll love it!

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 70 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Fantastic Shoes, but . . . 08/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: BarefootLeaves from
I bought these at the very end of January, right when they came out. I had been eagerly anticipating their release for a while. Now, a few months later, I have a few thoughts. . . . First of all, I LOVE these shoes. They are the most comfortable shoes I have ever tried, period -- they feel like socks! They make me feel graceful, strong, energetic, and light. . . . They are great both without and with (thin) socks, and if it is not an option to go completely barefoot, these are my first-choice workout/running shoes. They are also attractive and unique; I have gotten an unbelievable number of comments and compliments on them. While they do not give as much ground feel as my VIVOBAREFOOTs, they still provide a decent amount. They are also VERY light and flexible. However, it would be nice to have them with removable sole inserts for an even more barefoot feel -- it would be great to be able to have the option of removing the 2 mm of extra cushion for those that like to be as close to the no-shoes sensation as possible. Most importantly, however, and the reason for the three stars, is that the MATERIAL ABOVE THE TOES GETS HOLES. As some of the other reviewers have stated before me, these holes appear FAST. Since I usually go totally barefoot during my runs, these shoes do not receive heavy usage, but even after only a couple of months of light use, both shoes had already developed significant holes (see photo), and they have only grown since. As much as I love these shoes, this should not be happening with such expensive shoes so soon. Merrell needs to review the design and/or materials of this part of the shoe to find the cause of what seems to be a common problem. Other than that, though, these shoes are amazing, and I highly recommend them.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Vapor 08/04/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: klh from
I already have 2 pair of pace gloves and wasn't completely satisfied with the fit and decided to try the Vapor. The Vapor is awesome! They hug my feet perfectly. The first day I wore them on a 5 mile run with absolutely no problems with rubbing or slipping. I will definitely be purchasing another pair.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 52 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best run of my life. 08/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Katkuta from
I found these by accident at the Merrell Outlet and gave them a try. I've tried 3 different pairs of 5 Fingers and my feet just aren't shaped right to be able to wear them. These, however, with the wide toe box and incredibly comfy upper material are AMAZING! I will buy these again and again and again. There is room for my toes to splay joyously and nothing rubbing at my heel. The zero drop makes a huge difference from the minimalist sneakers I was settling for. I love these. Love them love them love them.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 50 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars A hole within a month 07/19/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: therose from
While I loved the shoe, it developed a hole over the left big toe within a month of use. Now, I'm a beginning runner, so I hardly think I used them excessively, even though I occasionally wore them to my desk job and to run errands. The attached picture shows the hole. This poor construction is the reason for the bad review, and if Merrell replaces the shoes, I will increase the rating. As for the fit and use of the shoe, it was excellent. I immediately noticed an improvement in soreness against other times I'd tried to start running. No shin splints, less muscle soreness, no pain in the joints of my foot. I'm generally barefoot around the house, and any other time I can find an excuse, so I didn't have any problems running in minimalist shoes. At least, no problems above the difficulty of being completely out of shape! Also, though I have a desk job, I'm required to wear steel toed boots anytime I leave the office area. After a day of the anti-thesis of barefoot, putting on these shoes was like a dream!

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 54 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Very Impressed! 07/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: iKarlie27 from
I love, love, love these shoes! This is my first experience with a pair of Merrell shoes and I think I chose the perfect ones! I had been looking into a pair of the "barefoot" shoes and couldn't have picked a better pair. Still adjusting to running in these shoes but I love wearing them everywhere! After reading others reviews of this product,it helped to know to go about a half size smaller than what you typically wear. Thank you Merrell for the wonderful Barefoot Run Vapor Glove! I'm already planning on getting another pair to run in (after I get more adjusted to running in them!)

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Good fit, but easily ripped 07/12/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jojo_h from
Bought these in March. Initially I thought they run a big large, but then I realized that the extra space is to make sure your toes never bump against the toe box while landing on your forefeet, so I went with my normal size instead and it worked well. I loved these shoes and wore them to gym and work. It feels weightless. It hugs my feet without constricting them. However, by end of April the fabric along the toe box was starting to rip. It was disappointing because I thought that an $80 pair of shoes from Merrell would last longer than 2 months. Ripping after 60 days is something that happens to $15 flip-flops from Payless. Now I've went back to wearing my thick-soled Nikes because I'm afraid to make hole bigger on my Vapor Glove. I can't afford to buy another pair, so I intend to patch the hole up myself. Can you tell me if the fabric and the material of the toe box can tolerate sealants such as ShoeGoo?

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars 07/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Cortland from
I have the Pace Gloves and I love them. I wear them on all my hiking and small rock climbing adventures and have experienced no discomfort. I was excited to try another shoe from this line so I decided on the Vapors. My Pace Gloves are size 7.5 and fit like a glove but I was very disappointed when I received my Vapors and found that they are too big. When holding them against my Pace Gloves I can see that they are longer. I assumed that the 7.5 would be the same in all the shoes and I guess I was wrong. My shoes were final sale and I am very disappointed that I will not be able to wear them. The extra room in the toes pinches when I walk.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Former couch potato loves these! 06/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: x_phile from
I have gotten back into running the past 6 months or so after being a near-sedentary couch potato through college (I was reprehensibly lazy). Because I live in New Orleans, the places where I jog/run are full of broken bits and boulders of concrete, tree roots coming up from the sidewalk, and rocks. It might seem counterintuitive to trade a padded, protective shoe for a minimal shoe in such an environment, but after a couple sprained ankles due to tree roots and lack of foot-to-brain input, I figured it would be safer running barefoot. That said, tetanus from urban ground debris just wasn't an option, so I chose the next best thing: these shoes! I love them, and they have so far been very durable despite the rugged urban terrain I am faced with. Bonuses: 1. the fabric has a really cool reptilian feel to it, and I can feel the air through it (a great feature in a hot climate). 2. The styling is snazzy. 3. Foot funk? Nope. 4. THE COLORS! DOUBLE RAINBOW ALL THE WAY ACROSS THE SKY! THEY'RE SO BEAUTIFUL!

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love these shoes! 06/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: eigervat from
Recently I got a job in conservation where I need to jump and climb as well as walk through water comfortably. These shoes somehow make me less clumsy and have the confidence to jump between boats, out of them and walk where ever else would be almost impossible for me in normal shoes.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Awesome Shoe! 06/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: VTLady11 from
This shoe feels like putting on a slipper without the warmth. The flexibility is outstanding and it is an incredibly light shoe. The soles are durable rubber but also don't "clomp" when I run on hard surfaces (or walk around the house) like the pace glove (still an awesome shoe) does. The only thing worth noting is my heel slips a slight bit when I am wearing socks. Probably a plus for those with wider feet.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 60 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars BAREFOOT RUNNER 05/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ksc from
I bought this shoe, to travel to Europe with this summer. It's light and it has a little arch support so that at the end of the day, my knees, which are bad do not ache at all. I am not letting my knees deter me from what I want to do and see in Europe and these shoes will help.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Like ballet slippers! 03/19/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: frb from
Remember when you were a little girl and you got your first real pair of ballet slippers? How light and comfy and pretty they were? How you believed you could fly in them? How you wanted to wear them everywhere but your mother wouldn't let you? That's exactly how you'll feel when you wear these Vapors. Get them in pink. Never look back - because now you can wear them everywhere. No one can stop you now.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 50 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Almost perfect 01/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Pixie from
This shoe probably comes closest to having all the features I want in an all-activity barefoot shoe. I've been going barefoot and wearing minimalist footwear for most of my life, i use them for everyday wear, low-mileage running, and gym activities like weightlifting and crossfit. I like VivoBarefoot for their wide toe-boxes and sole flexibility, but dislike the bulky uppers. I love the streamlined feel of my ZEMs, but dislike the stretchiness of the shoe and how my foot slides around. The Vapor Glove incorporates features I've been missing in in a barefoot shoe. This shoe is very close fitting to the foot - I always end up configuring my laces oddly to secure the opening of the shoe but still leave it loose across my forefoot. This keeps my heel snugly in place without making the forefoot too tight. There's a vinyl (?) sling around the heel of the Vapors that keeps the structure of the shoe intact, and I'm pleased thst the elastic heel band was left off this model. One thing about the Vapor that I would change is a widening of the toe box. I always think that Merrell barefoot shoes are still too narrow around the toes. After years of barefooting, my foot is almost shaped like a triangle - I have a huge gap between my first and second toes. I'm not getting my full spread in these. The sole flexibility and ground feel are superior. The sole has grooves under the toes, arch, and heel to let it move with your foot (where the colors change on the sole). And of course, the sole is very thin, so you will feel ground very well. These were comfy right out of the box, the only part that will need breaking in is the upper. The uppers are not quite as smooth as I would prefer on the inside of the shoe. There's a reinforced area around where the tongue is sewn in and on my pair there was a little blob of glue or something that wore a blister on the top of my toe after half a mile of running. I was able to pull the glue off though, so it seems fine now. I'm not a huge fan of where the sole curves up over the big toe. For me, it rubbed against the top of my toe uncomfortably, right where the side of my toenail is. That part could have either been eliminated, or extended up a little farther up the toe. All in all, this is one of the best minimalist shoes I've tried, and I will keep the pair I bought. I got the blue/orange and I really love the neon colorways. I also really like that the "M" logo at the top of the tongue allows me to fed the lace through and tie them off to one side.

The review of the Women's Vapor Glove was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront