Merrell Men's Ascend Glove

Style #: J41765, J41767

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (10)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $119.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Now enjoy the ultimate bearfoot running experience with all new Ascend Glove shoes form Merrell. This shoe offers zero-drop feel and immense support and comfort to your feet. With its flexible and breathable Motion mesh upper, along with a lugged Vibram outsole, it offers unmatched traction and protection against rugged terrains. Featuring reflective details, pull-up tab, six eye lace-up closure and padded collars, this one is a stunner.

UPPER/LINING
Fabric and synthetic upper
MotionMesh engineered for optimal breathability and range of motion
Breathable mesh lining
M-Select FRESH naturally prevents odor before it starts for fresh smelling feet
Wash as needed in cold water (gentle cycle). Air dry.

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
0mm Drop / 6mm Cush/ 10.5mm Stack Height
TrailProtect pad in the forefoot and heel offers additional support for the roughest terrain
Non-marking outsole
Vibramฎ outsole

Men's Weight: 8ozs (1/2 pair)

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (10)

Shoe Size: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


76 of 138 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best yet? 09/17/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: canbean from
I have virtually all of the Barefoot models, and I think this is my favorite, which is saying a lot since they are all superbly comfortable. With a bit more sole and a somewhat more aggressive tread, the Ascends seem made for street walking and light hikes. Somehow Merrell seems to have engineered in a gentle heel-to-toe motion that makes long walks a joy -- and physically less demanding. Like all the Barefoots, this shoe is insanely light for the structure and comfort it provides. An all-around great shoe.

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

75 of 154 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Once you go Merrell you'll never go back 09/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: SansLaRue from
About a year ago I got into doing Spartan Races. Ran two races in old sneaks which sucked as both races were in storms and was preparing for the Monterey Beast. I was looking for a lightweight shoe that wouldn't hold a lot of water/mud. I came across a blog that went over all the "Barefoot" style shoes out there. After taking a careful look at many different shoes I settled on taking my chances on these. They have been absolutely amazing. I love the feel of them. The wide toe box and vibram sole are incredible. I have run in them with the Merrell socks and barefoot and have neither had a blister nor a hot spot. They performed outstanding for the 13+ miles during the Monterey Beast which was on some brutal trails. I literally wear these things everywhere for everything they are so comfortable and light. Other highlights: * Super easy to clean and dry quickly. I use a vinegar/water solution to clean them and then Febreze to fully get rid of any odor. That said, the M-Fresh material the shoe is made of does keep odor away. * Customer service was excellent answering all my questions before I purchased. * The material is so breathable that for me at least, its almost like I am wearing sandals.

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

84 of 152 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Very Good Shoe - Could be Perfect with Minor Chang 09/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Andrew from
I have been running in Trail Gloves for two years, and over these two years I found myself wishing I had just a bit more cushioning during particularly long or fast runs in those otherwise outstanding shoes. I was really looking forward to the Ascend Glove, which I bought in June, because it looked like it was exactly what I'd been looking for: a Trail Glove that gives a bit more cushion without sacrificing much road feel. To a great extent, that's what these have turned out to be. The amount of cushioning is just right, and the outsoles on these work really well. There is, however, room for improvement in these. Firstly, the toe box is too long, which can be slightly annoying because I wind up clumsily catching the end of the shoe on stuff while running, or stubbing the toebox on the ground because I've misjudged how long the shoe is. (I've also noticed that the toe box in the Trail Glove 2 has been lengthened to unnecessary proportions – perhaps someone at Merrell has unusually long toes.) Secondly, there is, as others have pointed out, a small but noticeable arch in the insole. This doesn't appear to be an arch support, but part of the designer's strategy for ensuring that the shoe remains fixed underfoot and doesn't slide around while you're running. (This same challenge is solved in the Trail Glove with a heel sling that locks your foot in at the back, and omni-fit laces coupled with a flexible arch wrap that allows the shoe to hug your midfoot.) After running for so long in Trail Gloves, I initially found the small arch in the Ascend Gloves mildly uncomfortable (unlike the arch in the Road Glove, which I found to be unwearably painful). I now don't mind the little arch, which I've gotten used to, but I'd rather these shoes affix to my foot in the same way that the Trail Gloves do. In fact, I wish these were exactly like the Trail Gloves, but with the extra 2mm of cushion and the more substantial outsole. Apart from these minor complaints, I'm really pleased with these shoes. The outsole is very durable and has stood up very well so far after hundreds of miles of primarily road running and one 8000' elevation change bushwhack in the White Mountains (I really appreciated the cushioning on the way down). Everything else has held up well too – apart from the dirt on them, they look close to new. Despite my minor misgivings about these shoes, I really like them, would buy them again and would recommend them to others.

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

79 of 143 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Great Shoe without the sore causing TAG! 09/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: cxk297 from
Love the shoe hate the soars they cause to the tops of my feet. Comfy shoe to train and use for general all around use. However I'm surprised only one other person (jamulben) in these reviews had the burn/soar with tag issue. Its like they adhere to you skin. In a bad way obviously! Don't believe I can continue to wear these shoes. I didn't have this issue with the Barefoot Train Flux Glove Sport, in which I ran the tough mudder. The picture is of the soar after 2 days of healing and occurred on both feet.

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

113 of 232 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great walking shoe 08/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dsteinbo from
Merrell shoes have always fit me well (the last seems to be perfect for my feet). This is a very comfortable shoe meant to be worn without sox. I wear these for urban walks almost daily. I ordered a second pair so that I could rotate them.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Trail Run Ascend Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Close to perfection 07/31/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: adam_robinson from
I've been running in Vibram Five Fingers for the last four years and more recently mixing in the fantastic Trail Gloves, but was looking for something with slightly more protection for longer trail runs. I initially bought a pair of Merrell Mix Master Trail 2s but found the 4mm drop and level of cushioning to be too much - tendons in my ankle started complaining that something out of the ordinary was going on after a couple of miles in them and the lack of ground feel caused me to almost fall over several of times. Step up the Trail Ascend Glove which I have found to be very close to perfection - they seem to have found the perfect mix of protection and ground feel. They're a different beast to original Trail Glove, more like a normal trainer but still quite lightweight - they weigh about the same as the Mix Masters despite having less cushioning (I guess the rock plates add a bit). The sole unit does not wrap around the base of the foot as with the flexible Trail Gloves and is more traditional in shape but it is still very flexible and allows great ground feel while protecting your feet from the worst of the trail (which makes longer runs feel fantastic). For some reason Merrell didn't go with the omni-fit lacing system - maybe there were different design constraints due to the wider, stiffer sole of the Ascend but that is a fantastic feature on the Trail gloves and it's a real shame it's not on these shoes. There also seems to be a small but noticeable arch support which feels strange when walking, particularly after years of barefoot running, but once on the trail that becomes much less noticeable. Aside from the slight arch and lack of omni fit these are a fantastic set of long-distance trail shoes. Maybe the next generation will fix those quibbles and become perfection

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 55 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Life-changing shoes 07/04/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: olaf2013 from
I was skeptical of the whole barefoot thing, and the shoes with the toes were just, you know, odd. But thinking back on my youth in beach towns, where we never wore shoes, and I had the irrational thought that maybe if I liberated my feet, my mind would follow. Now I own three pairs of the these shoes, because after my first pair arrived I rediscovered a feeling of freedom in movement that had been missing on my hikes. I live in a mountain town, and we are lucky to have endless trails close by, but they're rough, rocky, slippery, scree-covered, and often badly eroded. But my concerns about protection were erased after just a few miles in these shoes thanks to the Vibram soles, and my feet have never been happier. Because my feet are free to flex around roots and rocks while remaining protected from intrusions, I'm much more sure-footed, and even after a long day, my feet are never sore but rather massaged. The other benefits have come from the zero-lift and the marginal arch support, because I'm flat-footed, and from the generous toebox that lets my digits spread, aiding balance. I may sound like I'm evangelizing, and I guess I am, but at 62, these shoes have granted me new life on the trail and on the streets and even at work.

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars My search for the perfect trail shoe is over! 06/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: MichaelK from
My Trail Gloves have been my favorite running shoe ever since they were released. But for longer runs on rough terrain, it's just too punishing for my feet, so i've been looking for a zero-drop lightweight trail shoe with a wide toebox and good protection. I tried some other brands, and they were either too bulky/heavy, or didn't have a wide enough toebox. Since i first heard about the Ascend Glove i've been hoping they would be what i've been looking for. I can say in a nutshell, that these are the perfect trail running shoes for me. The only thing i was concerned with was whether the toebox would be wide enough, as these seem to be similar to the Bare Access 2 which give me hot spots on my pinky toes if i run for more than an hour in them. But i took the Ascend Gloves out on an 8 mile run yesterday, and didn't have any problems. The rock plate in the Trail Glove has always seemed ineffective to me, but the plate in the Ascend Glove is great, and having it in the heel area as well as the forefoot is a blessing. The outsole is probably the best for traction of any shoe i've run in, and the mesh material that is thicker in some spots, thinner in others is a very cool idea. The shoes were completely comfortable from the start, and have just the right amount of protection for me without being too heavy. I got the Racer blue color and think it looks great. I would like to see some other more colorful options offered for these in the future. My one small quibble with the shoes is that i wish they had the Omni-Fit lacing system like the Trail Glove; that is by far the best, and most comfortable lacing system of any shoe i have ever tried. Also, the laces could be a tad longer for those of us that like to use the extra eyelets and double knot. The Ascend Glove is still a five star shoe though, and i will definitely be buying another pair to have as a backup. My hat is off to Merrell- you guys hit it out of the park with this one.

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 74 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 50k Tested & Approved 06/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: cjay142 from
Despite only breaking these in for a week (eek) prior to a wet & muddy 50k I decided to give them the nod as my race shoe over my Inov-8 Trailroc 235s. I can't relate how glad I am that I made this decision as these performed superbly over the wet, muddy, and rocky 50k course. Whereas the Inov-8s had previously caused me a lot of foot pain and left me with blisters on my heels, the Ascend gloves didn't bother my feet even the slightest. After 7 hours and 26 minutes spent running through the mountains I took off my socks to find my feet looking like I'd just stepped out of the pool. As a big fan of the original Trail Gloves I'm so glad Merrell decided to add this type of shoe to their collection. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for a barefoot type shoe that boasts some protection and cushioning.

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 51 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Superb trail shoe! Wow! 05/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: fredippides from
I bought a pair of Ascend Gloves online last week as I have been looking for a zero drop trail shoe with a bit more armor than the Trailglove, specifically for longer mountain trail runs. (I have run almost exclusively in TrailGloves for the past 6 months). When I got home last night the shoes had come- At 6am this morning I took the Ascend Gloves fresh out of the box for a test spin...27 miles, 7500 feet of climb and descent, on decomposed granite trails in the San Gabriel mountains. I took a pair of Trailgloves in my running pack as a backup since this was my first run in the Ascends. (Cool that one can do that...the Trailgloves are so light and flexible). I just got back from the run... the Ascends were SUPERB!!! The traction was noticeably superior to the Trail Glove on this trail (which has a lot of sand/gravel on granite, very rough footing), probably due to the deeper, more aggressive lugs. The thicker sole is just what I have been looking for for these longer runs on sharp talus-covered trail, my feet feel great. I am gunna buy another pair; its clear you folks know what you are doing. The size was a bit larger than I expected (a bit longer at the big toes than the Trailgloves in the same size). Based on my test run though I think its just fine, a bit of margin for the 10-15% downhill grades. My toes are feeling fine; while on this same course in other shoes they typically feel a bit banged up after the run.

The review of the Men's Ascend Glove was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront