Merrell Men's Bare Access 2

Style #: J41579

Average Customer Review 4 out of 5 stars (18)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $89.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Make your running sessions more pleasurable and comfortable with this lightweight Bare Access 2 shoe from the house of Merrell. These shoes provide better grip and traction to your feet with its Barefoot Strobel construction and a 0mm ball-to-heel drop. This men's minimalist running shoe features a breathable mesh and synthetic upper, supportive overlays, a six-eye lace closure for a snug, glove-like fit. With its Aegis-treated footbed, 8mm cushioned midsole and Bare Access 2 Vibram rubber outsole you'll surely enjoy better traction and support.

Mesh and synthetic upper.
Barefoot construction.
External heel stability arm.
Reflective details for increased visibility in low light.

Customer Reviews 4 out of 5 stars (18)

Shoe Size: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


150 of 318 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars First foray into barefoot shoes! Love it! 08/29/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Rockmiller from
I purchased the Bare Access 2's after researching, and seeing some of the other barefoot shoes made by Merrell at a sporting goods store. I went with the BA 2's because they have a little arc support, and I didn't want to dive in head first to the minimalist shoe scene. After having them for a few weeks, I must say that I am completely stoked, and I am already shopping for others. I bought them for my high intensity workouts (Insanity, Les Mills Combat, Crossfit). So far, they have exceeded my expectations, and I have begun wearing them all of the time, and now need more for casual wear, and workout wear. Way to go Merrell, can't wait to buy some others!

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

146 of 294 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars First foray into barefoot shoes! Love it! 08/29/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Rockmiller from
I purchased the Bare Access 2's after researching, and seeing some of the other barefoot shoes made by Merrell at a sporting goods store. I went with the BA 2's because they have a little arc support, and I didn't want to dive in head first to the minimalist shoe scene. After having them for a few weeks, I must say that I am completely stoked, and I am already shopping for others. I bought them for my high intensity workouts (Insanity, Les Mills Combat, Crossfit). So far, they have exceeded my expectations, and I have begun wearing them all of the time, and now need more for casual wear, and workout wear. Way to go Merrell, can't wait to buy some others!

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

146 of 315 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Bare Access 2 08/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: sdhuntin from
My wife bought me the Bare Access shoes around Aug 5 of this year and I loved them from the start. I was in the process of transitioning into Barefoot style running. I loved the shoe and they were super comfortable. I am in the Army and I wear them for PT and for running on my own as well as my crossfit workouts. The only negative thing I have to say is that the sole on them is already starting to come off of the shoe. This is my first Merrell running shoe so I hope that this is not a sign of how all their shoes are. They maybe have a total of 20-25 total miles worth of running in them both on pavement and dirt trails.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

144 of 288 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Best "Barefoot" 08/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: stuart.smith from
I love the barefoot concept. I had a problem with some other brands of running shoes, it always felt like I was on a downhill slope. The Bare Access 2 is my favorite trainer. It feels like a barefoot shoe but with just enough extra padding to take high impact training. Running in a barefoot is nice, however when you are doing higher impact movements or more than running the extra bit of cushion is wonderful. I have the Merrell Vapors that have no padding that I use for running, for everything else and long training days the Bare Access 2 is comfortable all day long. My feet are a little wider than average, so the roomy toe box and flexible lacing options make this shoe a lifesaver.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

152 of 296 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Size 15! Hooray! 07/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Duzzi from
As a tall runner (6'5") it's hard to find decent shoes large enough, so I was glad to find these in a size 15! They fit snugly, but not uncomfortably around the midfoot and there seems to be plenty of room in the toe box. The heel is a little loose, I like more of a cup to sink into, but they're very comfortable with alternative lacing patterns to hold my heel snug. The insole is very comfortable, producing hardly any hot spots, which is a common problem for me especially since focusing on mid/forefoot strike running. They've got great flexibility for toe-off, but enough beef to withstand some (hopefully accidental) pounding and a little added stability. I've run about 15 miles in these shoes, and they're treating me well! I may stick with the Bare Access, depending on the next few hundred miles... :) - See more at: http://www.merrell.com/US/en-US/Product.mvc.aspx/30584M/0/Mens/Barefoot-Run-Bare-Access-2#sthash.BX859ymG.dpuf

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

68 of 117 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Love the Shoes... Poor Durability... 06/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Bryanj23 from
Love the Shoes... Poor Durability...

By Bryanj23

6/30/2013

Was this review helpful? /

I bought these shoes about a month ago to wear as my daily shoes. I love how comfortable they are. They fit perfect and feel great! My feet get sore very easily in most athletic shoes so some type of "barefoot" shoe has been better for me. I had a pair of Tough Gloves that I didn't like about a year ago, but figured I'd give these a try and WAS glad that I did because they feel so good. BUT, as I said, I bought these about 4 weeks ago and today I noticed that the tread is completely seperating from the sole of my shoe! Not what I expect from a $90 pair of shoes! I'm fairly disappointed. I do wear them daily, but I'm not going to replace my shoes every month! I'm really not even hard on them. I stand and walk on hard surfaces throughout my work day, but nothing that should be causing this kind of damage. The tread itself seems to be holding up fine, there is no visible wear, but the tread is peeling away from the shoe... Not good...

- See more at: http://www.merrell.com/US/en-US/Product.mvc.aspx/30584M/0/Mens/Barefoot-Run-Bare-Access-2#sthash.BX859ymG.dpuf

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 102 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 03/14/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: bradsven from
A very light minimalist. The thicker sole is nice for runs longer than 8-10 miles. I have done about 100 miles so far in these and they are perfect for mid-range runs. I haven't gone further than 15 miles in these at one go as I prefer a little more cushion for 15+ miles. I had a bad case of plantar fasciitis last year and was hesitant to do longer runs again in a thin sole minimal running shoe. This is a perfect shoe to provide enough protection but still be a true minimal shoe.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

55 of 113 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Love em. But a few issues 03/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Patrick from
I love these shoes. Lightweight and breathable. However, I've had a few issues. Bought a pair and wore them off and on for a month. The glue between the heel sole and fabric came undone so I exchanged them at the store for a new pair since it was covered under the store's membership policy. I got a new pair without trying them on and found that the left shoe had more medial support than the right. It feels like there is a lump under my left foot. Not too happy about it. Well designed shoe but it seems like there are some manufacturing inconsistencies.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

55 of 108 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Might be the perfect running shoe 01/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: tjd from
My theory of designing running shoes: Invent a track that can be magically surfaced instantaneously with any surface you can imagine. Vary surfaces while running around this track barefoot with all kinds of sensors which monitor pace to heart rate, cadence, perceived exertion etc. etc. All of this information is fed into a 3D printer about the same size and shape as a microwave. Beep - open the door - and look, it's the Bare Access 2! This shoe allows you to take a perfect surface with you where ever you run with very little physiologic cost of carrying it on your feet.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

46 of 99 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Not up to the challenge.... 01/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: JAMES from
I chose the original Bare Access as a transition shoe and have logged over 300 miles in them and have not experienced the durability issues that other runners have with them. I was training for Disney's Goofy's Race and a Half Challenge and bought a pair of Bare Access 2 in December with the hope to be able to rotate shoes between races. Unfortunately, the Bare Access 2's have not performed as well as the original. I thought that the sole would be an improvement but I have found the arch to be stiffer and the sole near the forefoot gives the sensation of socks balled up under the ball of your foot, which creates numbness like that experienced occasionally when you run for an extensive time on an elliptical machine. The shoe is not as flexible as the original and the stackheight contributes to a decreased feel for the road. I have since abandoned running in my Bare Access 2's and have focused solely on your original model. I don't want to be completely negative… the original Bare Access performed great during the 39.3 mile challenge and I will continue using them if I can still find them.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

50 of 104 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Really trying to like this shoe... 01/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Jeep_Dog from
I am a HUGE Merrell fan, so stick with me on this review. Have have two pairs of the original Bare Access, a pair of Trail Gloves, and a pair of Road Gloves. The first pair of original Bare Access have 550 miles (!) and still going strong. For me, the distance runner who goes really, really, really long on runs, the original Bare Access were a blessing from the running gods. On blind faith, before being able to test any in stores, I bought a pair of Bare Access 2. For me, a complete waste of money. Try as I may, I cannot make these shoes work for me. The barefoot feel of the road, even with the cushion (that is prevalent in the originals) is gone. The amazing flexibility of the shoe - gone. The "no support from the shoe" concept - gone (I even gave this a delay in reporting, letting them "break in" - which I've never had to do with any Merrell foot products - to see if that made a difference). Finally, and the worst - after a run of any decent length (7 miles or more), it feels as if I have socks bunching up under the ball of my right foot - um, even if there are no socks! I thought it just me, but another friend with these shoes has the exact same complaint. Merrell, I applaud you for revising this shoe and trying to fix the complaints registered by the transitioning (to bareform) runners, but in so doing, in my opinion, this shoe lost luster and capability as a fit for experienced bareform runners who needed something for the long run. If I didn't have the Road Gloves (original), the original pair of Bare Access and their backup (although they will eventually die), and huraches to utilize, I'd be in a world of hurt right now looking for a shoe. Thankfully, I've got another great Merrell product to pick up the gap - but will miss the occassional "extra" cushion on 20 something mile excursions. Perhaps creating a shoe for the new transitioning runners, then one for the experienced bareform trotters that have some cushion but are less of a "shoe." A marketing and sales nightmare to stovepipe, I'm sure. The only reason I gave this version a second star was due to the obvious quality of the shoe. It is well made, and if I could wear it (I've even tried these as my day shoe for around the house and walking, and my feet still hate them) I'm sure they'd go the distance of 550+ miles as my original pair has. I'll keep trying to force a square peg in a round hole with these shoes, and if my opinion changes, I'll be back to post an update review.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 97 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Adventurer Extraordinaire! 01/21/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Michael from
This was my first pair of minimalist road running shoes I've purchased since my transition to barefoot/natural running. I also have a pair of trail glove shoes for my off road adventures. So far I am completely impressed by the Bare Access 2's. They fit well, give just enough padding, and are light as a feather. So far I have only worked my way into running 6 miles in them, but that is due to changing my running style and not the shoe.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

52 of 101 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Runners with zero drop 01/17/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: sasquatch44 from
Just what I've been looking for. Something with zero drop but still looks like regular shoes when I'm not feelin the trail shoes or five fingers.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

55 of 103 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Bummer 01/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: huff from
Just bought the bare access 2...and then returned them the next day. Why? No omni-fit lacing system. Can not get that "glove like fit" without it. Please let me know when the bare access 3 is available. Hopefully Merrell will make it happen. Great shoe otherwise, but I will just have to wait.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 105 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars LOVE these shoes, but... 01/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jeremymaritz from
I'm gonna give these guys 4 stars off the bat...but sadly not 5. Firstly, I've done my time acclimatizing to barefoot running...took about 2 years rotating VFFs, Nike Frees and Trail Gloves but I'm pretty sure I'm where I need to be now. Secondly, I'm a pretty big guy (6'5", 320) so I definitely know how to give my shoes a good wearing-in. So all that said, these are about the most comfortable shoes I've ever put on. The zero drop feels absolutely natural, the toe box is HUGE and roomy (think KEEN here) and the upper fits like a glove made of clouds and honey and happiness. They also might be the best looking shoes I've ever put on (I have the Sulpher Springs model). I wear these things everywhere, never want to take them off and in fact sometimes forget I even have them on. I wear them to work, just playing around, running back and forth on a tennis court, etc. They may even be good for crosstraining given a more trail-friendly outsole. So why the 4 stars and not 5? Two reasons...one a nitpick, the other a showstopper. The nitpick is that the VIBRAM outsole is about 5 or 6 separate pods glued to the midsole instead of being just one piece. Would've never thought this was a problem until one of the pods started coming unglued after only 2 runs (photo attached). In a world with worse customer service I'd just glue the thing back on...but I expect it'll happen again, honestly. The showstopper is the thing that makes this shoe stand out from the rest of Merrell's barefoot line; the thicker midsole. It's built up to provide cushioning for transitioning barefoot runners who may not think they're ready to strike right down on the road yet...but the problem I noticed is that even though I've been running this way for a couple years, when I run in these there's very little ground feedback and I start making all sorts of missteps and what I would consider 'rookie' mistakes, like taking longer strides and heel striking. These are things I can see myself doing in a 4mm or greater drop shoe, but never in a zero drop because zero drops are generally right on the ground and will definitely tell you if you're hitting the ground incorrectly. So yeah...I bought them to run in, but it turns out they're absolutely perfect for everything BUT distance running...for me at least. That and the glue coming undone led me to return them to the site I bought them from...but I still recommend them to people because they feel just fantastic for normal everyday wear. I'm waiting pretty impatiently for the Road Glove 2, which appears to be the same upper as this shoe but with a one-piece road glove outsole. Absolutely cannot wait for that! - See more at: http://www.merrell.com/US/en-US/Product.mvc.aspx/30584M/0/Mens/Barefoot-Run-Bare-Access-2#sthash.BX859ymG.dpuf

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

50 of 97 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great all around 12/12/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Barrett(Minnesota) from
I wear these shoes to work everyday, and I am on my feet a lot. I have worn these all around the Mall of America on a all day trip. No foot pain of any kind. I purchased the Grey and Orange and love them. They go great with jeans and even look great with dress pants. I would recommend these for everyday wear. The minimal running in them I have done the added padding great without sacrificing the feel of a barefoot shoe. You have done great with this shoe and I could not be happier. Thanks Merrell.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 98 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Ran super hilly Half Marathon and PRed by 8 mins i 11/22/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Bhushan from
This is my second review in last 6 months. First time I ran in these shoes to run my first 50K on super hilly North Face Endurance Challenge in Kansas City and these shoes helped me finish the race without any feet trouble! Yesterday I ran another super hilly half marathon Hospital Hill race in Kansas City and I PRed by 8 mins! These shoes are the lightest and most comfortable shoes I have ever worn for any distance races. So far I have over 300 miles in them and they are still comfy and my go-to zero drop shoes. I will always trust these shoes and will be my official shoes for Chicago marathon this year!! Few questions: 1) When do I need to retire them? I have around 322 miles in them. How long should I be continuing to use or when do I need to understand the pattern to make these retire? 2) Are you changing any design for the new edition and when it would come? One observation. I worn these shoes on long plane rides to India. One thing I observed is with feet swelling at high altitude in plane, I don't recommend these shoes on plane and they get very tight. I take aspirin before any long flights to thin my blood so my feet won't be cramped but despite that I had to take these shoes out on the plane as they don't feel comfy. But I believe these are meant to be running shoes so I get that. I am writing to tell anyone that these are not all around walking shoes per say at all levels.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

50 of 101 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Shoe! 11/13/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: trailrunryan from
I own the trail glove (amazing shoe) as my primary runner and trainer but I needed a road shoe for a marathon, so I bought the original bare access. That shoe was absolutely terrible. Just go read all the negative reviews it received. However, it appears that Merrell actually listened to their customer reviews and released the access 2 as the answer. The durability problems are now fixed, with the vibram sole now covering the entire bottom of the shoe extending up the front of the shoe, along with a slightly more firm cushioning layer, which I'm happy to report didn't just collapse after the first 15 miles like on the original. This did add a small amount of weight, but I will certainly take the trade off. Also the heal rubbing problem that seems to be inherent on all Merrell shoes (at least until well broken in) is now gone. The cheap material that made up the inside of the shoe which caused blisters, with or with socks, has also been replaced with a much more foot-friendly material. Lastly, it just fits better. Instead of the shoe like feel of the original, it feels much more like a barefoot shoe should, like a protective glove. So kudos to Merrel for completely turning around that disaster of a shoe. I highly recommend this for distance runners, set a PR road marathon first time out in them.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Bare Access 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront