Merrell Men's Bergenz Waterproof

Style #:

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (20)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $165.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Look your stylish best this winter wearing this uber cool pair of Bergenz Waterproof boots from Merrell. The glossy full grain leather upper exudes style while side and back pull tabs ensure easy wear. Also, the soft OrthoLite Anatomical Footbed and PrimaLoft Insulation inside will keep your feet comfortable as long as you wear these boots. Featuring Fleece lining, Rubber toe protection, Waterproof membrane, these boots are designed for modern-day men.

Full grain leather upper.
Ortholite anatomical footbed.
200 grams of PrimaLoft Insulation.
Protective rubber rand and toe cap.
Waterproof membrane provides impermeable barrier.
Fleece lining treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution.
Merrell Weather-Tight construction provides a water resistant barrier.

MIDSOLE / OUTSOLE
Merrell ActiveHeat™ insole with silver reflective film between insulating polyester layers
Molded nylon arch shank
Compression molded EVA footframe provides cushioning
Merrell air cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
5 mm sole lug depth with surface siping
Merrell Winter City Outsole
Comfort Range to -40F/-40C

Men's Weight: 2 lbs 9 ozs

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (20)

Shoe Size: 75% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 85% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


42 of 83 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best Boot Ever 02/14/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nick from
Being from florida this was my first "snow" boot " I have ever bought. Got them for a trip to the U.P. MI in feb. They fulfilled all of my wishes and then some. I used them for just walking around town and out at night and my feet were never uncomfortable. I even wore these shoes out snow shoeing for a day and my feet were never cold, with a good pair of wool socks I was tromping through the snow and even crossed a couple shin deep rivers with them and my feet stayed dry and toasty. There just an all around great boot, buy it you wont be disappointed.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 83 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Don't think just buy!!!! 01/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TeeTee from
... first boots I have owned. After moving to Jackson Hole Wyoming I quickly realized getting around town and work meant constantly stepping in dirty, sanded, snowed/ice covered, roads daily. I needed warmth but not too hot that I would sweat once indoors. They also have a casual business look for the office. I also have a bad back so I couldn't have a slighly higher boot heel and flat non cushioned sole. The foot bed of these are VERY comfortable. The leather is dark so dirt doesn't show as much and they are waterproof! The leather is rough and ready for scratches or scuffs. Simply wipe em away. Not a boot meant to go snow shoeing or snow tromping in. Cold rating with a warm pair of socks should be around 0-5 & up degrees. Great buy!

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 79 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars nice boots 11/19/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: johnc from
These boots to me are all that you cracked them up to be. I'm still in the process of streching the width out. I wish that Merrell's had width choices so as to speed up the process. Other than that,it's afine boot.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 84 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Merrell boots 06/17/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jdsmithark from
My wife bought my first pair and I loved the way that fit and feel on my feet. I just bought my second pair.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

43 of 82 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Winter Boots 02/28/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: AllDayworkin from
5 out of 5 stars, if you want a warm comfy boot these are the boots you need. I have worn these this year out and about and on my snowmobile all winter in northern Michigan where its bellow freezing 90% of the time

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars These are the worst shoes I've ever had! 02/17/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Pavel Nikolov from
These are the worst shoes I've ever had! From day one began to leak water. The outside temperature was -15 degrees and I had wet feet. You can imagine how comfortable I felt. Once back in the store, the seller assured me that will test them for leaks. After 4 days of testing and assurance that the shoe is completely waterproof, I decided to test them again. After 20 minutes of walking in snow, guess what!??? My feet were wet!! Definitely would not recommend these shoes! Please improve your quality control. I'm writing you from a country where thease boots cost half a monthly salary, imagine how the people who can not afford to buy another pair of shoes while your dealers try them and test them are feel! Best regards PNN

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Boot for all around Snow and Slush 01/25/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: RAM from
Purchased these boots in advance of a trip to the Südtriol region of the Italian Alps. Spent 10 days with about two feet of snow on the ground and intermittent snow and light rain. Not once were my feet ever cold. These boots are so comfortable that I even wore them on the flight over and the flight home (8hrs over,10 1/2 hours back). I wear a 13 in two other style Merrill boots and thus ordered a 13 in the Bergenz.I find it to be a comfortable fit with 2 pair of socks. However, it is definitely a looser fit than the lace up style of boot. I found hiking on groomed trails and in all walking thru the city the loose fit was very comfortable. I am not sure how it would work in deep snow or snow shoeing type of applications. All in All great boot that performs as advertised.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Awesome boots! 01/09/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Hi324 from
I had difficulty getting my foot in the boot, but that had nothing to do with the superior quality of this boot. I love them.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Northeast US climate 12/28/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits narrow
Reviewer: peas67 from
Okay. So these boots do not fit as well as Merrell shoes. Narrow through toe - wide in heel. Side fold is uncomfortable on ankle. That wide heel thing doesn't help. Can't imagine having to wear these for hours, as I do my other Merrells. These things are warm for most NY weather. No way could I wear them indoors for any length of time. Very easy to get on and off. Not as well made as leather shoes. Footbed has sharp edge along inner side - not of Merrell quality. These are not for folks with sensitive feet or who plan to actually use their feet for more than a mile at a time. Prettier in the picture - that "winter city outsole" is ugly in person.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 59 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great boots! 12/26/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jimmy from
I've always been a big Merrell fan. I have several pairs of Chameleons, but have wanted a pair of Bergenzs for a long time. Santa brought me a pair this Christmas and I haven't been disappointed! They do run a bit small and are a little hard to pull on with thick socks, but as others have said once you get them on they fit nicely! Bring on the slush!

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Boot too narrow 11/20/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits narrow
Reviewer: Jeffrey322 from
I too had to return these boots because the boot opening was too narrow and would not accomodate my foot. I was told by the return specialist at Online Shoes that Merrell makes only one width size, regular. I was extremely disappointed as I really liked the boot style. Query: why only one width size??? Can the boot be made special order???

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

36 of 66 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 10/25/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits narrow
Reviewer: VA Mrs from
These are superior quality boots, and they were delivered promptly. Unfortunately they were too narrow, and had to be returned.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Excellent winter boots 04/12/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mr.HappyWarmFeet from
Have had these all of winter 2010/2011 and love them. They fit perfectly and have kept my feet perfectly warm. Also have great traction. Build quality is excellent, with seams perfectly sewn and the leather of high grade. Overall I am quite impressed.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Awesome Boot! 02/28/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Joe Wiegand from
I have to admit that I was very hesitant to spend $160 on a pair of boots for myself. However, I own several pair of Merrell's and have been very happy. These boots are the same high quality I have come to expect from Merrell. They were perfect right out of the box; very comfortable and warm. The winter in the NE has been brutal this year with snow and cold. I absolutely love these boots. I agree with the other review; I might buy a second pair and put them away!

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 02/06/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user_948 from
I've had these boots about 4 months now and I love them. They are so comfortable and warm. I wear them everywhere...even to work. This is my umpteenth pair of Merrells and they may be my favorite. I'm thinking about getting another pair to put on the closet shelf....just in case Merrell quits making them.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Boots! 01/12/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: NomadDad from
Being in the South, everyone thought I was nuts for buying these boots. As it turns out, we now 6 to 8 inches of snow on the ground and I am the only one with warm and dry feet! These boots are the best I have ever had! They are a little tight to put on but once you have them on, it is worth it!

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Completey waterproof 12/13/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Weather is getting warmer from
I was looking for a boot that had no laces or zippers for snow or water to seep into and i found these. i was reluctant to pruchase these at first due to the lack of reviews but the return policy allowed me to take a chance. These are great. a week after they arrived we received freezing rain, and 4 inches of snow, through all the shoveling and dog walking my feet stayed warm and dry. My only advice is if you are new to a pull on boot be ready to break them in a little, they are tough to get on and off at first so take some time putting them on and taking them off several times. The traction in the snow and ice was also great. if you need more traction a pair of Yak Trax will fit on them and if the snow is too deep put on a pair of gaiters. These are the most comfortable winter boot i have ever purchased. I have worn them all day and dont feel fatigued at all like i do in a lower quality boot

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars 12/13/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: rknapton from
I bought a pair of these - love the left one but the right one has a lump of insulation which rubs against the side of my foot. Definitely a workmanship problem. I am hoping to exchange them for a pair without the defect.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars He Loved them 12/01/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user_87306 from
Bought these as an early Christmas present for my son-in-law-to-be. He's in Utah and called me just to tell me how much he loves them after the first snow storm hit! Fit perfectly, loves the way the look, super-comfortable.

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars What Happened To Simple Designs 11/20/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user_83216 from
Why can't this boot be just a one piece leather with a rubber overlay @ the sole and toe? Why are there so many pieces of leather? Just a simple one piece construction that doesn't have all that stitching, pieces, and pads??? Get back tot he basics...that was your strong suite..why have you left it for all this? Very disappointing for Merrell!

The review of the Men's Bergenz Waterproof was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront