Merrell Men's Mix Master 2

Style #: J39731

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (22)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $109.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Slip into comfort and class with this stylish pair of Mix Master 2 shoe from the house of Merrell. With a distinctive touch, this pair will surely catch your attention at a single glance. This shoe features a Strobel construction offering flexibility and comfort, a Fabric and synthetic upper, Reflective details on the welt offering visibility in low lighting conditions too, a waterproof membrane, durable 2 mm EVA insole for shock absorption along with 3.5 mm lugged outsole all this provides comfort, durability and lend style to the structure.

Synthetic leather and air mesh upper.
TPU overlay provides a secure fit.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out.
Strobel construction offers flexibility and comfort.
2 mm EVA insole for comfort and shock absorption.
Reflective elements on the heel and forefoot for added visibility.
EVA anatomical footbed treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (22)

Shoe Size: 77% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


135 of 264 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great shoe! One tiny flaw 09/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: wturri78 from
I have taken up trail running of late. I'd been tackling some light off-roading in my Road Gloves, but those had to step aside as I've begun running on some rockier and slicker terrain. After reading lots of reviews, I decided on the Mix Master 2's. They fit great, give my toes lots of room, and have a very lightweight and responsive feel. They're surprisingly agile and comfortable on pavement and so far have done a great job (over about 30 total miles so far) reducing the impact of small rocks under the forefeet. I'm already a midfoot runner, and these shoes promote that natural form. I prefer a 0mm drop, but that small difference, while slightly noticeable on pavement, disappears entirely on the uneven surfaces of trail running. And, I found these shoes for half the price of some 0mm options! :) My one small problem is this...the cosmetic "stripes" along the side of the shoe, which are either sewn or glued on, run down around the inside of the arch of the foot. It's barely noticeable with the cushioned insoles, but of course I prefer running without the cushioned insoles for better ground feel and less of a drop (several reviews have said the insole adds about 2mm to the drop of the shoe). With that insole removed, the "stripe" digs into the arch of my foot and becomes pretty uncomfortable after about 3 miles. It's much more of a problem on pavement...on trails there's plenty of other things that dig into my feet. I would still recommend this shoe to anyone looking for a lightweight trail runner. Most people probably will leave the insole alone and not notice the problem. I also only notice it on my right foot, so maybe it has to do with the shape of my foot. At any rate, I'd recommend that Merrell consider redesigning the cosmetic details to stay away from the arches of the foot. But I'm still a Merrell loyalist :)

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

124 of 249 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Good shoe, not for minimalists 08/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: NHR from
I've been running in Trail Gloves for about 2 years. I was looking for a new shoe that was more appropriate for more demanding trails. The Trail Gloves are excellent on pavement and well-kept trails but lose traction on wet rock, mud, grass, leaves, etc. The MM2 I had to buy a half size larger than my TG to keep my small toe from rubbing on the toe cap. I've done a couple of runs and have given the shoes every chance I can but I just don't like them. They have too much cushion, too much drop, and just feel overly clumsy on any terrain. I can't run for any real distance in them before I get bizarre pains in my foot and calves. The shoes are well made, comfortable, and very grippy but they are so far removed from the other minimalist shoes that I simply can't run in them. They are much closer to a traditional running shoe than a minimalist shoe. I'll keep them for light hiking and yardwork but my search for a grippy trail-worthy minimalist shoe continues.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

117 of 247 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Minimalist Shoe! 08/17/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Riefa from
I use Mix Master 2 shoe for a longer run above 10K. I also have the Road Glove if I only plan to run no more than 10K. This Mix Master 2 is really a great shoe! All Merrells shoes I own has forced me to run with a better form! Thank you ;) I just purchased Mix Master Move & Flux Glove, and I'm pretty sure that those shoe will perform just as good as my previous Merrell shoes!

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

120 of 244 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 08/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: johrn0 from
the mixmaster2 has totally changed my running.I used to think more cushioning was the answer to sore knees. I now land midfoot with my feet under my center of gravity with a slight forward lean from my anckles with no more knee trouble.Iwent from a pegasus to the mixmaster overnight. Im not ready to go more minimal yet. The best shoe ive ever owned. Joe Horn KCMO>

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

119 of 243 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Merrell Mix Master 2 06/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ThaMessenjah from
I'll be honest. My purchase of my new Mix Master 2's came with some great hesitation. I am, and probably will be forever, a HUGE fan of the NB MT101's. I have 2 pairs with over 1500 miles each on them. Since they were discontinued I found myself in search of something similar and nothing compared...until I found out about the Mix Master 2. The fit is amazing and incredibly similar to the 101's. The night I got them I put 10 miles on them on the treadmill. The next morning (less than 10 hours later) I put another 10 on them. They performed very well on the treadmill, but I knew that the true test was going to come on the trails. This is where these shoes exceeded my expectations. I took them out for a run in a torrential downpour this morning on the single track and they were MARVELOUS!!! Traction was good. They shed water incredibly. No movement whatsoever. I think this will be my new go to shoe. Great job!!!!

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 54 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 06/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Travis McWhorter from
Best. Running. Shoe. Ever. I currently own three pairs. One in green/yellow and the other two in empire yellow. I race and train with the Mix Master 2. Lightweight and durable. It keeps me comfortable on top of a 12,000 foot mountain, over gnarly rocks in the desert or on top of tree roots in a dense forest. Wherever I am, the Mix Master 2 holds up. I'm getting ready to order my 4th pair and noticed the colors I like (mainly Empire Yellow) is no longer available. Will that change? -Merrell Lover :)

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 59 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Jack of All, Master of None 05/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: thecaptainchas from
First of all, 3 out of 5 stars is not a bad review; it's more like a C on a report card. Not stellar, but still passing. Anyway, the Mix Master 2 is a decent mixed terrain shoe. It can handle a long-ish run that blends asphalt and soft trail, but it does not excel at any one surface. The underfoot protection is great for a shoe of this weight, but it's also on the stiff side, so too much road (or any concrete) for an extended stretch can be a bit...ploppy, but tolerable. As for the trails, dry traction is great and wet traction is okay. A little more flexibility would make for a more nimble feeling on single-track. Coming from half a dozen shoes in the Merrell Barefoot line, I may be asking a lot when it comes to flexibility, I guess. I do travel with this shoe quite often (when I don't know what kind of running surfaces to expect) so that I don't feel like I need to pack three pairs of shoes. Like all my previous Merrells, I sized down to a 9 from my otherwise 9.5 and got the correct fit.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Shoe! 05/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dan from
I really enjoy this shoe! It's super comfortable, and my feet feel great after running in them. Highly recommended!

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars This is a great trail shoe! 05/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TrailBird from
From out of nowhere, the Mix Master 2 has become one of my favorite trail shoes. It's light but provides a bit more support than the minimalist barefoot styles, including that 4mm in the heel. It's also very roomy in the forefoot area so your toes can splay out. And the tread provides excellent traction.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 05/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: EAE from
I bought these back in August and had to retire them in February. I thought they wore a little quick, although most of the use was on the road so I figured that may have something to do with that. I'm in the Army and we run a lot; and I run quite a bit outside of work, too. But I loved them. Super comfortable, I did 10 miles on day one without a single issue. Well, I have since pulled them out of retirement since I bought a pair of INOV 8's as recommended by a friend and I hate them.(I'm not bad mouthing INOV8's, they just didn't work well for my feet). Too narrow and absolutely no support. Most likely I will be getting another pair of these soon. I'm getting out of the Army in a week so I hope to be putting more trail miles on them as opposed to road miles. Hopefully they will last a bit longer this time. Now that they are so worn out I use them for mountain biking primarily. I like to hop off the bike and get a little trail run in at the end and they work perfect for that. I went a half size smaller as seems to be the trend but that's why you always have to try on your shoes before you buy them.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great shoe, except for sizing 04/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: rogun from
This is a great shoe. I love the lightweight minimalist feel and how the thin soles still have a surprising amount of cushioning in them. I love that they dry out quickly after getting them wet, too. The only thing I don't like is the fit. A size 10.5 is slightly too small and an 11 feels too big. I wear an 11 in most shoes, but my foot slides all over the place in an 11 in Merrell shoes. A 10.5 feels almost perfect, but my toes touch the end of the shoe and I worry that the shoe will be too small if it shrinks (something which has happened with other reputable brands in the past.) The arch also seems to far forward in an 11, unlike the 10.5. If the toe box in the 10.5 were only a little longer, it would be perfect, but an 11 is just too big.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Absolutely Perfect 04/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Stephan Looney from
I am an ultra trail runner that has been looking for a shoe that will not blister my feet on 50+ mile runs. I have not taken this one on a 50 miler yet (I will in may and will update after I do) but it feels promising so far. The 10+ mile runs I have done so far feel awesome. Perfect balance of weight and protection. You dont have to worry about stepping on rocks and such with the protection these shoes offer. I have been running in VFFs for a long time but on the longer trail runs my feel just cant hold up. This shoe seems to be the perfect replacement.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 04/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Kurt from
Shoes are great. Look good and feel nice.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 51 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 04/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: JMx from
I have used other minimalist shoes in the past, but I always switched back to traditional running shoes, specifically the Mizuno Wave series. I decided to give this shoe a try, and it is now my primary running shoe. I do an extensive amount of trail running 40+ miles a week and it is the shoe I wear. Additionally, I wear the shoes while running on the road or track. The Mix Master is extremely versatile and comfortable no matter what the surface of the road.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Amazing 03/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: korisu56 from
I ran in Merrell Trail Gloves (TG) in sandy Georgia for 7 months and really enjoyed the transition from a bulky, corrective shoe. However, when I moved to rocky Texas, the Trail Gloves weren't cutting it for foot protection. Since transitioning to the Merrell Mix Master 2s (MM2), they've become my primary running shoe on any terrain. Pros: -Toe box is roomy. With exception to Altra Instincts, every other shoe feels like they're suffocating my feet. -Light weight. Every morning I lace up my boots feel like anchors compared to my running shoes. -4mm drop is great for my big, flat feet & small ankle combo. I enjoyed running in the TGs, but I love running in the MM2. Cons: -Merrell hasn't made these into a boot I can wear at work.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Excellent shoe for GORUCK Challenge and Titans Rac 03/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Kelvin from
I love this shoe! In March I completed the GORUCK Challenge where we covered 16.5 miles of concrete, sand and water. In the same month I also completed the Titans Race which consisted 10 miles of 20 obstacles, mud and rough terrain. All this was possible thanks to this shoe. Quick dry and no blisters.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 58 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 03/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: EG from
great fit; lightweight and comfortable

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 58 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Mix Master 2 03/12/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mad85704 from
I love these shoes. I use them on very rocky trails in S.AZ. The toe bumper actually works. Plus, the rock plate in the forfoot is just the right amount of protection. I also like the close to ground feel. Just the right amount of shoe for me. The only thing I would improve is the tread. Beefier tread, like vibram,would make them perfect in my book.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Fantastic Trail Running Shoe 03/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: DG_Allen from
I'm finally compelled to write a review of my Mix Masters. I've been trail running in them for 7 months now. This weekend I ran a total of 30 miles and my feet feel great! No blisters, no hot spots, nothing. I feel confident when running that I have good traction and control. I get enough protection and padding to keep me safe on rocky terrain but I still get a great feel. I've also run for 2 hours with these shoes in the rain and they drained and dried very well.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 59 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Mix Master 2 12/26/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jskeeters from
Great shoe just run BIGGER than expected in size and I own 3 other pair of merrell's and have had no size issues thus far. Shoe feels good and comfortable as well; just foot slides around due to larger than expected toe pocket.. Hardly wear them anymore =(

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 55 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars love these shoes! 08/03/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: setherton from
the timing couldn't have been better. i thrashed the pair of shoes i'd been running in at a recent adventure race and desperately needed something lightweight and durable for both running and crossfit. admittedly, i have never owned a pair of merrell's before, but i had a discount code and figured it was a good time to a) redeem and b) try something new. i'm glad i did. for the last 4 weeks, they've served me well. the majority of my training is crossfit, and they work well for lifting, jumping, etc. i can't speak to how they do on long runs, since the most we do is 400 - 800m at a time at crossfit, but i look forward to putting them to the test soon.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 60 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great trail shoe 06/26/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TDJ from
I just finished training for and then running a 50k trail race with these shoes and they're great. They're very light which preserved my form in the race; good traction in rocks and mud; and the right amount of cushioning and protection. Very comfortable and a big toebox. These are a great lighweight option for hitting the trails.

The review of the Men's Mix Master 2 was written on merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront