Merrell Men's Moab GTX

Style #: J87577, J87323

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (21)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $140.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Be prepared for any adventure with the men's Moab GORE-TEX hiking shoe from Merrell. In this newest style of the Moab hiking shoe, the addition of Aegis antimicrobial-treated GORE-TEX lining adds a new level of cloudburst protection and comfort. The Merrell men's Moab GTX is a trail-proven, highly ventilated shoe, great for any terrain in any season. With Vibram soles for added stability and durability and a lightweight construction, you'll want to wear these shoes everywhere you go.


UPPER/LINING
Waterproof Dura leather and mesh upper
Bellows tongue keeps debris out
Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter
GORE-TEX Extended Comfort Footwear lining keeps feet dry and comfortable
Breathable mesh lining treated with Aegisฎ Antimicrobial solution maintains foot comfort
Ortholite Anatomical Footbed

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
Molded nylon arch shank
Compression molded EVA foot frame provides cushioning
Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
5mm Sole lug depth
Vibram Multi-Sport Sole/TC5+ Rubber
Weight: 1 lb 8 ozs.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (21)

Shoe Size: 80% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


59 of 135 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars awesome shoe 10/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: tw from
These are great shoes, I use them for everything. I've had a pair of Merrells for the last 5 years, however Merrell should consider using different laces, they're always coming untied.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

80 of 147 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Moad Gore-Tex 09/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Dr. Gary from
This is turning out to be a great shoe. Good fit and comfortable right out of the box. Living here in El Paso TX with a lot of rocks and very hard soil this shoe is a pleasure for walking. The price was right and problem free shipping. The shoes arrived right on time.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

71 of 146 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Nice Shoes 09/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TSFightingDuck from
First trip I took them on was a 9 mile day hike, and I must say they gave me blisters on the inside of both heels. I know I didn't break them in well enough before going 9 miles in them, at a 12 minute mile pace. So I'm not going to reduce my score of them by that incident. Just two days later (today) I did a short 5 mile hike in them and didn't have any issues with them at all. Even with the blisters! 8/10 would buy another pair. We'll see how they hold up on durability, but all my Merrell boots/shoes hold up rather well.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

72 of 140 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars My new Merrill Moab Gore-tex shoes 09/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Eman01 from
I bought my first Merrill shoes to wear while I was working in Nicaragua because they were water proof. They became my favorite foot wear because they fit so well. I wore them until the soles began to seperate rom the uppers. When I went back to the store where I purchased my Merrill's, I found they no longer sold them. I bought the Moab Gore-tex because they were waterproof and have found they are every bit as comportable as my first patir of Merrill shoes.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

81 of 177 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 07/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jack from
These shoes were a perfect fit and walking comfortable straight out of the box.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Best Gripping Sole On The Planet! 06/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Erik from
I use these shoes for work, casual, play and loafing :). I am on ladders, roofs and various terrain. Usually these surfaces are soaking wet and muddy when I work due to my nature of work. These shoes performed absolutely wonderful in terms of grip stability and all around traction on any surface...but I have one issue. The nylon shank gave away after only about 3-4 months of use. I do have to say that I am brutal on my shoes. I demand a lot of flexibility and torsion control. These shoes are my favorite of all shoes I have owned...period. I would have appreciated a stiffer/longer (full instep) shank - maybe even metallic. I wanted to rate it a 4.5 stars but this review setup wouldn't allow. Buy these shoes. Go outside. Experience Merrell. Hope this helps someone! Sincerely, E.G.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 66 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Buy these shoes now!!! 04/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dan1083 from
I have had this shoe for the past three years and I must say it is the absolute best purchase I have ever made. It is hands down one of the most comfortable pair of shoes I have ever worn. The durability is excellent. I wear these almost every day for work and outdoor activities such as hiking and camping. I also wear them in the snow. My feet have never gotten wet or cold in these shoes. I had never heard of Merrell before purchasing these, and picked them up on a whim, but am I glad I did. I plan on wearing this shoe for as long as Merrell makes it. After three years I have finally had to order a new pair, but only because the soles are worn down almost flat. I recommend this shoe to everyone I meet. Stop reading this and buy it. You will not be dissappointed.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Shoe 04/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: bboitano14 from
Best hiking shoe I have ever owned. And possibly one of the most comfortable shoes I own, period.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 66 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great, great shoes. 04/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ryanshepard from
I bought these about a week and a half before I was going to NYC; I knew I'd be doing an insane amount of walking but didn't want to wear my Merrell boots (which I also love) only because I thought those would be a little too warm. (Plus, I wanted to treat myself to new shoes.) The Moabs were a great call -- they fit perfect, and after a week or so of breaking them in (when, naturally, they're going to feel a *little* tight) they were perfect for trekking through Manhattan and Brooklyn. These are one of my two go-to pairs of shoes for daily use. Love LOVE them. I've been consistently happy with Merrell's products and will keep recommending them - I've also got a pair of Mocs and Moab midsize.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 65 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great for work or play! 03/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: JJB from
I started out using these shoes just as a casual shoe for when it rains or snows, then I loved them so much I decided to wear them to work every day as well. These shoes have proven to be amazing in any event, given that I work in the trades they get abused daily and yet they still function well after a whole year of use(minus that the tread is worn down now of course) I actually just bought a new pair so I can wear them out as casual shoes again :) I might even buy a spare set there so great! Seriously worth every penny with how well these shoes last while. Thank you Merrell!

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 58 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars USA to Afghanistan Geat Shoe!!!!! 03/21/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Kron1s from
The shoes are great!!!! I have a wide foot and have gotten many hiking shoes but most have been well below what my expectations was for the shoes. I then was told by my wife to looks into Merrell to get a pair of Gortex shoes. I did and bought a pair and then went to Afghanistan for over a year went through 2 pairs of shoes but the comfort of the shoes and the balance was so good that I told my whole team to get them. I am happy with the quality, the price was great and to be able to have a shoe that was able to take on Afghanistan and survive the harsh treatment is a great endorsement to the Merrell Corporation. Thanks for your shoes saving my feet from the disaster that other shoes would have done to my feet. Keep up the good quality of comfort of your shoes I will keep buying until I can't walk anymore. Work in harsh environments

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 70 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great shoe but watch the sizing 02/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Paul from
These are a great hiking shoe, especially in warm weather. I have had this pair for about 6 months now and they are great. I blew out my ankle about 3 years ago and these boots provide great support for rough trail hiking. My only complaint is that these boots seem to fit a little differently than what I am used to. Normally I can count on Merrell running true to size, but these are a little short. I should have exchanged them when I first got them, but I was sure they would stretch out a bit. (Un)fortunately, they are too well made and hold their form! For me, that means wearing my much heavier boots for hikes over a couple miles to avoid the cramping I get with the Moabs. For shorter hikes I have no problems and love these guys. The moral of the story is that these are a great boot, but be cautious about sizing.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 60 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Worn Daily 11/28/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Geocacher from
Wore these daily for a year. Ready for a new pair of low hiker shoes. Very comfy. Waterproof works. A very little separation at one toe top is minor after 365 day+ and 12+ hours per day. Have enjoyed very much. Would like a more rugged sole on a hiking shoe that is waterproof. Any suggestions?

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars 10/17/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nathaniel from
Bought the Moab Gore Tex because I finally wanted a good pair of work shoes. Have heard nothing but good things about Merrells. Was going through 2-3 pairs of cheaper sneakers a year at work. They were a little pricy, but I figured if they last a couple years and my feet are happy, then it's worth it. These are the first pair of Merrells that I've owned. Tried them on and bought them immediately. Very comfortable and still are after 5 months of wearing them daily. My experience led me to by 3 more pair of Merrell footwear (sandals, "gloves", Chameleons). All are very comfortable and I had become a huge Merrell fan. Unfortunately, the Moabs have an issue that I am not pleased about, because I've only been wearing them for 5 months. The soles are separating from the upper around the toe area. They are still very comfortable, but I'm unpleasantly surprised by this. The cheapy shoes I'd been buying didn't even do this, the insoles would wear out on them. I thought for the price I paid that I'd get more usage out of them. They might have to become "yard work/mowing shoes" already. I'm starting to wonder about my other Merrells. Am in the market for some winter boots and even have some Merrells picked out, but now I'm a bit hesitant about buying those. Hoping the Moabs are just a fluke. Only reason my rating is low is because of the separation at the sole/toe area. They are still extremely comfortable.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great shoe 09/14/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: smartin5 from
Great shoe, a comfortable, waterproof, durable shoe. I buy these over and over again.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great All-Around Shoe! 08/31/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: cjp from
I am a big fan of all Merrell footwear and find the heelcup, sole, arch and lacing incredibly comfortable. I bought this shoe for everyday use with anticipated fun adventures in the evening and weekends. I recently skydived with this shoe and found it very convenient and comfortable for those all important landings. It's got great grip in a wide variety of terrains/environments and is comfortable for daily wear. I highly recommend this shoe and it's the 6th pair of Merrell shoes I've bought.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Surprised 08/09/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dkblade from
Seriously Waterproof. Had to run in water up to my ankles. The only thing that wasn't soaking wet, were my feet. I came back in to continue working and was just astonished that these fairly breathable shoe is that waterproof! Big fan

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

28 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Be a little wary 03/12/2010
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: cooperarnold from
These are GREAT shoes so please don't just look at the stars and judge them by my rating. I love their waterproofness and feel on slick pavement and muddy areas. The Vibram outsole is absolutely heavenly when you need to be able to move and cut in wet conditions. The warning I must issue is to make sure to walk around in them a little in the store before you buy them. At first they seemed to fit me very well and were very comfortable shoes. Somewhere around .5 miles though my feet began to get very tight and they became almost unusable. Since I have change the insole and they have lasted a little long and hurt a little less. I'm still using them because they are some of the best and most useful shoes I've ever owned, just not always the most comfortable. Try em out, they may work great for you, but if you are like me it is probably better to get another shoe from Merrell's great line of footwear.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Okay. 01/07/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Ryan B. from
This is my first pair of merrell shoes. I have a few friends that have a pair of merrell shoes and they love them. I thought I should try a pair since I was going to be walking a lot in the cold weather. They are very warm but not very comfortable to me. I have flat feet and I'm not sure if that is the reason. They feel great when I put them on but after a while of just standing they hurt my feet. Anyone else have this problem?

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Phil 12/21/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Not Impressed from
The shoe has great looks and very comfortable but the worst grip I have ever used. I fish the coast of Australia and demand high traction on both dry and wet rocks. The shoe slides on dry rock which even cheap shoes will not do. have put them back in the box and will go back to to my old shoes.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Flawless 06/17/2009
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Kivalo from
Best decision for a shoe I have ever made. I love to run, on trails and concrete; through mud and streams and over summer asphalt. I've had numerous running shoes that could not stand stand the test of time, regardless of how comfortable they were. Then I discovered Merrell, and I couldn't be happier. Being familiar with uniform boots featuring Vibram and Gore-Tex, I have high expectations for any shoe or boot with these features. The choice is simple: the majority of gimmicky athletic sneakers out there cost the same price as these. So for a seriously comfortable shoe, with the durability of a rugged boot, waterproof Gore-Tex, extraordinary traction and light weight, BUY THESE FLAWLESS SHOES. (And they look pretty nice too : )

The review of the Men's Moab GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront