Merrell Men's Moab GTX Wide

Style #: J87323W, J87577W

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (16)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $139.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Discover a comfortable wide-width shoe fit for any adventure. The men's Moab GORE-TEX Wide Width is a multi-sport athletic shoe for men. Whether you're hiking, biking, caving or rappelling, the Moab wide-width will give you the comfort, support and protection you need. Designed to be waterproof footwear that’s also lightweight and breathable, the addition of Aegis antimicrobial-treated GORE-TEX lining adds a new level of cloudburst protection to this proven men's hiking shoe.

UPPER/LINING
Waterproof Dura leather and mesh upper
Bellows tongue keeps debris out
Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter
GORE-TEX Extended Comfort Footwear lining keeps feet dry and comfortable
Breathable mesh lining treated with Aegis Antimicrobial solution maintains foot comfort
Ortholite Anatomical footbed

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
Molded nylon arch shank
Compression molded EVA foot frame provides cushioning
Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
5mm Sole lug depth
Vibram Multi-Sport Sole/TC5+ Rubber
Weight: 1 lb. 8 ozs.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (16)

Shoe Size: 93% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


93 of 174 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best shoe ever!! 08/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Drc622 from
I really love this shoe. I wear them ever where I go. They have the most amazing traction. If you live in Colorado and love to hike mountains this is a must have. The only down fall I had was the sole separated from the shoe shortly after I purchased them and I didn't even think to warranty them. Even with that happening I have still worn them for over a year now and they are still the best shoes I own other then my Merrell Thermo 6.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

78 of 159 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Comfy! 07/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Evanice from
Comfortable and versatile shoe. I would recommend!

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

87 of 171 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 06/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Vid from
I am wearing these shoes for over a yer now and I can't be more satisfied. They are very comfortable, lightweight and they provide stability. Whith those shoes I feel that I could walk all day. I highly recommend them.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

87 of 174 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Men's MOAB Goretex wide 12/29/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Agdia from
Excellent rough country shoe. Well built. Sturdy, comfortable. True wide width. This is my second pair.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

78 of 152 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars I recommend these to any cyclist. 12/28/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Ernie from
I ride without clipless pedals for a variety of reasons, but one of those reasons is that Merrell doesn't make these shoes with the required cleats. I literally could not be happier with these shoes. I got Gore-Tex Moabs in a regular width, but I can't find them on the site at all. These shoes are both very dry and very warm. I have worn them on early spring rides where snow was still on the ground, and my feet were *not* cold at all. I have also worn them while riding in torrential downpours without getting my feet wet at all (ankles, yes, feet, no). In summer, the Gore-Tex also ensures that my feet don't overheat, either. The soles are great for cycling because they're quite stiff and don't absorb a lot of pedalling energy, while also protecting my feet from my aggressive metal pedals. I've heard many cyclists complain about the shoes they wear - they're not warm enough, or waterproof enough, or too sweaty in summer. I have none of those objections with these shoes, and I recommend them every time. I only hear two objections to that: either they don't have cleats, and one person objected on the grounds that they're not vegan.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Outstanding Shoe! 12/02/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: JFowldsjr(Albuquerque) from
Outstanding Shoe. Awesome and Rugged.....One of 4 Merrell's that I have owned. Great fit. quality,and customer service!

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great Hiking Shoes for Those with WIDE feet! 08/23/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: alexrusso12 from
This is my second pair of Merrell Gore-Tex Moabs. While most brands which label their shoes as "wide" only fall in the category of 1E or 2E, I feel that Merrell shoes and boots tend to run a little wider. I have 4E width feet, and the Merrell standard wide is very sufficient. Last summer I hiked 12 4000 foot peaks in Northern New Hampshire with these shoes, and I could not have asked for better performing footwear. Challenged with wet, damp, dry, slippery, and unpredictable terrain conditions the Merrell Moab with Gore-Tex climbed to the top without failure. I would say that the typical lifespan on the Gore-Tex material in terms of "waterproofness" is probably 8-10 months under heavy-use conditions, and probably 12-14 months under normal wear. This is why I would recommend using a waterproofing spray agent after a couple months, just to reinforce its waterproofing properties. The only issue that occurred with both pairs of my Merrell Moabs is that the black rubber sole at the toe peeled away from the rest of the shoe after about 6 months of wear. While this is not a huge concern, it does compromise the shoe's waterproof ability and it doesn't look very good. Pros: Very comfortable, suitable for extra-wide feet, gore-tex is a must, durable, reliable, look great Cons: Tend to be stiff at first, waterproof life is rather short, black rubber sole piece peels from toe, wish they were made in the USA.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Not waterproof as stated 06/24/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Steve321 from
I would first like to state that I own the Merrell gore-tex Moab Mids and they're still going strong after two years of heavy use. I ordered these shoes and wore for a month and at the lightest sprinkle my feet were wet. I'm not sure if I bought a defective pair but I'm very disappointed. Debris easily slip in to shoe also. I would not suggest buying these shoes. I am going to ship back and try something else.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Product 06/07/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Montana_Native from
I have wide feet and trouble finding shoes that don't hurt my toes after a short hike. These are great.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 58 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Men's Moab GORE-TEX Wide Width 05/23/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dansndais from
I have liked the boot height of this style so much that I wanted something for those real hot days of summer. This is a well built shoe. Dry, comfortable and cool. Todays wet morning grass at the fishing tournament was no problem. It supports the foot well and my feet did not sweat in the 82 degree weather. My only issue is that the sole is like that of a boot so there is not that gymshoe feel of what you may be stepping on... I managed to break my fishing net handle before realizing what I was stepping on.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 65 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 04/29/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: BR7 from
Roomy and comfortable, perfect for my arthritic big toes to fit in. Plenty of cushioning. Love 'em.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Awesome shoe 10/15/2010
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: bish from
I bought these shoes with the intention of running them as hard as I can. I recently used them in an active shooting competition w/ out attempting to break them in prior to the match. Not once through out the day did my feet hurt. I stood for a few hours straight on my feet and was in no form of discomfort. The shoe is light weight enough to make movement very easy and natural, while still providing exception grip and comfort. Ironically enough I was even able to test out the gore-tex because of an unexpected down pour in the middle of the match. My feet stayed warm and dry through the entire day. I have moderately wide feet, so I purchased the wide model. I was relieved to find out that there was more then enough room inside.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 59 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars my favorite shoe ever 10/09/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: peter99ba from
great fitting shoe.my third time buying this shoe. i hope they make it for years to come. not too heavy and so comfortabe to wear whether you are hiking Moab utah's beautiful national parks or just walking around town. no matter you wont be dissapointed with this shoe. great looking too. i own 2 pairs now

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 05/21/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Rgurgo from
Good Fit right out of the box. No break in needed at all. Im on my feet 12 to 16 hours a day, plus a have a 4E width so a good fit is sometimes hard to find.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Not as durable as I thought 01/01/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: PO from
These shoes are comfortable and used to do a good job of withstanding water. However, I definitely thought they would be more durable. I have had them for less than two years and use them for everyday outdoor activities such as walking the dog, shoveling snow and occassionally around a campsite. Some of the material on the sides is coming off and the upper portion of the shoe is separating from the sole on both sides of both shoes from about the ball of my foot up to just about the tip of the shoe. They are not water resistant anymore because water gets between the sole and upper portion from the sides where the shoe is separating. I didn't expect these shoes to last forever but thought I'd get more use out of them since I am not hiking, walking streams,etc in them

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 58 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars NJ Medic in Iraq 06/20/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Scott Agrusti from
One of the most comfortable shoes/sneakers I've ever owned. The wide width option contributes to that. The rugged bottoms are perfect for walking on the rough terrain, sand and dirt of Iraq. Cool enough for the 140+ degree summer weather.

The review of the Men's Moab GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront