Merrell Men's Moab Mid GTX

Style #: J87313, J87701, J87311

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (22)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $150.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Get out and explore with the men's Moab Mid GORE-TEX hiking boots. The mid-height waterproof boots are the perfect match for traversing creek beds or hiking through downpours. The addition of an Aegis antimicrobial-treated GORE-TEX lining to the GORE-TEX construction of the breathable mesh upper means you have even greater protection when hiking in inclement weather. Plus, the Moab Mid is a lightweight men's hiking boot with the Vibram Multi-Sport Plus sole, making it the perfect companion for the weekend warrior navigating demanding terrain. Purchase the Moab Mid GORE-TEX men's hiking boot for a supportive, comfortable and durable boot in all weather conditions.


UPPER/LINING
Waterproof Dura leather and mesh upper
Bellows tongue keeps debris out
Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter
GORE-TEX Performance Comfort Footwear lining protects feet and keeps them dry
Breathable mesh lining treated with Aegis Antimicrobial solution maintains foot comfort
Ortholite anatomical footbed

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
Molded nylon arch shank
Compression molded EVA foot frame provides cushioning
Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
5mm Sole lug depth
Vibram Multi-Sport Sole/TC5+ Rubber
Weight: 1 lb. 15 ozs.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (22)

Shoe Size: 90% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


61 of 127 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars 10/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: gasman87 from
I've had these shoes for while and wear them to work were I walk a lot in wet grass. They were great to walk in, fit great, and used them when I did not have to wear my steel toe boots, so I did not wear them a lot. This past few months they leak and now the soles are separating. They have been great to work in, and would recommend them to anyone, but now have to find a replacement. They are great hiker just did not last long enough..

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

64 of 128 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Hiker 09/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: RobertM from
Very good hiker. Just returned from trip to North Rim, Bryce Canyon, and Zion. Got boots on Wednesday and left on trip following Sunday. Very comfortable right out of box. Had no problems, wore boots every day for at least 12 hours a day. They were the only shoes I carried on the trip.I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting a light weight waterproof hiker.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

72 of 150 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 08/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Timothy from
So far so good. A very comfortable hiking boot right out of the box. The best part is how my feet stay dry walking in wet grass and stay relatively cool in the high heat and humidity of St. Louis. The traction has been great also. This is my second pair of Merrell's, if this boot hold up as well as the "Trail Glove" I will be very satisfied.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

61 of 129 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Merrell Moab Mid- Gore -Tex Waterproof..Beluga 07/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: James from
Was expecting a high quality shoe that was comfortable and I was not disappointed! Lightweight,durable,comfortable,and definately waterproof. THANK YOU MERRELL!!!

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

65 of 140 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Great boots, but they fall apart too fast. 07/12/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: acostello730 from
My husband uses these boots almost daily. I guess they just aren't designed for regular use or wear. Years ago he'd get a full year or maybe longer out of a pair of Merrell's. Lately he doesn't get more than six months. It's disappointing because he's got plantar fasciitis and it's hard for him to find boots that protect his feet and are a comfortable fit. Other than the fact they barely hold up six months, they're great boots.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

27 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 06/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Elaine Bridges from
This boot was comfortable right out of the box, no break-in time necessary. Great fit and support, durable materials. My best boot ever!

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 50 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Boots! 05/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dangerzero from
I had to order my boots bigger than usual but other than that no problems. Comfortable!!! You will not be sorry when you order these boots.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 52 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Moab Mid GORE-TEX® 05/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: tomjan from
Best hiking shoe I've ever owned! Lightweight, Waterproof, and Comfortable are the three main factors when I'm selecting a shoe for long treks. This one has all 3, with Gore-Tex! Sizing was perfect and a removable insole gave me choices for socks. Buying online was a snap, and free shipping was a bonus!

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 03/29/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nathan from
I love Merrell's. The durability of their shoes and consistency in sizing is phenomenal. I've had the Moab GTX for over a year now and they still look brand-new, even after wearing as my hunting boots and hiking in CO in them. I wash them with a soft bristle-brush and warm-water and let them air-dry. They are a little stiff at first (the Gore-Tex is the stiff part), but break-in after a couple days of wearing around the house. To speed things up, soak them in hot water for 20-30 minutes and then wear for the rest of the day. I have 4 pairs of various Merrell's in 11.5 and they all fit the same (Moab GTX, Olmec, Chameleon II, Barefoot Trail Glove). My favorite pair of Merrell's is my 6-year old Chameleon II's. I've put them through hell and high-water (rural fire/rescue, hiking 6 14'ers, hunting, 9-month constant wear for 6-years) and they're still kicking. They look beat-to-hell, but there's no holes in the uppers and the soles still have about half of their tread depth left. The only issue I had was a slight separation of the upper and sole at the toe after 3-years - a little dab of Shoe Goo took care of that. Please Merrell, if you have any size 11.5 Cham II's left, I'll take them!! The Moab's are the next-best thing. My wife has the ventilator lows and loves them as well. If you're looking for a great hiking boot/shoe at a reasonable price get the Moab or Chameleon. You can't go wrong. I'd even pay extra to have them made in USA, not China.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 54 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars SO far So VERY Good 03/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: SpiceUmUp from
Bought these the other night and did two hikes this weekend. Very comfortable right out of the box and the water and mud rolled right off. The sole gripped like mad even on snow. I would recommend going up a half size. Nearly all footwear I have is 11.5 D. These fit best at 12 D. I wear a thin sock under a thick sock when hiking. They were perfect at a half size up. Very pleased so far!

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Thanks Merrell 03/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Michael B. from
Love these boots.....i have been wearing merrell's for about twenty five years, at the moment i have four pairs. I like the fact that the sizing is uniform, no matter what style i wear. They fit perfect every time....no brake in time required. My latest pair are Moab Mid. They are light weight and very comfortable....i especailly like the lacing at the top of the boot, which allows me to slide my feet in, go side to side with laces, tie them up ang go....very easy.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Good in Afghanistan, Good Anywhere 03/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: DSS2501 from
I wear the waterproof Merrell Moab shoes everyday in Afghanistan. They are absolutely fantastic. My Merrells have been through snow, sleet, blazing heat, even the dust storms without an issue. They hold up out here incredibly well and that performance convinced me that Merrell makes some of the best quality footwear out there.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 54 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 08/27/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Kent from
After using these boots on hiking and camping trips in Yellowstone NP, Grand Teton NP, and on the Appalachian trail, I have to say that they have performed almost flawlessly. These boots are durable and comfortable, surviving miles of really rocky terrain on the AT without causing a single blister or even a hot spot. The GTX is working well so far, keeping my feet dry after a few stream crossings but it honestly hasn't been thoroughly tested yet as these were only quick splashes. This brings me to why I gave these boots only 4 stars (though I wanted to give them 4.5 but the rating system doesn't allow that). These boots left my feet sweaty after a few long hikes in hot weather. This is hardly any reason not to buy these boots though, any boots are going to be hot when its in the high 80's to 90's. One last point I should bring up... EVERYBODY has these boots. They are seriously popular, the Air-Jordan's of the trail. So if you're looking for individuality, these are not the boots for you, but if you're looking for a tested and proven boot that's trusted by thousands of people then look no further.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

26 of 54 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Great while the waterproofing lasts, then still pr 08/16/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mattbiz from
I've owned these boots for about a year and a half. I would rate these closer to 3.5 stars but unfortunately it isn't an option. They became un-waterproof after less than one season of every day use doing some moderate hiking. When I walk through a wet meadow or if it is raining a even a little, my toes get soggy and they take a day or two to dry out on the inside. I've logged a lot of miles in these even since they lost their waterproof ability and have had to replace the insoles with a more comfortable footbed (I have a history of arch problems, so this isn't really the shoe's fault). The vibram soles are great and offer excellent grip in all terrains that I've walked on, and the ankle support is top-notch. I really wish the waterproofing lasted more than a couple months of use. Because of this fact I will need to replace them soon and I probably will not buy this type again. I really expected the waterproof feature to last longer with how much the boots cost. In the attached picture you can see the upper pulling away from the sole, which I believe is why they started taking on water.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 52 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 07/26/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: John from
So far so good. I have a pair of Moab Ventilators (low quarters) that have served me well, two mission trips to Haiti and recently a 20K hike with 40lb pack, no blisters or any other problems (switched socks halfway through). Second time I've done that hike with same shoes. While I still love and use the Ventilators almost daily, when it was time to upgrade to something with a little more ankle support that was waterproof, the Moab Mid Gore-Tex was a no-brainer. Looks and feels a lot like the low-quarter Ventilators, but with said ankle support and even a little more support and edge on the heel, helpful in the stirrups on a recent horseback ride. I also looked long and hard at the Merrell Sawtooth, which I still like, but Merrell had some delay in my size, and they're not waterproof, so back to the Moab. Also checked all the other brand-name suppliers and didn't see anything that would woo my from the tried and true Merrells.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars soft and tough 03/06/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: laith from
Went hiking yesterday wearing a pair of these that my friend loaned me - he had only worn them a few times, but we happen to wear the same size. I really appreciate how soft and supportive they felt, and held their form while I was descending steep inclines, and had a really nice grip on the rocks. In a perfect world, a great hiker functions like army boots but feels like sneakers. These Moabs go in that direction. It would be interesting taking them on a multi-day hike with a pack.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 51 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Many miles 03/03/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: daddyrules from
I bought these boots in 2009 and love them. We have hiked around 100 miles since then including Yellowstone, Tetons, Glacier, RMNP, and the Canadian Rockies. I do wish I would have bought a size larger since my toes do touch when wearing wool socks, however I have never had any blisters or soreness. They have never given me any troubles until recently. They have began to squeak with every step and its beginning to drive me crazy. The noise is coming from the rear of the shoe under my heal. Maybe I am expecting too much of a shoe that was bought in 2009, not sure, but I still love them. I just don't know how long I can put up with the squeaking...

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 59 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars 09/23/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Xcldad from
I bought my Moabs on the basis of Merrell's fine reputation, and out of the box I was very impressed. My wife and I walk about a mile and a half every morning rain or shine on streets and grass and we were tired of getting wet feet. After a month of excellent service I convinced my wife to buy a pair. She resisted initially because she didn't think they would be waterproof. I convinced her otherwise. Now after a year or so of fairly light use mine are delaminating, sole from upper, and hers are totally not waterproof. After a walk today in mild rain her feet were totally soaked. She's not happy with me. I had already given up on my Moabs and wore my $39.00 Walmart Herman boots to stay nicely dry. I give them 5 of 5. sorry Merrill. About one third the price and better quality. I have attached an image that shows the problem. The delamination extends back under the arch and it feels that a gentile tug would pull it apart completely.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 62 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 08/12/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: morganw from
Comfortable shoe. Only complaint is I can hear the gor-tex material while walking.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 54 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great hiking boot 06/09/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: aaron.mcbride from
Third pair of Moab Mid's I've owned. Great for anything from day hikes to bagging 14ers. Used these boots in parks across the western United States without any major complaints. Only issue is the breathability of the boot in warm weather. If waterproofness isn't an issue consider choosing the Moab Mid less the gore-tex membrane as it will allow your feet to breathe better in hot climates.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

27 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Moab Mid Gore-Tex 04/21/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: miguelgoertz from
Purchased my hikers with the intent of using in the mountains, carrying heavy loads while overseas. They are a great fit, extremely comfortable, and very flexible. I did not like the insoles that were provided though, for some reason they continued to slip out of place. When going over very rocky terrain, the soles did not provide enough support, and are not made to support weights of over 60 lbs over body weight. The last issue I have is that the sole has begun to tear away after a month of continual use from the toe of my left boot. As I said the boots are comfortable, but not meant for bearing heavy loads, and do not seem to be very durable. I think if I was doing casual hiking these would be great.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars I'll never go back... 01/31/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Learxst from
I used to have Hi-Tec boots. They were heavy, uncomfortable, and didn't do me much good in hot temperatures. After years of dealing with chaffed ankles, athletes foot, and blisters, I finally made the choice to get some better boots. So I talked to my friend who is always hiking whenever the trail is dry, and he recommended Merrells. I went down to the local sports store, tried them on, and fell IN LOVE WITH THEM! I can't tell anyone enough how much I love these shoes. I don't even eel them on my feet. It's like they were custom made for my feet. I'm never going to buy any other brand, and now, I have to prepare for my hike to the top of Half-Dome in Yosemite.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront