Merrell Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide

Style #: J87311W, J87701W

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (20)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $150.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Choose men's hiking boots that are supportive and durable enough to withstand years of everyday wear. The men's Moab Mid-height GORE-TEX Wide Width from Merrell is now an even better match for all seasons with the addition of an Aegis antimicrobial-treated GORE-TEX lining. Plus, with the GORE-TEX construction of a breathable mesh upper, these wide-width waterproof boots for men provide protection for anything from light summer rains to unexpectedly deep puddles. Get a grip on slippery, wet surfaces with the Vibram Multi-Sport Plus sole that increases braking power at the heel for hikes over more demanding terrain. And, enjoy hiking footwear that is not only supportive, but also comfortable enough for long treks thanks to the Merrell Air Cushion in the midsole.


UPPER/LINING
Waterproof Dura leather and mesh upper
Bellows tongue keeps debris out
Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter
GORE-TEX Performance Comfort Footwear lining protects feet and keeps them dry
Breathable mesh lining treated with Aegis® Antimicrobial solution maintains foot comfort
Ortholite anatomical footbed

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
Molded nylon arch shank
Compression molded EVA foot frame provides cushioning
Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
5mm Sole lug depth
Vibram Multi-Sport Sole/TC5+ Rubber
Weight: 1 lb. 15 ozs.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (20)

Shoe Size: 80% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


49 of 125 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Men's Moab Mid-gortex 10/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Gordon from
Great fit. Good support.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 99 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Lightest and most comfortable after more than 1000 09/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ITRoy from
I bought my Moab Mid in 2010. They were and are still the lightest and most comfortable hiking shoes I have owned. From day 1, there was no need for any break-in and the pair has remained comfortable even after 3 years of on and off pavement use. I estimate to have well over 1000 miles on these Merrells and except for the worn out soles, they are still in great shape. I recently bought a new pair of Geomorph Blaze and they are every bit as comfortable but I miss my Moab Mid. The old pair is lighter and breathes much better enhancing comfort during hot weather hikes. Still not decided if I will have the old Moabs resoled or get a new pair.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 101 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Excellent Boots 09/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: spowel4 from
These boots are excellent - they are very comfortable (I needed a wide width) and they seem like they weigh next to nothing. They are waterproof as described and so far after 3 years of wearing them for many miles on the trails they are still going strong. I had an older pair of Merrell boots that I finally decided to replace after over 10 years of use. I can only hope these boots will give me just as good service as those did. I am a Merrell customer for life and will always recommend the Merrell brand.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

53 of 109 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Strike Ratio 04/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: WODDY from
Late February I started breaking in a new pair of Mid-Moab GORE-TEX boots. I have logged 100 miles in them. On long hauls I barely noticed the weight of the shoe. The heel strike is very secure a durable. The waterproof is untouchable. Last weekend I hiked the Middle Sister Mountain of the Three Sister trail system. It rained (poured) the entire time. My socks were happy at my night time fire. My feet felt refreshed in the morning. I recommend the boot to any one who wants a highly quality trail experience.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

54 of 112 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Chief Naturalist 04/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: creekwalkr from
I bought a pair of these in 2009 and wore them everyday until February of 2013 when the lining inside wore out. Those shoes took me all over Nevada (55 miles of hiking) and then a week in Idaho and a day at Glacier National Park (80 miles of hiking). If I worked hard, I could get my feet wet, but 90% of time I had dry feet. I just ordered the replacement pair for the next several years! I work at a 16,000 nature preserve in Ohio and wore my Moabs every day, plus the summer trips. Outstanding shoe!!

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 53 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love these boots! 04/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: laurim from
They take a bit of breaking in, but the boots are great. I bought the men's size, because I couldn't get the wide in women's. They fit great, look great and I think will hold up for a long time. The customer support team member helped me figure out what I needed and I was very happy with my Merrell experience.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

27 of 53 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Good fit out of the box 04/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Michael from
I have always liked Merrell boots for the way they fit my feet. Right out of the box they are comfortable. However, if my other "waterproof" non Gore-tex version Merrell boots would actually have been waterproof, I would have had no need for these boots. Since 2 pair leaked like a sieve (I returned one pair for leaking but the replacement leaked as well) , I have now gone for the Gore-tex version. We shall see how that works out.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 55 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Dare I say my favorite hiking boot???? 03/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: army235 from
I am currently deployed in Afghanistan and for the first seven months of my tour, I wore my normal go to boots (Danner, Bates). After talking to a few people I decided to purchase the Merrell Moab Mid GORE-TEX® Wide Width boots and I have been kicking myself ever since for not buying them earlier. It is very rare to find a lightweight, waterproof, warm, comfortable, stable boot that fits my wide feet, but Merrel has accomplished it. The only reason I did not give this four stars was the sole started to pull away from where it meets up with the side of the boot in a small spot on each boot, but it was nothing that a little Shoe Goo couldn't fit.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars durability: 2 years and running !!!! 03/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: taylor wetherford from
I am a boy scout and do tons of stuff in the out doors. Short story, these boots are the best i have ever had to date. I have backpacked a little over 200 miles in these boots. I've been on 2 major trips, including Phimont, soon to be 3 this summer, and they are still holding up. Plus they are ridiculously comfortable.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

31 of 59 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 03/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Joshua from
I bought two pairs of Moabs, one waterproof and one ventilator, and they're both fantastic. I went with wides, because I beat up the pair of Chameleons I have and the store I work at on carries narrow widths. The Moabs are quite comfortable and I enjoy the stability the mid-cut offers. I anticipate purchasing more footwear from Merrell in the future.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

27 of 55 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 02/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Doesn't matter from
Excellent boot. I am wearing them on dismounted operations in RC East Afghanistan. These are great boots.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

27 of 56 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best Shoe Ever 12/27/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ksg536 from
I bought my pair in 2007 and really struggled with paying over $100 dollars for a pair of shoes. This was the best shoe investment I have ever made. I am a police officer and at the time of the purchase was a detective. I was wearing these shoes on a daily basis with many different weather conditions. I have stood in water up to the edge and my feet never got wet. They were more comfortable to walk in then any other tennis shoe that I had. I am sad to say that today after five years my feet finally got wet while on a serious traffic accident. I will be making my next purchase this week and plan on getting the same pair of shoes. Thanks Merrell for putting out a great product.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

27 of 55 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Men's Moab Mid GORE-TEX® Wide Width 11/08/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: J from
My 6th pair of Moabs. Plantar issues require that my heel doesn't move - best shoe that I've found. Wear daily. My first pair of Mids. My first short hike was good over stones and lighweight. I recommend spending the extra $15 on Gore-tex for total waterproofing.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 59 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars mighty men of Moab 10/26/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: gtrbldr from
These boots are very tough, strong, and durable, while at the same time very easy on your feet. I am a big man, over 300lbs, and I wear them about 12 hours a day. This is my second pair, the first pair lasted 2.5 years. I am impressed with their longevity, and like the dukes of Edom, I am amazed as to their stability while hauling stressful loads. “Then the dukes of Edom shall be amazed; the mighty men of Moab, trembling shall take hold upon them; all the inhabitants of Canaan shall melt away.” Exodus 15:15 When I wear my Merrell Moab boots my foot problems also melt away. Writing a review can be boring, so camping it up adds some fun. Nevertheless my review is also true.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

27 of 55 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Great Shoe 05/06/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: DK from
Dear Merrell-Team, all in all, I have to admit, that you make great shoe-work! I bought the Moab Mid Gore-Tex and also the Manistee (this one only a short time ago). The feeling and comfort is great, as well as the look. I little problem with the Moab: Once winter time is over, it's getting quite hot in there, and unfortunately the sole isn't that water (slip) resistant as I hoped it to be. The Manistee is light, fresh and very comfortably; but unfortunately both of them happen to make the same serious disturbing and annoying noise: After a couple days of wearing them, each of them began to squeak quite a lot. It feels like it's something inside the sole that causes it, mainly where the inner-sole meets the shoe's side panel. It's a squeak that you can both hear and feel. Would like to get any help with that (any suggestion for improvement), for I really like and need these shoes! Thanks, DK

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

29 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Men's Moab Mid GORE-TEX® Wide Width review 01/23/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Hocke1ja from
Bought a pair of the brown version of this hiking boot roughly 2 years ago and finally broke through the sides. Wore them everyday walking to class, outdoor hiking, and working on a variety of substrate/surfaces. Very comfortable and lightweight boot. Great traction climbing on outcrops, less desirable traction on ice. After 2 years the place on the shoe where it kinks when stepping separated at the sole. Great shoe worth the money!

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Wet right foot 09/28/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Gottabecampin from
These boots are super comfortable and stylish. I had been very happy until I had to walk through a wet field and a few small puddles. Right foot was wet. Dried them out and tested again...wet foot. On a positive note, the wet boot did not smell at all. The antimicrobal thing seems to work well. I am still a Merrell fan as I have another pair of their boots and plan to buy a pair of wilderness.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Want to like this... 09/20/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: AYO from
These boots were super comfy in the store. And for the next couple of days wearing them all day, walking in the city, and standing at work. Then, 3 days later, and continuously since then, these boots have been giving me increasingly more severe pain just above my big toe, where the crease forms when you step forward, and the front of the boot bends up. It started with the right side, but the left is suffering too now. The thing is, I was really pleased with these boots for the first couple of days, and they were totally comfortable, and easy to walk around in. Financially, I can't go buying a new pair every time I have a problem, and to be honest, I have always had trouble finding comfortable shoes to wear. That just makes this issue so much worse for me though, cause in the store, and the first couple of days they were great. Now I'm stuck, wondering if they're too big, too small, just defective, or I don't know, just not well designed. I like Merrell as a brand and have been pleased with my previous Merrell shoes. These are just really hard to deal with.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 57 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars men's moab mid gore- tex wide 06/04/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: j.sise from
Very comfortable but not waterproof - keeps feet dry from morning dew but not rain. Also lets too many pebbles into boots when hiking.I am returning my second pair.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 63 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Nice Boots 12/06/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: bmurray1 from
I really enjoyed the boots while they lasted, but unfortunately they only lasted me about 3 months, of hiking about once a week. The sole has completely seperated from the front half of the boots. If they had lasted, then they would be a 5 Star Rating, easily.

The review of the Men's Moab Mid GTX Wide was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront