Merrell Men's Moab Ventilator

Style #: J86595, J87729, J24441

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (16)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $90.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Meant to be worn on your adventure trips, these Moab Ventilator hiking shoes are made of lightweight and breathable material. The upper is made of waterproof Dura leather/mesh upper and has molded EVA footframe. A strong midsole and an aggressive Vibram outsole have been built in for maximum traction and suppleness in uneven terrain. It features padded collars, an embossed, bellows tongue keeping debris away and a lace-up detailing for snug-fit.

Dura leather and mesh upper.
Ortholite Anatomical Footbed.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out.
Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter.
Breathable mesh lining treated with Aegis Antimicrobial solution.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (16)

Shoe Size: 93% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


82 of 181 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 09/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: the4dirks from
I bought my first Moab Ventilators a year ago. They were extremely comfortable right out of the box. I am a teacher and wear them most every day. In fact, I liked them so much, that I bought a second pair this year. They are just like the first pair, very comfortable from the start. The only problem I had with the first pair was a shoelace that broke. The only place I found a replacement shoe lace is through Merrell. I would recommend these to anyone.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

93 of 174 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great shoe! 08/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mhardy06 from
The fact that I'm on my 2nd pair of Merrell probably says enough about how much I like the shoe. After a horrible experience at the Sun 'n Fun airshow in Lakeland (where you walk as much as 10 miles a day) with a competitor's shoe back in 2011 I decided not to skimp on comfort and upgraded to a Merrell Moab Ventilator. Over the course of the next year I wore those shoes out hiking, biking, and of course attending the 2012 SNF air show with no issues. I wore them pretty much daily for a year and a half. I finally replaced the shoe when the padding at the top of the heal started to seperate inside the shoe. Even though I feel like I retired them early, they made it months longer than most. I'm about 6 months into my 2nd pair (including my 3rd SNF air show) and they're doing great!

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

91 of 180 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 07/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Richard from
I have worn Merrells for years, Jungle Mocs for day to day wear, and a pair of Merrell hiking shoes whose name has disappeared over the ages, which took me across Eastern Scotland, and then became my daily exercise shoes for the last five years. The hiking shoes have finally died and I am replacing them with the Moab Ventilator. I am enjoying these shoes, great fit and comfortable from word go. I appreciate the support as I am rehabbing from plantar fascitis.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

90 of 188 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Poor Quality--Tears at the seams 06/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: joshp0222 from
I received these shoes for my birthday in February. By May, the shoes were coming apart at the seams on the insides of both shoes towards the toe. This left a hole almost completely from the outside to my foot. For a $90 shoe, I would expect a lot more than 3 months worth of use. Then the customer service people were trying to charge me to ship the shoes back to them for them to look at. Ridiculous. Stand by your product if you are going to charge big $$$ for it.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

83 of 170 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Moab Review 05/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Joe Hiker from
This is the second pair of Moabs I purchase. They are the best and I'm sure I'll be getting another pair when these ware out.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 100 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Most Comfortable Shoe EVER! 05/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: KCcuban18 from
First pair of Merrell's I've ever owned and they will not be the last. Fit perfectly!. First time I tried them was on a 10 mile hike on the Appalachian Trail and never had a single problem or ever had the "new shoe" pains that I get from most shoes. Great investment and cannot wait to try these things out in Utah soon!!

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

48 of 97 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Four Pairs of Moab Ventilator 05/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: bigseamonster from
I love these shoes. I am on my fourth or fifth pair. I have always had a hard time finding shoes that fit well and are comfortable. Once I tried these I was sold. They are tough and comfortable. They hold up well and when they get really dirty I throw them into the washing machine. I just hope you keep making this shoe. Several of my friends feel the same way about them as I do. Thanks for a good, quality product.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 99 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Fred Recupido 04/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ajrjr50 from
The Moab Ventilator is a very comfortable sneaker. It is sized as advertised. It gives my feet all the support they need as I'm walking. Even if I'm just standing still, my feet are comfortable.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

60 of 109 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Moab Ventilator (All Black) 01/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Sondra from
My husband can only wear these shoes. He has problems with his feet and with walking in general. These shoes are well made, the sole is fantastic and he wears them even for dress with a suit. We keep replacing them because there are not other shoes that have the sole that this shoe has. Amazingly comfortable and the sole makes it safe in bad weather.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 100 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best boot ever 01/07/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: MPG in MKE from
I've hiked in these to the bottom of the grand canyon twice and I never got so much as a blister. Merrell made a perfect boot and I hope they never change it for the sake of just an update like they did with the chameleon stretch, and totally ruin a good thing. Glad to see these still in production

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

46 of 95 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Not happy with the buy 01/05/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: rubiz from
I just bought yesterday my first Merrell shoes, the Moab Ventilator (J87729), I listen such good things about this brand that I had to buy ones. However after one day using this pair I feel some ankle pain on my right feet... Seems like they have some kind of difference (defect!) between left and right feet. Strange that such an expensive and well reputed brand sell shoes with this kind of issues... Probably because these pair is produced in china.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 95 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Laces 03/02/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: GJ from
While my MOAB Ventilator's have performed well, the laces have disintegrated in approximately one year. I searched my local merchants selling Merrells for replacement laces and can find none. I can't imagine we must buy new shoes because no one sells the multi-color laces for Merrells??? My laces were 54" and were Chocolate and Gold.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

45 of 95 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars N/A 01/22/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: vannpw from
I purchased this shoe in the middle of Nov. I wore the shoe for about 2 weeks and at one point was on my feet at a set of concerts for basically two days great. Up until that point, I loved these shoes and even talked two friends into getting the same ones. After the constant standing and walking, I noticed a large bruise on my heel. After examining the shoe, I noticed a defect in the insole where it had been folded over to fit into the shoe. I contacted Merrell and they said to send them in for inspection and they would replace them. It has been over 6 weeks now and I am still without a pair of shoes. Merrell never called me to update me on the status of my exchange and everytime I call them, I am given some story of how this shoe is on back order for 5 more days... then 5 days later same story. Great shoe to begin with and all my friends still love theirs... POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE IF YOU EVER HAVE A PROBLEM. Will most likely just cough up my money and go back to the Salomon's that have treated me so well in the past.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

52 of 102 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars do not buy the exact size, get a half size bigger. 08/22/2009
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: vaioy from
My feet are size 7 1/2. After reading several of the reviews here, I was convinced that I should get an exact size (7 1/2) of the Merrell Moab Ventilator (beige color). I wore the shoes for almost 2 weeks to try to 'break it in' before I went for a week long hiking trip in Newfoundland. I soon realized that I should have got a 1/2 size bigger (i.e. size 8 for me) even though I was not wearing particularly thick cotton socks for this trip. During the hiking trip my toes were constantly jammed against the front inner end of the shoes, and soon I developed bruises on the tips of my toes following my daily hikes. Sometimes, I even had to walk with all my toes bent, and walked slowly on my heels to overcome the discomfort . All in all, I should have bought a half size bigger for my feet and not listened to the advice on this site.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

53 of 101 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars do not buy the exact size, get a half size bigger. 08/22/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: vaioy from
My feet are size 7 1/2. After reading several of the reviews here, I was convinced that I should get an exact size (7 1/2) of the Merrell Moab Ventilator (beige color). I wore the shoes for almost 2 weeks to try to 'break it in' before I went for a week long hiking trip in Newfoundland. I soon realized that I should have got a 1/2 size bigger (i.e. size 8 for me) even though I was not wearing particularly thick cotton socks for this trip. During the hiking trip my toes were constantly jammed against the front inner end of the shoes, and soon I developed bruises on the tips of my toes following my daily hikes. Sometimes, I even had to walk with all my toes bent, and walked slowly on my heels to overcome the discomfort . All in all, I should have bought a half size bigger for my feet and not listened to the advice on this site.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 99 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars kite designer / R&D 01/17/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Jonathon Merrell from
I have put these shoes through absolute hell. Merrell Shoes are by far the toughest I have ever owned. I am a Merrell, and first bought a pair of mid hikers about 8 years ago mainly so I could wear my last name. I have only wore Merrell ever since. it was a warm day(60 deg F. or so) in Feb two years ago the I got my first Ventilators. when I stepped out of the local shop I immediately felt a nice cool breeze through out my feet. Nice! I was a bit worried about the strength of the vents. Well after a year and a half of mt.boarding, kite ground boarding and doing 20-30 foot beach jumps with my kite on sand mud hard pack and submerged in water. they are still my back up shoes. I now have another pair and plan to replace them with the mid height before leaving with my son (5) and brother on a 5 month trek to Costa Rica and back. There are many videos on my website proving the "ABSOLUTE HELL" that I put my Merrell footwear through on a day to day basis. PROPS TO MERRELL!!! I have Merrell's for all seasons. - See more at: http://www.merrell.com/US/en-US/Product.mvc.aspx/12006M/0/Mens/Moab-Ventilator#sthash.q4SGq1Ah.dpuf

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15

Recommended
For You:

Allen-Edmonds Men's Grayson
Allen-Edmonds Men's Grayson
$385.00
Allen-Edmonds Men's Ashton
Allen-Edmonds Men's Ashton
$385.00
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront