Merrell Men's Moab Ventilator Mid

Style #: J86593

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (17)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $99.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Kick those hard and difficult tasks away with this Moab Ventilator Mid shoes from Merrell's Multi-Hike collection. It features Dura leather and mesh upper that maintains it's sturdiness while synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter guards your feet. it's breathable mesh lining treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution keeps your feet dry and odorless. The Ortholite anatomical footbed and molded nylon arch shank provide comfort with breathability. Merrell QForm Comfort midsole offers women's specific stride-sequenced cushioning with Merrell air cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability to your walk. The Vibram Multi-Sport sole or TC5 plus rubber provide superior traction for more demanding terrain.

Dura leather and mesh upper.
Ortholite Anatomical Footbed.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out.
Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter.
Breathable mesh lining treated with Aegis Antimicrobial.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (17)

Shoe Size: 64% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


75 of 139 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Outstanding comfort 09/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: hotrodcwby from
I live in Southern New Mexico and was looking for a lightweight and comfortable pair of boots for everyday wear. These boots have exceeded my expectations in fit and comfort, the fact that they go great with jeans is also nice. Thanks for a great product.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

71 of 133 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Quality Boots for Overseas or Stateside 09/19/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Chris L. from
I wore these downrange in Afghanistan as walk-arounds and loved them so much I kept wearing them back stateside. I previously wore the lower-cut version but I needed ankle support so I bought these. Without a doubt these were the best shoes for my feet - my feet sweat a lot in the heat, and the ventilators helped keep them cool when paired with appropriate socks. Once I came back stateside I started hiking again and I've taken these all over the US, from Colorado to Virginia, from Maine to Tennessee. These are solid, reliable boots, and they run pretty true to your tennis shoe sizing (I wear a 12 in New Balance, and I wear a 12 in Merrel. Works out well!).

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

67 of 134 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great boot!! 07/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: John from
This boot did not disappoint- it lived up to the reviews and was comfortable from the first time I put them on. They are light weight and cool in the heat (living in FL that is needed). The sizing was smaller than expected based on all of the other Merrel shoes I have had.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

61 of 121 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best boots...EVER!!! 07/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mxcnvida from
I had previously bought the below-ankle version of these boots three years ago, and was absolutely happy with the purchase. However, being back in Afghanistan required a new set, so this time I ordered the boot version. Needless to say, the shoes were without peer, and needed no "break in" period. Even better, the pair I received happened to have a small tear on it. Without hassle, the Customer Service department was able to quickly ship me a new pair in exchange for the original pair. Customer service was without a doubt one of the best that I have received. You have a customer for life. Highly recommended.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

61 of 125 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars great boot 04/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jkidwell from
This is by far the best boot you will find for the $. Great value! I have owned my pair for 2 years. I wear them to work everyday in a construction setting. 40-60hrs a week for 2 years and they are just now beginning to break down a bit. Im actually here to shop for another pair. Great job MERRELL on a great boot! You have a very happy customer. Maybe you fine folks at MERRELL could construct a true work boot? If so, I'd be first in line. Just an idea

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 76 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Bummed out 03/29/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Ferniesp from
These shoes were good for about a week and once broken in, they are very uncomfortable. Feet felt cold all of the time, water was a problem. The shoe gets flimsy over time and this really effects the fit. I had to tie my laces a different way every time I put them on. The shoe is just too light for me when it comes to build quality. I need a stronger, former shoe that doesn't stretch over time. Customer service, lets work something out. These shoes are just sitting in the closet collecting dust. I don't have my receipt and Sports Authority won't take them back. In summary, you get what you pay for. It's best to buy the more expensive Merrell for the long run. That is what I did.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 02/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: eagleeye421 from
I bought these boots for a summer deployment to afghanistan and was very impressed with how cool they kept my feet and how well the sole stood up in the jagged rocky mountainous regions. they required no break in period and are beyond lightweight and comfortable. I wear them everyday. my only complaint is that ive only had them 8 months and one of the "eyelets" broke, this is very disappointing as there is hardly visible wear to the sole yet. the only thing I would change about this boot is sturdier eyelets.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

38 of 72 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Men's Moab Ventilator Mid -See size comments 01/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits full size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Don in VA from
This is a great boot - lightweight and comfortable. I generally wear a size 13 dress shoe and a size 14 in skechers; in this boot I required a size 15. I wish the boot was available in brown.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

44 of 84 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 12/15/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Larry from
My Moab Ventilator Mids were a great purchase. I was able to use them out of the box without any problem. They have served well while doing long desert hikes in Arizona, and now that I am in Southern Colorado they are even better. I have never used a better pair of boots in Canyonlands NP. Now that I am experiencing my first winter back in Colorado in some time I need the Gore Tex version. My current pair are plenty warm enough but not waterproof. For 20+ years Merrell's have been my "go to" boot. My kids are now wearing them with great success.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

36 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars fit like a glove 11/19/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: nblackburn from
These boots are the best boots I've ever owned. The fit out of the box felt like a pair of sneakers. I wear these boots almost everyday and they go good with about any pair of clothing, at least in my opinion. I've worn the boots on ruck marches w/ a 50+ pound ruck and it was like walking on air. I recently just ordered the Chameleon4 mid to see how I like those. I will buy another pair of the Moab Ventilator! Only con, after a year of wear, I noticed the front of the boots are separating from the sole. I still wear them even w/ the deficiency, that's how comfortable they are. I would like to know if that has happened to others in the past before I buy another pair or if I had a defective pair. I'll be going to Afghanistan in the spring and plan on taking a couple pairs.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 71 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 09/13/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: rdvlkwik from
I ordered these boots while deployed to Afghanistan. Right out of the box they were the most comfortable boots I have ever owned. I have worn them on over a hundred missions through some pretty rugged country, walked through canals, through muddy poppy fields, and up mountains all with over 70 pounds of kit on. They give superior support and have withstood the beating pretty well. I will always wear Merrells from now on.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 74 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Moab Ventilators 08/11/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Lucky Bruce from
Just got these yesterday from my local Gander Mt. They feel great so far and are light and airy. I would say you should buy a half or whole size larger than you normally wear.I usually wear 10 or 10.5 but these are 11's.Can't give them 5 stars until I hike in them.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 73 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered 01/24/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Cheezy from
Just got a pair 2 weeks ago. Yah man good call!! I push and haul heavy loads 5 days a week on concrete and my feet were killing me. Was wearing Converse work boots but my foot doctor said to give Merrell's a go, so I did. Love the all around comfort, traction and breathability. Come spring here in WI. trail running and mountain biking will test the rest of the boots performance. MY DOGS THANK YOU FOR A GREAT BOOT.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars So so 10/26/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: lost19 from
i had this boots for about 2 months ,they are fairly comfortable and have very good traction, but your feet get wet from walking on wet grass in the morning or get full of sand if you walk on the soft stuff .always come home with dirty soxs. i guess i got the wrong shoes for hiking

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 80 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Not Happy 08/18/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: EBo Houston from
I love Merrell shoes. I have worn their sandals and boots for 15 years. After about 8 years and an upcoming trip to Colorado looming, I purchased a new pair of Moab Ventilator's. After two phenominal hikes, the boot failed. I got caught on a root and the synthetic leather toe cap tore open. Not what I expected from a Merrell shoe and definitely not at the toe cap (maybe on the mesh but not there). Needless to say the rest of the trip was less enjoyable as I had to be careful to ensure no water entered the boot. Two stars for the soles. The vibram soles offer excellent grip both on the way up an down a 14ner. Fortunately Zappos took them back without question but the search begins for a new pair (thank goodness I still have the old ones).

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars 08/22/2010
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Doug Wynne from
I am a loyal Merrell customer and really like the products I've purchased until now. The Moab Ventilator Mid is categorized as ultra light but may be to light and more useful as a casual shoe. I have found that the shoe stretches and gives a little too much on rocky hikes or any distances over 5 miles with high angle ascent/descent. The culprit seems to be the soft sole especially in the forward area where the ball of the foot is engaged. This particular section has actually caused blisters and acute pain on all 3 occasions of use. The shoes are comfortable but I cannot recommend them for any hikes over rock or uneven surfaces. After using them just 3 times they will be relegated to rainy day street use. I will still purchase Merrell products but will be more careful before buying.

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Military Advisor 01/22/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user57 from
I wore the Moab Ventilator Mid in Fallujah, Iraq for 6-months during spring and summer. The temperature was almost 125-degrees on the hottest days. The Moabs kept my feet dry from perspiration and performed well on all types of terrain including gravel, sand and asphalt. I also use them for working out at the gym, including walking on the treadmill! I'm returning to Iraq or Afghanistan within the next 60-days and I have ordered another pair of the Moab Ventilator Mid, because Merrell recommends them for both hot and cold climates. I give the Moab a 5-star rating for use in extremely hot & dry weather (if I deploy to Afghanistan and they also perform well in cold & wet weather, I'll give them a 6-star rating).

The review of the Men's Moab Ventilator Mid was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront