Merrell Men's Moab Waterproof

Style #: J88629, J88621

Average Customer Review 4 out of 5 stars (23)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $110.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

The Moab Waterproof hiking shoes are a highly durable and comfortable option designed for exceptional outdoor performance. It features Leather and mesh uppers with superb reflective detailing, embossed, padded tongue, a unique lace-up closure which adds to the toughness of this hiking shoe. The excellent cushioning and better traction with its Merrell Air Cushion midsoles along with 5mm sole lug depth and Vibram Multisport sole makes this a must have style.

Waterproof Dura leather and mesh upper.
Ortholite anatomical footbed.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out.
Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter.
Waterproof membrane treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution.

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
Molded nylon arch shank
Compression molded EVA foot frame provides cushioning
Merrell air cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
5mm sole lug depth
Vibramฎ Multi-Sport Sole/TC5+ Rubber
Weight: 1 lb 8 ozs

Customer Reviews 4 out of 5 stars (23)

Shoe Size: 78% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


94 of 177 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Disappointing 10/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Olaf from
I have only had these for about 6 months and the toe cap is starting to separate from the soles on both shoes. The toe cap material is also starting to fray in that area as well. With the bad aside, the fit, comfort, traction, and water resistance are spot on.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

82 of 170 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Super comfortable, durable and great all around sh 09/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Joseph from
Great shoes! I have tested the waterproofing many times and my feet continue to stay dry. These shoes are very comfortable to use as an all around shoe. One thing to note though is that the Moab waterproof runs a half size smaller than most other brands so make sure you try them on first. I am really hard on shoes and they seem to be holding up on the inside and out of the shoe really well. I will definitely buy another pair of Merrell shoes when the time comes.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

87 of 169 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 08/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mark from
Many other people have mentioned an issue with the shoe laces. I have not encountered this problem yet. Either they need to relearn how to tie their laces or Merrell has corrected this issue. I have had these shoes now for about three weeks. I've had a 2 day hike in which they handled differing terrain types very nicely; from sand, to rock, to loose gravel I found good traction on all terrains. The water proofing was magnificent. Most everyone with me had wet feet, mine were dry. That being said I wouldn't go stomping through a creek in them and expect them to stay dry. I play disc golf and have been desperately searching for a new shoe to use for this sport. I will look no further than Merrell.com from now on. These have incredible traction on the tee pad; whether the tee is concrete, dirt, or a composite rubber mat. I have had no issue with my feet slipping in wet grass on fairway drives either. In more than 20 years of play, this is the greatest shoe I've ever played in. As others have mentioned this particular model does run a half to a full size smaller than its sizing because of the waterproofing. I realized that AFTER placing my order and was still able to get the size from my order changed before shipping. FANTASTIC customer service.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

88 of 169 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Hiking Shoe 08/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Rallyray from
Never owned Merrill shoes before. Needed a hiking shoe for a trip to Iceland. Bought these 5 days before the trip and wore then around town to break them in. They performed great on the trip. I wore them everyday, 12-15 hours per day for 8 days. They are very comfortable Very good grip. Did not have a chance to test their waterproof quality as it did not rain. I wear a 11.5-12 medium shoe, bought a size 12 and they fit fine.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

89 of 177 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Shoes. long lasting 08/07/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TonyD. from
I've had these shoes for a little over three years. They have stood the test of every season in New England and constant wear. They have held together well. I should buy another pair but these fit too good.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars This shoes make my feet sweat 04/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nick from
I bought Merrell Moab waterproof shoes from Dicks Sporting Goods based on the feedback of this site. They advertise it as ventilated! They fit perfect and they are comfortable except one thing which you realize after a while. They make you sweat really bad and I am not the only one who says this if you read the reviews. Even though I emailed Merrell folks and asked whether they could offer me a solution like an exchange with a better ventilated pair of shoes, I haven't gotten any response yet. This is not cool! I wish I could have given the same kind of positive feedback like some other people. At this point, I do not recommend you to buy Merrell Moab Waterproof shoes if you do not want sweaty feet.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 70 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars MOAB Waterproof 03/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mikehoncho1077 from
So far, I am VERY pleased with the Merrell MOAB Waterproof shoe. The shoes arrived quickly and were exactly what I was looking for in regards to price, feel, size, and color. Also, I wear alot of police/contractor apparel whereby this shoe matches perfectly with that style and function. I think after ordering this pair of Merrell's, the MOAB will become my personal shoe of choice for awhile.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

36 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great hiking boot 03/17/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: CA.Rednecks from
I have had this shoe for just under a year now and I can't say enough good things about it. I generally wear my Moab's on day hikes and working as a volunteer maintaining state park trails. I have stepped in mud puddles, submerged my feet in creeks, and traipsed across hot asphalt. After all this my feet were dry, ventilated, and happy. My only complaint is the tread can become a little slippery, especially after walking through a little mud. However, this is relatively minor for the terrain I usually traverse. I would recommend these shoes for any weekend warriors and those looking for. Great all-around outdoor activity shoe. Great job Merrell!

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Moab Waterproof 01/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Hiker from
Overall good comfortable shoe.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 01/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: PH1213 from
These are the 3rd pair of Merrell shoes I bought for my husband. He has never had a problem with them and they're very comfortable. They're very good in the snow. I would definitely recommend these shoes.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars 12/21/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Bald Eagle from
I purchased these in May, they are the most comfortable shoe I have ever worn. The waterproofing unfortunately I cannot praise, because after 4 months of daily wear, they are no longer waterproof.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

30 of 61 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 11/30/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: UP61 from
Not used to a heavier shoe but these are pretty comfortable. I have had them for about 2 months. Sizing seems to be correct, and a good fitting shoe (not a sloppy fit) Only thing that doesn't live up to the description is the waterproof. They are much more water tight then a regular old shoe and warmer but somewhere close to the soles on the sides I do end up getting wet from time to time.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 74 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Men's Moab Waterproof 11/21/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: John from
Love these shoes, fit great and feel awesome. I would order these again.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 71 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Waterproof = half size larger 11/14/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: yeiser1 from
A 10 in the ventilator model fits fine but after I wore the waterproof model for a while it became obvious they were a tad too small. I went into a local retailer to try on a 10.5 and they fit right. So, just a heads up, I believe the waterproof lining requires a 1/2 size larger. Overall, great show though! I've worn it in standing water and snow with out feeling cold or wet. Very comfortable daily shoe!

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 68 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Magic laces 11/05/2012
Shoe Size: Fits full size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jtulley from
I really like the shoes. You will need to buy them about 1 size larger than normal. The only down side is the magic laces. They will not stay laced up even if you double them up they still find a way to make you tie them at least 1 extra time.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 64 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 06/27/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Stephen B. from
I already had two pair of Merrell Mid Waterproof boots for the winter, one Radland and one Outland. They are so comfortable I found myself wearing them for my walks this summer instead of my Cross Trainers, so I decided to get a pair of Moabs. They fit so perfectly that the first time I wore them I walked 7.5 miles, and the very next day, 10 miles. Now I wear them all the time, including for my workouts at the Fitness Ctr. I'm about to ordered another pair, just in case they stop making them. (please don't)

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 66 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Its a great shoe 06/22/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mohanraj from
I am from India. I got the Moab Waterproof from bangalore central mall on August 2009 and still I am using it without any issues.. I am using this all kind of weekend activities.. Merrell is always great..

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 69 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars moab waterproof hiking shoes 04/30/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: europer from
I just returned from a trip in Europe that required a lot of walking. The shoes themselves were constructed well, and were comfortable with one exception: The moab waterproof hiking shoes are promoted as being BREATHEABLE. They are NOT breathable. Had i known how hot these shoes are I would not have brought them with me. It wasn't just me either. Another person in our group had the same experience. No breathability at ALL. This is misrepresentation of Merrell's product and should not be advertised as such. As a result I had to resort to my running shoes, thank God I brought them along with me, as I could not wear the Merrells without getting such hot feet that they were soaking wet from sweat, and I got a blister. Promote them for what they are....waterproof yes, breathable absolutely not. I cannot recommend this shoe based on this problem.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great all around shoe, except for the laces... 02/24/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Ryan B. from
I'm a first time Merrell buyer, but these shoes made a believer out of me! These are by far the most comfortable hiking shoes I've ever had. The traction is incredible and the stability over rough terrain is fantastic. The only downside I noticed to these are the laces that come with them. Like another reviewer said, the laces are coated in something (probably for waterproofing) and come untied very easily. I found out early on to double knot them and check them regularly. I may end up buying new laces for these as it can be annoying having them come undone often. Aside from the laces though (a small downside in my eyes), these are a great buy!!

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

33 of 69 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars will last a very long time 01/09/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: DirkM from
I'm 225 pounds and I've had mine for several years and they are holding up great. They still look fine and the vibram sole is very tough, showing little wear. I wear mine for everything from fishing to weekend activities, to motorcycling. I'm tough on footwear and these hikers have become a great bargain for the money. I wear them year round. Have used them in the desert, snow, you name it. I'm on the Merrell site now because I'm looking for a heavier duty pair of hikers and feel that I'm likely to get quality, comfort and durability again. Worth the money and can't say enough about the soles. The only thing I changed were the laces, as I like a stiffer, heavier duty lace.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 77 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Good Walking Shoes 11/08/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Saltwater Road from
I live in a rainforest with an annual rainfall of 80-90 inches per year depending on who is reporting the stats. I use these shoes mainly for exercise, but find myself wearing them on my off time and on the weekends too because they are very comfortable. They have proven to be waterproof under the circumstances where I use them most, which is on improved trails and running around the property and downtown. I prefer boots for serious hiking, especially around here where low top shoes don't work as well. But, back to the review, the comfort is very good. The quality seems to be outstanding. The tread is aggressive enough to handle steep trails and the muck and moss that comes with some of the less improved trails around here. The overall weight of each shoe is actually very good considering they are gore-tex. The flexibility of the footbed and sole is very good. I prefer lighter more flexible footwear under most circumstances unless I am in rugged terrain carrying gear. These and my other lightweight Merrell hikers fit the bill. I will comment on Merrell as a company too. I own multiple pairs of Merrells and have been wearing Merrell footwear almost exclusively for the last 10-12 years. I like the fit, construction, materials, and mostly, I like the response of Merrell's customer service. Out of the two dozen pairs of hikers and a few more pairs of cross trainer shoes, I have had two pairs that had leaks in one shoe and gotten prompt service to correct or replace the boots. I recommend Merrell's boots and shoes for two reasons, good quality, and great customer service.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 67 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 06/27/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user_161345 from
Very good shoe for modest hiking and to take on vacations where a lot of walking will be involved. My second buy of this same shoe. Merrill did a good job of replacing my original order when I found that I had ordered the wrong shoe by mistake.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

32 of 66 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars I like the style but wish I knew about the fitting 02/23/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: outdoorsR4ME from
My history with Merrell goes back to 1986. I've enjoyed their shoes and turned many of my friends onto their comfort. The Moab is the perfect style for my latest outdoor adventure so I selected them in an exchange through Merrell Customer Service. They're great folks and I enjoyed working with them to resolve my issues. In the past I've purchased size 13 without a problem but over the last year or so this size hasn't been working out. Are they making their shoes smaller? All my [other brand] shoes are just fine at 13. I'd suggest buying a half to whole size larger.

The review of the Men's Moab Waterproof was written on merrel.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront