Merrell Men's Moab WP Wide

Style #: J88621W

Average Customer Review 4 out of 5 stars (20)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $110.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

A lattice-like overlay of Dura leather strapping supports and protects while enhancing the open-window venting of the waterproof, breathable mesh upper that is a Merrell mark. Full bumper protection at the toe and around the heel. Proven Vibram® Multi-Sport sole with TC5+ rubber compound for grip and durability.

UPPER/LINING
• Waterproof Dura leather and mesh upper
• Bellows tongue keeps debris out
• Synthetic leather toe cap and heel counter
• Waterproof membrane treated with Aegis® antimicrobial solution provides an impermeable but breathable barrier
• Ortholite® anatomical footbed

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
• Molded nylon arch shank
• Compression molded EVA footframe provides cushioning
• Merrell air cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
• 5mm sole lug depth
• Vibram® Multi-Sport Sole/TC5+ Rubber
• Weight: 1 lb 8 ozs

Customer Reviews 4 out of 5 stars (20)

Shoe Size: 70% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


40 of 82 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars WOW!! 08/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Sofasst from
I have worked as an SRO for the last 8 years and had always worn tennis shoes to work due to the concrete and bad feet! My supervisor recommended Merrell shoes and said they were the most comfortable shoes he's ever worn. I know what he's talking about now! School just started back for the year and this is the first time my feet haven't been killing me every afternoon since I started here. The Moab is by the far the most comfortable shoe I've ever worn and I will be wearing Merrell shoes to work from now on.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

34 of 77 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Started to really hurt my feet 08/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: RandyP from
I bought these shoes about 9 months ago. Wore them inside until I felt I could say they were good enough to keep. They were very comfortable for about a month and I started to notice that my feet would just start killing me after walking in them. Also, the laces NEVER stay tied. That may seem like a minor issue, but even with double knots they just continually come loose. The waterproofing seems good. I can walk in tall wet grass (short distances!) and not get wet feet, but I can't stand to wear them anymore. Also, they do seem to breathe ok. Just wish I could wear them for more than an hour. I had hoped to hike in them and that just isn't going to happen.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best shoes I've ever worn! 08/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Sochable from
Each of has only one pair of feet, and I believe it best to take good care of them. I have been wearing these Moab GTX shoes for a month, and I LOVE THEM! I wear them all day long, and my feet are comfortable the entire period. I recently walked in wet grass with these shoes, and my feet stayed dry -- no wet toes and socks. They are exceptionally well constructed. The soles are as durable as a truck tire and will probably out-live me. Without a doubt, these are the best and most comfortable shoes I have ever worn. I would rate them SIX STARS, However, the system allows only a five-star maximum. Do your feet a favor and give them a gift of Merrell Moab GTX shoes!

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

38 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 07/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mikey from
A very comfortable shoe! I love it for hiking or working in the yard. I am always happy with Merrell products, and these are no exception.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 77 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Feet+Moab = Comfort 05/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: 1lunydad from
As a teacher I am on my feet constantly. These are my 1st pair of Merrell but not my last. And thank you for the excellent customer service when I returned my original pr for wide (fat) width. 1LD

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Waterproofing failed 05/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jmb37 from
I purchased this shoe in September 2011 to keep my feet from getting wet from the grass when I walked my dog in the mornings. Worked great for a year and half (except for the liner that would always pull out of the shoe every time I took my feet out), until about a month ago when my feet/socks starting getting soaking wet during the walk. Completely unacceptable for a "waterproof" shoe. I've owned two pairs of Merrells before this- the jungle moc, which I loved and lasted forever, and a hiking boot which I also love and is still going strong. However, I got this shoe for the waterproofing, and it has failed. Very dissatisfied with this shoe. Hopefully, Merrell will come in and explain why the waterproofing failed after wearing for just 20 minutes every morning for just a year and a half.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Good All-Round Shoe 04/17/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ashdec87 from
I've had these shoes for about 3-4 months now. At first I was a little skeptical because they didnt feel right when I walked with them. But I think the shoe needed a little time to wear in, because now I couldnt be happier. The waterproofing works a lot better than I expected based on some of the comments. The other day we had an outdoor party when some large rainstorms came through. The area with the tent flooded with about 2-3 inches of water and I was the only one with dry feet even though the shoes were submerged! I did notice that the outer part did stay damp for a while, and the next morning I felt a bit of moisture inside the shoe. Once I started walking, they dried fairly quick. The sole is showing very little wear even though I do mostly city walking, and they have excellent traction on muddy hills. I normally wear size 12, but with these shoes, I could probably make do with a 11.5. Right now I have to tighten the laces a little too much. But I will buy another pair if this ever wears out! My only complaint is that they are somewhat insulated, so they can get a little warm if you arent moving enough to ventilate the show. I originally thought they didnt breath well, but then I started wearing (thin) wool socks and realized it was a cotton sock issue, not a problem with the shoe. Overall very happy and will buy again!

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars comfortable shoe, but . . . 12/11/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: tom from
Purchased a pair of Moab "waterproof" shoes for a trip to Alaska. I found them to be very comfortable right out of the box. I could walk on them all day carrying a light pack and still found them to be exceptionally comfortable. Please note however, that these shoes are simply NOT waterproof! Perhaps water-resistant for a short period of time, but definitely NOT waterproof. I could have saved a fair amount of money by simply buying a less expensive pair of shoes and coating them with a silicon waterproofing spray which one can find in any sporting goods store. They are comfortable though.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 50 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Men's Moab Waterproof Wide Width 11/02/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: zvc from
These are the third pair of Merrell shoes I own (two casual pairs). I like all of them very much. Merrell shoes -- any of them, so far -- are the only ones I can wear eight to ten hours on my feet, and remain perfectly comfortable, so I can concentrate on work rather on how my feet feel. I like the looks of the Refuge Core Ventilator better than the Moab, but, as I said, I'm happy with the Moab as well. They both provide excellent support all around, specially at the soles, which is very important to me. When a pair of Merrell wears out, I intend to purchase another one. I hope Merrell will continue to offer the Moab Waterproof and will bring back the Refuge Core Ventilator, both on 7 1/2 wide. I prefer to buy directly from Merrell, since I have received outstanding customer support. I recommend these shoes without hesitation.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Really, really comfortable! 10/13/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Gasser from
Received my new moab waterproof shoes 3 weeks ago and have worn them each day since. Out of the box, clearly the most comfortable shoe I have purchased in many years. i use them for outdoor sports...the waterproofing is excellent, especially for heavy early morning dew. (I would like to see the same shoe in a less aggressive tread for a general walking shoe.) I intend to purchase another pair to have on hand.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Not waterproof so not worth the money 03/06/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: By jchamby from
Going to school in the Adirondacks requires good waterproof shoes, especially my major in which I am outside a lot. I have owned 3 or 4 pairs of the Moab Gore-Tex and the only problem I have ever had with them was that where the shoe meets the rubber part at the front of the shoe has always separated and come apart but never a problem with the waterproofness. I bought the Moab Waterproof because the store did not have any Gore-tex ones in stock. The shoes felt the same as the Gore-tex ones, but at the end of the first day that I wore them, my feet looked and felt as if they had been soaking in water all day, so they are either not waterproof (which I suspect is the case) or they REALLY do not breathe. I am going to return the shoes if they take them and might buy a pair of the Gore-tex ones but I will also be looking at other brands, and if the store does not take them back then I will have to contact merrel directly.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Very Painful Feet after 4 days of wear 02/29/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: F150DAD1977 from
Looked nice, felt nice, until 4 days and now my feet are hurting every step I take on carpet!!

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars feel great but not too durable 02/22/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Glazoo from
This is my fourth pair in a row of Merrill boots and I've been a big fan of the durability and comfort of Merrell shoes. I really thought that I had found the brand of boots I would forever be wearing. My first two pairs lasted over a year of everyday wear and felt as good as new for all that time. My third pair felt a little “off” and didn't last too long, but I just chalked it up an anomaly. I've had these boots for about 5 months now and I've been extremely happy with them until recently. They still feel great, but the sole is de-laminating at the toe as well as around the edges. I have worn them almost every day, but I'm disappointed that they seem to be on the way out already

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars A shoe to travel far and WIDE 12/05/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ssoesbe(San Francisco, CA) from
Love the fit & feel, and while I would love a little more style out of my go to waterproof hiking shoe, I accept the function over fashion that is clearly applied here. I only wish Merrell made more wide width shoes! I've had my pair for 4 months and have logged several extended hiking trips and rainy city urban adventures that have tested their limits regarding moisture, and honestly have had awesome results. I also use these heavily for disc golf here in SF as well, where these shoes are the perfect grip and tread for the terrain. Overall an excellent shoe!

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars awesome shoes 08/23/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jsparky49 from
I am not just impressed, I am amazed. I work in a fish processing plant and while I'm not out on the floor much when I am I have to wear rubber boots that I hate. Well not anymore!!! These are every bit as comfortable as the ventilators right out of the box. I love them and will be buying a spare pair soon.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars awesome shoes 08/23/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jsparky49 from
I am not just impressed, I am amazed. I work in a fish processing plant and while I'm not out on the floor much when I am I have to wear rubber boots that I hate. Well not anymore!!! These are every bit as comfortable as the ventilators right out of the box. I love them and will be buying a spare pair soon.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 44 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 6 month follow up 06/20/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: beetlebz from
after 6 months I went from a 5 star to a 4 star, primarily due to the seams either side of the toes coming apart. Just a tiny bit, and from 6 months of beating the ever living stuffing out of them. Its not a big deal, it just lets water in when I take the pooch hiking. All in all, they have held up far better than any other daily wear shoe, and this one gets the abuse from hiking several times a week as well. Im not a small guy by any standards, and im still quite pleased. Maybe a new pair for hiking is in order, but for daily wear they arent going anywhere anytime soon.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars confused 05/30/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: markmoll from
over the last 3 years ive owned 2 pair of the mens moab wide width size 8.5 in the light brown color. i wear them every day (work and play). when i went to reorder my 3rd pair of the same shoe, i saw they had finally made it in a water-proof version. then when i looked closer, i saw actually TWO new moab water-proof versions, this one which is $100 and the gore-tex moab wide which is $120. i ordered the $120 gore-tex, wore them for 2 days and decided they did not feel as soft and comfy as my 2 previous regular moab's, so i returned them for this version thinking it would have the old familiar soft PERFECT feel, since it does look more like the original moab in the image.. long story short, im happy with the $100 shoe on this page, and ill keep it, but it STILL feels slightly less supple than the old non-waterproof version right when comparing them out of the box. so im not sure what the material/design reasons are for the difference, but i do prefer the feel of my old moab wides over this waterproof update. by the way i havent had them long enough to get them soaking wet, so i cannot comment on the water-proofness of the shoe, or what the practical difference really is between this $100 waterproof moab versus the $120 gore-tex moab. overall i love my merrells and im just happy merrell makes an 8.5 WIDE shoe and waterproof (hopefully!) to boot! :)

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Nice Tread, Not so nice waterproofing 03/27/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: The Puma from
These shoes fit my feet really well and are comfortable right out of the box. The first set I owned were the non-waterproof style and also were very comfortable. I thought I'd upgrade this time and get the waterproof set but I'm disappointed. Went on two major hikes this week and both times my feet were wet. Living in the Northeast it's pretty swampy this time of year (late March). I would recommend saving the extra money on the waterproof version and just purchase the regular non-waterproof version. I do like the tread on this hiking shoes, it's the most aggressive I've owned.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Nice Tread, Not so nice waterproofing 03/27/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: The Puma from
These shoes fit my feet really well and are comfortable right out of the box. The first set I owned were the non-waterproof style and also were very comfortable. I thought I'd upgrade this time and get the waterproof set but I'm disappointed. Went on two major hikes this week and both times my feet were wet. Living in the Northeast it's pretty swampy this time of year (late March). I would recommend saving the extra money on the waterproof version and just purchase the regular non-waterproof version. I do like the tread on this hiking shoes, it's the most aggressive I've owned.

The review of the Men's Moab WP Wide was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront