Merrell Men's Proterra Sport

Style #: J40993

Average Customer Review 4 out of 5 stars (21)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $100.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Enjoy the great outdoors and anywhere you roam in the Merrell Proterra Sport sneaker. Featuring stitch less, seamless uppers, a supportive foot cage, lace-up fastening, metallic eyelets, a pull-on tab, an embossed tongue collar and a cushioned footbed, it's a lively pair for every foot. This pair is extremely comfortable and provides better traction.

Breathable mesh upper.
Strobel construction.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out Protective TPU rand and toe cap.
EVA removable footbed treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution.
Fabric upper provides a glove like fit for lightweight durability and natural movement.

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
4mm Drop / 10mm Cush / 21mm Stack Height
Molded TPU arch shank
Minimal design PU midsole increases ground contact and enhances stability
2.5mm sole lug depth
Merrell Proterra Sole / Sticky Rubber

Men's Weight: 1lb 7oz

Customer Reviews 4 out of 5 stars (21)

Shoe Size: 80% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


53 of 111 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars not my favorite 09/12/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: cmas from
I was really excited to see a new line of Merrell's that cut some of the bulk of the traditional hiking shoes down and kept the rugged durability I have come to expect from any Merrell produc, but I was highly disappointed after only a few times wearing the shoe. The design of the shoe created major pains in my knees and hips and only after wearing the proterra.I have owned many different models of Merrell's over the years and found this too be a very rare exception of a purchase I was not 100% satisfied with. After a an email to customer service they swapped my slightly worn proterras for an old favorite in the Moab. As usual Merrell stepped up and made it right and kept an old customer happy as I will continue to support and buy my shoes from Merrell in the future.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

54 of 117 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Very comfortable right out of the box 09/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jlf from
I bought these for everyday wear when sandals are no longer possible. The color is Dove gray/Mars- very nice. I needed a wider toe box and the Merrell service reps. steered me to Proterra as an option. I find them to be extremely comfortable on first wear, the arch support is in the right spot, the fit it good, the shoe is very lightweight. Have yet to test on wet road but did not slip on wet vinyl flooring! I have wide toe area not necessarily wide foot in general (duck feet?) and the most difficult part of shoe buying is the toe box. The toe box on these could still be a little bigger but the best I've found so far. Can you sell them in a nice caramel brown sometime?

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

58 of 116 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great Shoe, please make a water resistant or water 08/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Dan from Michigan from
I love these shoes, but my feet get we a lot in them. For the winter, it would be nice to have a version that is waterproof, in a similar way that the sonic glove is.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

56 of 114 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars HOME RUN SHOES! 08/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: bobisliving from
I got these shoes based on reviews of them being wider than normal. I have wider feet and I really love minimal/barefoot footwear. I have struggled finding hiking shoes, and these fit the bill! They fit perfect right out of the box, are stiff enough to feel great on a trail, but minimal enough to get a decent ground feel. I am so glad I purchased these! I will probably get the mid model next! :) Thanks Merrell

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

55 of 111 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Footwear Sales Representative 08/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Ryder from
So darn close but no cigar. All I have to say about them is I loveD them with a capital D. The material was awesome, the soles were awesome, the design again awesome. There are things that made me return them. The structural parts at the toe end of the laces dug into my foot, and didnt break in after a month or two, and the Aegis liner wore down really quickly and that wore through my $15 smartwool PHD socks extremely quick. Would I buy a new pair, yes, when they fix those two things

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Heal to low on the Proterra Sport 07/31/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TMOD from
I am getting ready for my African adventure and need a great hiking, lightweight, gore-tex shoe. I thought the Proterra Sport with Gore-Tex would be perfect. I had the local Moosejaw store here in Chicago order me the shoe and I tried it on last night. I brought 3 different widths of socks and upon trying it on with all three, the shoe fit great, all around the toe, and width of the shoe, but then the heal part is where it failed. The heal to this shoe is real short and so when you walk your heal tends to come out of the shoe. I was really bummed because I loved the look, lightness and the fit around the front part of the shoe. But if only Merrell can take this review as I talked to the sales rep and I was not the only customer who had this complaint which made them also not buy them. Now don't get me wrong one of the managers said he bought the shoe and loves them...So maybe they can remake the shoe for people like myself and the other customers where the heal can fit comfortably in the shoe.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars awesome shoe, ooooone little problem 07/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: poor_ceasa from
these are great shoes. period. they wick well, they dry fast, they repel a remarkable amount of water for being breathable, and like all my other Merrell shoes, they've been comfortable since the 1st day i put them on. the full foot grip is confidence inspiring on all terrain and i think they're pretty snazzy to boot. I WOULD recommend these shoes (which run true to size in my opinion)... now for the problem. i bought my 1st pair of these about 3 months ago and after wearing them regularly for about 3 to 4 weeks, i was disappointed to find that the seam directly above my toes on the inside had come unglued and was now getting caught on my big toe-nail every time i took a step. it wasn't bad, but it was annoying and i was worried that if i kept going it would either 1) pull my toe-nail off, or 2) the seam would keep getting worked apart until it created a hole. so i sent the shoes back and had no problems getting them replaced quickly with a brand new pair, which i've been wearing ever since. it's been a little under 2 months and i'm sad to say that the problem has occurred again. i'm not sure if it's just a minor flaw in the design of an otherwise awesome shoe, or if i'm just unlucky twice. i haven't sent these back because the problem's not as bad this time and i still think they're awesome shoes, but it is wearing holes in the toes of all my socks which is kind of a bummer. either way, bottom line, these are great shoes, and even if this problem is just part of the design, these things are well worth a few extra bags of socks. thanks Merrell.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 50 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love love love this shoe 07/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: donchartier from
This fit perfectly immediately, and has felt great ever since. It's a little more cushioned than the barefoot stuff, which makes you feel protected while still feeling closely connected with the ground.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Shoes 06/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: David from
I bought two pair just before vacation and didn't have time to wear them around before traveling. I wore these shoes for no less than 15 hours a day for 10 days straight doing both city walking and light hiking. They felt well broken in from the first day without any issues. The only problem I found was poor traction on wet rocks, which could be an issue for more serious hikers. For sizing, they are wider than other Merrells I've owned. This is a very sturdy and comfortable shoe for a variety of uses.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 44 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Proterra Sport 06/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: shoes2013 from
At 6'6"/240#'s, I am hard on shoes and constantly looking for 'that shoe' to stand up to the rigors of daily wear...This shoe has been 'getting-it-done' since first putting it on...Comfortable for daily walks/health club rigors and sporty 'nuff for shorts and the sports bar afterwards...Ha!...

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars great multi-purpose shoe 06/25/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: daniellaa317 from
I bought these for my husband for our trip to the Big Island in Hawaii. These were excellent for walking through lava fields, sand, and rainforest. He couldn't be happier with the purchase (these were his first pair of shoes from Merrell) and will definitely be buying more from this company. The shoe was larger than expected, but we returned them for a half-size smaller and they fit perfectly.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 44 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Good shoe, but NOT recommended for canyoneering li 06/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Blake from
I actually really like these shoes for normal day to day wear. They are very comfortable. they would be excellent for normal outdoor use. However, When I asked MERRELL what shoe they had that would be the best for canyoneering, they suggested this pair. Maybe their definition of canyoneering is different than mine, but after just 3 technical canyons my shoes are almost trashed. they have huge holes on both sides of both shoes and the laces are already breaking. The Grip is not very good at all on the wet sandstone rock. I'm constantly working about slipping when I am downclimbing. With all of this said, me feet have made it through the canyons with out blisters or other problems, so that has been good. All in all, great shoe for trail running, and normal hiking. bad for technical canyoneering

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 46 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Pleased patron 06/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: cmcmlain from
The shoes are great. They are exactly as the description indicates and I would buy another pair.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love this shoe 06/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Handsome Dan from
The first hour I wore this shoe I knew it was love at first wear! Its very light but amazing sturdy. I must say makes me even more handsome than I was before trying them on, and that's tough to do. I am a ski patroller and bought my first pair of Merrell's last winter the "Innsbrucks" style so I could slip out of my ski boots and directly into them. I was so impressed with the quality that it was a no-brainer to get a pair of Merrell's for some summer fun. I am amazed at how fast they dry, having my cat like reflexes fail me two days ago I stepped into a foot of water. Figureing I now was going to squish for the rest of the day at every step, but no! They quit squishing in minutes and were amazing dry within an hour. Thank you Merrell shoes! Handsome Dan Bodamer Nubs Nob Ski Patrol

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING 06/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Dave from
I'm a big Merrell fan and ordered these without hesitation. My last three pairs of shoes from Merrell fit great right out of the box, and still feel great no matter how long I wear them. I ordered these for work- I stand for 12 hours or more at at time. I knew right away they wouldn't be comfortable and I was right. The fit is similar to the rest of my Merrell shoes but these offer no support. If you like shoes that make your feet hurt, by all means order a few pairs of these. They are a total disappointment and a waste of money.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 43 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 06/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Buddy from
Now you have gone and done it .... you've made the "perfect" lightweight trail/walking shoe. These shoes fit like a glove from the first moment that I tried them own. They have a soft inner cushion to them without sacrificing the firm grip I prefer hiking. I even like wearing them around the house because of how comfortable they are. I am seriously considering ordering a second pair for work. I love these shoes and have encouraged my wife to order a pair.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 43 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Really Nice New Shoe 06/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Caledonian Hill Climber from
These shoes fit well and are very comfortable. I wear a size 10 in other Merrell shoes, so I ordered the Proterra in a 10 even though some reviewers report that the shoe comes in at a half-size or even a full size larger than the numbered size. Mine were a perfect fit over summer-weight cotton-blend socks. They provide a good feel for the ground and enough support for hiking hills and steep trails; I have not yet tried them out rock scrambling but will do so soon on a nearby Vermont mountain with exposed granite. Their retro look, and the unobtrusive Castle Stone color, make for handsome footgear that can be worn in a casual setting -- meetings, going out to eat, shopping in town. The shoes breathe well in summer, and they're nice and light. I think the Proterra Sport will be a big hit for those who want to combine hiking with casual wear.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 05/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: MrLutc125 from
Excellent shoe, i'm on my feet all day and my feet feel great. I work in healthcare and like toe protection and fact they can be easily cleaned. And they're great on the trail too. They sized a little big but i've owned a pair of merrell's before ans expected this.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

25 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Colors 05/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Bush Badger from
Do you have any plans to make these in colors that aren't hideous? I'd really like to try them out but don't want to look like a clown or a retro spaceman. How about some browns?

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 42 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars great supportive sneakers! 05/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nancy from
Since I need something with good support and a high arch I bought these on Saturday. Wore them all day today, my feet are not tired and support was good. Walking arouind you really don't feel like you have them on, very light great support.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Wanted to like these, but the fit simply wasn't th 04/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Corey(West Virginia) from
I wear a pretty wide variety of shoes in a wide variety of environments: I travel frequently for my job, lead wilderness trips, and have a dog that makes a fuss if he doesn't get his two walks a day. As a result I have become somewhat obsessed with having the right footgear and was hoping that the proterra would become a more versatile shoe for me. My first thought was that the shoes appeared very attractive and very well constructed. The material and build quality all seem top notch, as I expect from Merrell. I did notice that, when comparing the proterra side-by-side to my two Merrell hiking pairs, the proterra's seemed to be about a half size larger in length, and fit as such. Where my hiking shoes fit snug with just the right amount of space in the toe, the proterras felt a bit loose with a large open space in the toe. I took the proterras for an extended trial after a few unsatisfactory wears as I helped lead an event on my college campus that involved me standing on my feet most of the day and running back and forth between buildings. I was amazed by the pain in my feet at the end of the day...not the pain attached to new shoes, but a strong ache from the shape of my feet and the shoes clashing. One of the biggest buying points for me was the advertisement that the shoes related to the barefoot feel. I wear vibram fivefingers very frequently, and also the trailgloves on occasion. I have even gone completely barefoot for about half of a year, and found that my feet have enough natural support that I require very little additional support from my shoes. The arch support in the proterras definitely became the main source of pain in these shoes...it felt as though it was forcing the middle of my foot up in an uncomfortable fashion. I really liked the makeup of these shoes and the idea of what they could offer...unfortunately they simply did not agree with my feet. If you need arch support I'm sure you they will perform fine; however, I would recommend wearing them around for several minutes before committing to these.

The review of the Men's Proterra Sport was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront