Merrell Men's Road Glove 2

Style #:

Average Customer Review 4 out of 5 stars (29)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $99.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Kick start your workout session in high spirit with the Merrell Road Glove 2 running shoe, which is part of its Barefoot collection. Featuring Barefoot Strobel construction, synthetic leather and air mesh upper, this minimalist shoe has amalgamated comfort, durability and flexibility with perfection. It offers a rear foot sling for better stability, a fused rubber toe bumper for internal support and a Vibram Road Glove Dash 2 outsole making it an ideal shoe to run even with changing surfaces.

Mesh and synthetic leather upper.
Low cut upper.
Protective toe cap.
Barefoot construction.
Vibram Road Glove 2 Sole / TC1 Rubber.
Reflective details for increased visibility in low light.
Mesh lining treated with Aegis antimicrobial solution.

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
0mm Drop / 4mm Cush / 9.5mm Stack Height
Vibramฎ Road Glove 2 Sole / TC1 Rubber

Men's Weight: 7oz (1/2 pair)

Customer Reviews 4 out of 5 stars (29)

Shoe Size: 72% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


261 of 584 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Recently Switched To The Road Glove 2 09/12/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jjc03 from
I started with the Trail Gloves in July of 2012 and put a lot of miles one them. This year I decided to run a 1/2 marathon and also felt the need to switch to a shoe designed more for paved surfaces. I decided on the Road Glove 2. Typically I wear a size 9, but in the Trail Gloves I wear a size 8.5, so I felt safe ordering the Road Gloves in 8.5 as well. When I got them I was surprised as to how wide the toe box is and that I could not wear them sockless. I tried wearing socks while running in them and hated it, so I decided to buy another pair but went down to a size 8. Size 8 was perfect and I wear them sockless when I run. Another major difference between the Trails and Roads is the Road Gloves have somewhat of an arch, but when I run I can't even tell it is there. Great fit and feel. I love them. I now use the size 8.5 Road Gloves as everyday shoes and my 8's for running. Check them out and you will not be disappointed.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

175 of 348 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Minimalist Shoe! 08/17/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Riefa from
I have the first version of this shoe, and it fits perfectly with my feet from the first time I try it at the store. Been using this shoe for several months for 5K or 10K run feels great.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

185 of 370 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Not what I expected 08/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Brian from
I absolutely love the original Road Glove, I had a running store fit me for 8.5 size and they fit me like a glove. The Road Glove 2 shoe is so much different, way oversized, the inside has a terrible change to the lacing structure that now gouges the top of my foot. I happened to find some clearance original Road Gloves online and bought 2 pairs, I hope Merrell rectifies future versions.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

179 of 364 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great Shoe Except for One Thing 07/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jnorman.nyc from
I had the first generation of this shoe and fell in love with it. I just ordered the new version. It is the same great shoe and has a little more grip than the previous generation. However, the plastic striping on the side of the shoe is definitely noticeable when you run. The stripes hit up against your two small toes. Other than that issue, it's a great shoe.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

180 of 348 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Road Glove 2 07/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Tito from
I definitely like the original Road Gloves feels. I was really happy when I bought the second version. The new design looks awesome compared to the ugly RG1. Walking around the store was not enough to notice some things. The sole protect my foot from the rocks, but it also feel too thick. The upper shoe feels uncomfortable and the arch feels to high. Even walking makes my foot sore. I wish I can return them but I bought them on a road trip and the store is too far from home. Also the yellow inner sole looks dirty easier than the black inner sole. It is sad that I have a new pair of running shoes that I looked forward to use, but they are not what I expected.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 101 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 07/07/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Kurt from
I am loving these shoes so far. I have a pair of FiveFingers but they make my toes uncomfortable so I thought I'd try these out. For running these shoes are great for me and makes me so eager to go running I have to tell myself no on rest days. The only problem I have with them is when I do my other workouts, during lateral movements and agility drills, my heels slide around a little too much inside the shoes. Maybe the trail version has a tighter grip around the feet. I know these aren't designed for those types of movement but I love wearing them so much that I want to wear them for everything.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 93 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars disappointed 07/04/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: limoilou from
These shoes felt comfortable at first and looked like a good option when barefoot is scary due to stuff on the road. After trying for a few weeks the feel is definitely not like barefoot - not so much feel for the toes. Running with these shoes I developed a new knee pain I had never experienced before that I don't have when running barefoot. Definitely going back to something that is closer to barefoot.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 93 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 07/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: John from
Light weight, comfortable and great looking! I couldn't be more pleased with these shoe! Even my wife thinks they make me look cool!

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 100 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Exactly as advertised. 06/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Alexander from
These Barefoot Run Road Gloves are great as advertised, i.e. for running on pavement. They are very breathable. I happen to like running on trails as well - on grass along the pavement, in woods, and/or sprinting over boulders in the harbor - and for those types of activities these shoes do not fit/grip your feet tightly enough for reliable traction. For those types of runs, I live by the original Barefoot Gloves - that do fit my feet like a glove. So I swap the two types depending on the run.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

48 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Good shoe, may wear too quickly 06/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nick from
I was apprehensive to buy these due to the price tag and the fact that running full barefoot was working fine, but I did so at the insistence of my wife. After first trying them on and going on a few runs, I was extremely glad to have bought them. They are comfortable to run in and actually seemed to help with my stride. The mid sole is a bit tight. Additionally, I found that the fabric next to my inside ankles wears quickly. I've not yet put 100 miles on them and it's pretty worn. We'll see how it propagates. Other than that, they are great.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

44 of 92 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best shoes I have ever had 06/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jess.m21 from
Can't say enough great things about theses shoes. I love them. Great comfort great feel and look. I will be a forever fan of theses and cant wait to get them in more colors!! I did go a 1/2 a size up and im glad that I did.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

48 of 97 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars So Close... 05/17/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: drummerdavidlee(los angeles) from
...and yet not quite right. I transitioned to barefoot shoes 2 years ago this July. My first pair were Somnios. Absolutely loved the fit and feel, but the soul was almost disposable. Anyone running 25 m/wk needs a shoe that lasts more than 200 miles. Tried the Altra Samsons. Again loved the fit, feel not quite as much. The material has a vinyl feel to it; it moves awkward and creases in places with a stiffness that can bother my feet. But they managed to get good mileage, about 500 miles. So now I am in the Road Glove 2. The fit and feel is as good as the Somnios. I couldn't ask for more. The soul is made by Vibrams, so I have reason to believe I will get decent mileage out of these shoes. (only 50 miles to date) But the feeling under the arch is strange. Really strange. Why would someone put arch support in a barefoot shoe? I spent 2 years strengthening my arches and allowing my feet to do what they are designed to do naturally. Not sure if these shoes will get to see an "end of life mileage" if the arch support doesn't start feeling better, soon. Hoping someone will get it right!!!

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

48 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great 05/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: aluzeros from
Love the product, nice barefoot shoe. I have been running with them on for a few weeks now. So far good. Definitely not made for running in grass, or if it's really wet outside. It's made for running in dry pavement, etc. Only thing I thought they could do better is drop the price a little bit. If they sold it around $50, I would have bought 2 pairs.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

50 of 93 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars A+ 05/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: SixShot from
Received mine in the mail yesterday. They fit rather well although there feels like there is a lot of room in the top cap, but that's minor to how these perform. Best road running shoe I've possibly ever had. They feel fantastic. Also, love the black/sulphur springs color scheme. I thought it was kind of flashy at first but now I absolutely love it. Great shoe. Good job.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

46 of 92 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Barefoot Run Road Glove 2 05/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: trailtri from
this shoe is great for long runs on the pavement. zero drop but just a little cushion. the tread is a huge improvement in durability over the original road glove. shoe fits perfect and feels great on runs.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 96 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Road Glove Review 05/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mstile from
These shoes make me happy! I love the feel for every day shoes, and they look awesome. People seem to like them, myself included. I do note that I had to return a 7.5 and get a 7 which fits better. For reference I wear a size 7.5 in the Trail Glove which is my favorite shoe ever. These are not quite at that level for me - I bought them for my long distance runner, but they are not as comfortable as I hoped they would be. The toe lip seems to get me in just the wrong spot. They are comfortable for up to 4ish miles, and I have gone 6 in them. However I will keep looking for my minimalist shoe to take me up beyond 8 miles to 26.2!

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

52 of 95 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 04/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nishant from
I have had a history of shin splints specially whenever I bumped up my running mileage. Saw Merrells at a shop here (India) and went for these after a bit of research. I first tried the Trail Glove which had a leaner toe box. Road Glove 2 fitted pretty well. Have been running in these since then, working pretty well. Shin is good. You can feel a bit of lump on the arch area due to the arch support. But you don't feel anything at all while running. I run barefoot too sometimes and Road Glove2 gives a good simulation of running full barefoot. They make you eager to run actually. If you put them on, you will just feel like going out there to run.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 99 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 04/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Nishant from
I have had a history of shin splints specially whenever I bumped up my running mileage. Saw Merrells at a shop here (India) and went for these after a bit of research. I first tried the Trail Glove which had a leaner toe box. Road Glove 2 fitted pretty well. Have been running in these since then, working pretty well. Shin is good. You can feel a bit of lump on the arch area due to the arch support. But you don't feel anything at all while running. I run barefoot too sometimes and Road Glove2 gives a good simulation of running full barefoot. They make you eager to run actually. If you put them on, you will just feel like going out there to run.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

48 of 95 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Far preferred my previous Road Gloves 03/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Cj from
Pro's: + Like that these are vegan-friendly. + The Vibram soles are awesome. + Light and breathable. Cons's: + Odd fit + Terrible insole/arch support So I took a chance and decided to try the Road Glove 2's over my tried and true Road Gloves. Immediately, I noticed that the fit is not nearly as comfortable. The heel is way too high and rubs (blisters on my Achilles). I'm getting blisters over my big toes because of rubbing where the toe box crumples a bit. I don't like to wear socks in running shoes but I have to with these or else any run over a few miles results in blistered and bloody feet. For whatever reason, the new Road Gloves also have a big, hard arch in them that is really uncomfortable. I've got about 80 miles on them now and it's bothering me slightly less when I run, but any walking I do in the shoes is really unpleasant. I'm really hoping that the original Road Gloves will be around and not replaced by these (looks like Zappos is unloading the old ones). Why mess with a good thing, Merrell? I really don't want to have to try and find another minimalist/vegan shoe! Maybe the trail glove?

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars not to sure man... 03/14/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: sifc33 from
whew... not sure man... i got them in the mail, they were easily a size too big, so the team was nice enough to switch them for me. I've gotten two pairs in the past, both at size 10.5, these were too big so I got them exchanged at a size 10. Still too big. Well I just took them out for a lil jog, and didn't wear socks like i normally don't do, and they ripped my feet all up. Also, at a half-size smaller than i usually get, they are still too big. Hopefully I can just wear socks with them, and they'll eventually smoothen out...but I don't know. I think I'll keep with Trailgloves, they are awesome.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 97 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Nice improvement on the first Road Glove 03/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: DGL47 from
Ran in the Road Glove 1 and have almost 40 miles on the Road Glove 2. I find the RG2 better with a more breathable upper, stripes on the upper that will help prevent premature wear of the upper - a problem on the RG1 and a flatter out-sole. The arch doesn't appear much different than the RG1 - initially, slightly more noticeable - and you don't notice it after half a mile. I like the arch-feel at the start of my run as it helps me take note to run mid-foot. I hope the out-sole is durable, but hard to tell at this point. I would like more colours - fire red would be nice :). I would recommend this shoe to anyone who has had some experience is a minimalist shoe and is neutral.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 96 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Legen... Wait for it... 02/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: adoniscomplex87 from
DARY! I was initially bothered by the arch, for the first several days of wearing them I kept thinking, 'How could they possibly think that people enjoy walking on golf balls!?" I decided to give them a little while to wear, and they've broken in nicely. The arch now feels fantastic, and there's plenty of room to fan your toes. Visually stunning, superbly comfortable, the epitome of a shoe.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 101 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Answer To My Problem! 02/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: stevie_Jay from
I have had the Road Gloves 2 for just over a week now and it's an EXCELLENT! product. Initially it felt weird and awkward because of the midsole cushion. I contemplated returning them, however I decided to put them on and do some errands to my surprise they suddenly felt comfortable and natural on my feet after a few hours walking around in them. On my first run I did a quick 6 miles. Normally I would feel a slight discomfort in my ankles, arches and calf's during and after running depending on how long, hard and far I ran. I didn't experience any discomfort with the Road Gloves 2. It seems I've been running with the wrong shoes for the past 10 yrs (duh!). Problem solved thanks! MERRELL.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

53 of 97 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Perfect!! 02/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TL from
I just had to make a comment about these shoes! Just received them yesterday and upon putting them on, I have not stopped smiling! Really, they fit, feel, and perform that good. I did have the original version but always had an issue with my big toe not having enough room. They seemed to have addressed that as well as a much improved look (although could do with some better color schemes!). Please, never stop making these! Thank you Merrell.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 90 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Still better than anything else!! 02/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: JLueth from
My wife bought these shoes for me last week for my birthday. I have to say I was a little scared to try them after reading the first few reviews. I absolutely love Merrell products and was a HUGE fan of the original Road Gloves. After running 25 miles in the Road Glove 2's I can say that, although there's a change in the arch of this model, these are still the best road running shoe on the market. I will never buy another brand of running shoe for the rest of my life! Thank you Merrell for the quality products you put out! #ThePack! #MerrellOutside.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 92 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Road Glove 2 Review 02/12/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: cvrider from
I was looking forward to the release of the Road Glove 2. I put 50-70 miles a week on my Merrell Trail Glove's and love them. This year I'm looking to put a lot more miles in on the road and less on trails. Like a lot of others who have written reviews, the first thing I noticed putting these on is the additional support on the inside of the arch. These felt very different from the Trail Gloves. I hoped it wouldn't bother me, but as I wore the Road Gloves around the house, they just didn't seem right compared to what I'm used to running in. I wore the trail gloves on one foot and the road gloves on the other, and no matter what I did, the road gloves just became annoying due to the arch support. I even wear "normal", non-minimalist shoes as my everyday shoes when not running, so I'm used to arch support. I was hoping this annoying support would go away after a few long runs, but for the money it's not worth testing out. I ended up sending the Road Gloves back. I really wish they were closer in feel to the Trail Gloves.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

50 of 98 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Why Did You Change The Arch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 02/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mrtrex from
I love the arch in the road glove 1 and the trail glove. I have three pairs of each. Why would you change the arch of a great shoe? They are pretty much the same as the Bare Access with just a little less padding now. The arch is not flexable at all and is very hard. They do not give you the same barefoot feel as the 1st version and the trail glove. I like the increases toe space and the laces but go back to the old sole and arch style.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 95 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars 01/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: steefen from
These shoes look way better than the original road glove but..... They have a wierd lump under the arch that feels awkward and uncomfortable. They are less flexible. They have less ground feel. I will be returning mine imeadiatly,considering trying the vapor glove. p.s Loved the original road glove but wish it had more conservative style options.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

52 of 104 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars 01/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: steefen from
These shoes look way better than the original road glove but..... They have a wierd lump under the arch that feels awkward and uncomfortable. They are less flexible. They have less ground feel. I will be returning mine imeadiatly,considering trying the vapor glove. p.s Loved the original road glove but wish it had more conservative style options.

The review of the Men's Road Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront