Merrell Men's Sawtooth

Style #: J50743

Average Customer Review 4 out of 5 stars (27)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $120.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Extend your weekend adventure trip with the Saw tooth hiking boot from Merrell. These ultrahigh boots with breathable upper and great cushioning are an ideal choice for most of the hostile conditions. It is fabricated with a strong molded midsole that bridges the heel to forefoot is highly flexible and offers stable stride. Its aggressive trek rubber sole has been built in for providing maximum traction and agility for medium weight backpacking in rough terrains.

Nubuck leather and mesh upper.
EVA removable footbed.
Strobel construction offers flexibility and comfort.
Nubuck/Ballisticore Bellows tongue keeps debris out.
Breathable Mesh Lining maintains foot comfort by ventilating.

Customer Reviews 4 out of 5 stars (27)

Shoe Size: 85% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


66 of 135 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars South America 08/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Ohad from
hey, I went with this model to a half a year trip to south america. Went trekking and the shoes were amazing! light wight, great water resistent, comfortable and have great grip! I would have give them a perfect score, However after only three months the shoe's front seams began to unravel. Important to note that a friend of mine is traveling with me with the same model and we were doing the same treks togheter but in his shoes it didnt happend.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

59 of 138 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Not as Rugged as Hoped 04/04/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: fiveliterfalcon from
I bought my first pair of Merrell boots (Sawtooth) in April 2012 and I was quite excited about their extremely comfortable fit and rugged appearance. I remained very satisfied until this last weekend (in approximately their fourth use - perhaps 20 days total wear to date) an eyelet popped out prohibiting me from properly lacing up one of the boots. I will probably continue to use the boots for a little while longer but I am not sure I will buy any more Merrell. I am definitely beginning to question their durability after my hiking partners' much older and less expensive boots fared better under similar conditions.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

75 of 154 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Excellent boots 03/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: wolfsaben from
These boots are comfortable. They stay at a comfortable temperature, and are soft on the feet. They're tough. They have great tread and excellent ankle support. They have stood up to water, rocks, mud and all kinds of treacherous Afghanistan terrain.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

78 of 152 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Greatly Dissapionted 03/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dema from
I was highly excited to buy these shoes after saving for a few months due to finances (support 3 kids and a wife while only a E-4 in the Army). I always thought Merrills were great boots and have bought them in the past while deployed to Afghanistan. After only wearing them for two days one of the metal hooks holding the shoe laces broke off rendering the shoe worthless and unable to lace up properly. This is my first experience with poor quality with this brand.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

79 of 155 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars 12/23/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: intlmarcher from
I have had several pairs of Merrells over the years and have been satisfied with the boots and the after-sales service from Merrell. I work overseas and tend to stockpile boots in the States and have them sent over to me when the old ones wear out. I bought this boot based on reviews from this site and due to the excellent ankle support. One of the eyelets has pulled completely out of the boot and the footbed is starting to separate. I think I just got a defective pair of boots and normally Merrell would sort out the problem quickly. I contacted Merrel in the US but due to the shipping restrictions they are unable to exchange the boots to me overseas.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Amazing boot, life savers 12/18/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Motivated22 from
I received these boots while deployed overseas. These boots honestly are the most comfortable and durable boots ever used. They have honestly saved my feet. I received Shrapnel through these boots and my feet and these things honestly took the brunt of the impact and didn't let me bleed out. Talk about good foot support. I currently have the damaged pair and a new pair and are the only boots I will use. Great product , keep up the good work

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 79 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best Hiking Boots I Ever Got 11/23/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Margalla Hiker from
I am a regular 5 KM daily rough trek hiker.I found these boots very good to support my ankle and foot arch. Boots trek grip is wonderful.Amazingly i got relief from my feet heel pain. Comfortable and warm from the inside.Laces are adjustable very quickly and easily. I am using these boots for the last two months on regular basis and still looking good and new. I highly recommend these boots to avoid ankle and knee joint injuries on rough mountain treks

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Very stiff; too narrow 11/08/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: TrailTrekker from
If you're considering the Sawtooth because you think it has a wide forefoot and a narrow heel (which is what Merrell customer service told me), think again. These boots have a medium forefoot and a medium heel. Moreover, the toe box beyond the forefoot tapers to a narrow point. These boots are very, very stiff. I found that the stiffness actually impeded my foreward movement. You need to have quite a bit of body weight to flex this boot. You have to be able to flex the boot for a normal gait. The insole is a thin throwaway. What would it cost Merrell to put a more cushioned insole in this very stiff boot? The tongue was quite painful. It has no padding. I wrapped a piece of neoprene padding around my ankle to try to relieve the pressure from the tongue. I bought these primarily because they have no waterproofing. It's almost impossible to find nonwaterproof hiking boots these days. That's very aggravating, because Gore-Tex etc. is not suitable for a hot, humid climate. Almost the entire U.S. is blazing hot in the summer. We need Gore-Tex in the summer like we need a down jacket. This is a case of manufacturers dictating what people need---instead of listening to what people actually need. I returned these boots and have no plans to buy from Merrell because they don't make any other nonwaterproof boots.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

45 of 85 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Falls apart 10/03/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Newt Stampede from
Great ankle support, comfortable from the first time you wear them up until about 2 months later when they start to fall apart. These boots are one of 2 boots we are allowed to wear in Afghanistan so we have quite a few people who have them. Most people have reported the same thing I have been dealing with, delaminating on the sole and having eyelets come off. Unfortunately I am only able to post one picture on here or else I would show everything. A bit of advice, get a good bit of shoe-goo because you will need it for these. Contacting customer service is awesome if you love being ignored. Got one response requesting pictures of the boots then nothing. Sent multiple emails to them to sort the issue and have been ignored. I guess its back to the issued boots now.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

38 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 05/31/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: WindSapien from
This is the third pair of Merrell Sawtooth Hiking Boots I have had. I have done Mt.Whitney twice ,Half Dome twice , Havasupi Falls and miles of other backpacking trips and these are definitely the very best hiking boots for me. They last and give good mileage. I have had other more expensive boots that did not work as well. All those miles and not one blister while wearing the Sawtooth. Buying online was a snap. Good service and product. Thanks...GT

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Saw Tooth 05/29/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Raz from
Purchased these for use in the mountains of eastern Afghanistan. Perfect fit right out of the box. i have worn these on mission and found them to be very comfortable and durable. I will purchase another pair once I get back to the good ole USA. Keep up the good work!!

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Afgan Choice 05/28/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ksbear from
The is currently the go to boot for my unit in Afgan. They are comfortable and stable. I have worn them for only a month so I do not know how well they will hold up but I will be getting a second pair soon. They take almost no time to break in. My only complaint is the excess material between the boot and the tongue lays directly on my ankle bone so it rubbed terrible. After about 3 weeks of inventive lacing and constant wear that part finally broke in and is fine with normal lacing. I usually roll my ankle several times in rocky terrain like this because of a prior injury but haven't done it once wearing these. I also have issues with sore feet and nothing so far unless I have been on them over 20 hours or so, but that isn't normal for most people so it shouldn't matter. I highly reccommend these for serious rough terrain. The truely are "field tested" Sizing note. My issue boots are 11.5EE. My running shoes are 13. I am wearing 12s.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 78 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars 05/20/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: snow2256 from
These boots are super comfortable however they aren't durable.. or at least mine weren't. while lacing the boot up the hook where the lace goes pulled out.. I've only had the boots for 4months so I'm not impressed by the quality and can't really say anything good about them because I haven't been able to really wear them.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 77 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Much Better Than Expected! 03/11/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Kellie1 from
If Merrell added an "out dry" to this boot it would be able to compete with boots twice the cost! 1. Comfortable! First hike was a 6 mile in snowshoes. 2. Stayed dry on the inside. 3. With wool socks these boots were very comfortable in show and 15F temps.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 75 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best Boots for the job, hands down.... 02/01/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ttaylor1974 from
I purchased a pair of Merrell sawtooths after reading another review and have been thanking myself that I did. I am currently serving in Afghaistan, and I can tell you that these are so much better than what the government has deemed the "Mountain Combat Boot" made by a manufaturer that needs to remain nameless. I have not had any problems with them at all, and they have broken in just fine, only taking a couple of times wearing them to get comfortable. The are extremely warm with the right socks and don't make my feet sweat the way other boots do with heavier hiking socks. In my humble opinion, these should have been issued instead of the new version of the boot the government is issuing to troops headed over here. I would like to thank the people at Merrell for making an awesome boot!!!

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 74 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars need help. 12/09/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: nix from
I SEE 2 COLORS OF THIS BOOT. ONE IS GREY AND ONE IS TAN. WHICH COLOR IS WALNUT? I ASSUME ITS THE TAN COLOR. I REALLY REALLY WANT THE GREYISH COLOR.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 77 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Merrell Sawtooth Boots 09/20/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: longjon from
Great pair of boots and the best I've ever owned; in the fields, in the mountains, the valleys, and the shores of the seas. They are ~ 5 years old but do not show the wear, nor do they feel like they've been through it. Only failing is they're not totally waterproof. A day in the marshes and my feet were wet. Toasty in the winter and comfortable in the summer.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 80 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars 08/22/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Avid Hiker South from
Overall, this is a good boot, very comfortable. I wore these in Afghanistan for about four months and about halfway through, the rubber on both toes began to seperate from the boot. Not sure if it was a combination of the heat and and walking on the rough terrain or what. I love Merrell's though, and will continue to buy from them.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 77 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars 08/22/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Avid Hiker South from
Overall, this is a good boot, very comfortable. I wore these in Afghanistan for about four months and about halfway through, the rubber on both toes began to seperate from the boot. Not sure if it was a combination of the heat and and walking on the rough terrain or what. I love Merrell's though, and will continue to buy from them.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 76 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Boot ! 08/10/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: 1* from
I have a pair of merrell Sawtooth boots and I love them. I have worn merrells a long time now and The Sawtooth boots are a great pair of boots. They feel true to size and Any problems I have had in the past Merrell has taken care of it right away. When you spend good money on something you want it to last and if anything does go wrong Merrell will own up to it and make it right. I just wanted to say Thanks to Merrell for Great service and Keep up the great work.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

43 of 87 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best boots for Afghanistan!! 07/28/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Infantry Scout Squad Leader from
Purchased a pair of Sawtooth during my recent Afghanistan deployment. We were climbing extremely rugged mountains which were made up of everything from sand, dirt, large rock, small rock, to sharp volcanic rock and were doing climbs with over 125lbs of pack and gear usually between 8-15 hours at a time. These boots were great! Initially, they took some breaking in but after getting them wet and muddy and walking around in them for a day they were good to go. I didn't like the insoles that came with them, but instead got some aftermarket spenco insoles that were much better. The treads on these boots are nice and deep, good design in the toe and heel and allowed me to keep my traction while others were falling all over the place. The extra protection around the toe and heel wrapping the boot also worked well protecting the boot against the sharp volcanic rock. These boots became more comfortable to me than my running shoes and over half of my platoon ended up buying Merrells. My only other complaint is that the stitching came undone around the outer foot where the liner meets the sole and an eyelet came out when I was tying them one day. Called Merrell and they took care of me immediately. Awesome boot and company and I hope they improve the insole and market this as a military/trekking boot. Complaints aside, still the best boot I have worn for carrying heavy loads over distance and time.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Rather disappointed in these boots 05/27/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: sosy1325 from
I got these issued to me for a deployment, and at first I was intrigued by that fact that the Sawtooths were something other than standard issue boots. But overall I was very disappointed in their performance. I found the Sawtooths to be extremely heavy and clunky, as if I was walking with hardened cement on my feet. The heavy weight is good for digging into rough terrain, especially moving upward at a steep angle. But overall I felt very un-agile and slow footed in them. Also, even after putting many miles on them they never really felt broken. They are still stiff and rigid. Again that's great for digging into the mountainous terrain, but I felt like the Frankenstein monster when I walked in these things. Ultimately I ditched the Sawtooths for my old Oakleys. It seems like the bigger guys (over 200 lb or so unloaded) like the Sawtooths more (I'm 5'8'' and 145lb). If you're one of the heavier guys this boot might be more your style. If not, keep shopping.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 74 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars worst Merrell experience 04/21/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: deadhead_scout from
So, this is a little painful to write. I have been an enormous Merrell product fan for close to ten years. I ordered the Sawtooth as an alternative to the less than satisfactory Danner hiking boots issued to us by the Army for wear in Afghanistan. Within the first week the instep on the right boot had completely separated from the ball of the foot to the toe. Three days later the foot bed in the left boot cracked all the way across the inside of the boot. Needless to say, I gained almost nothing by purchasing this product. It was even more disheartening since I had to wait for the boots to get in stock before I could even order them. The SHEER JOY when I received them in the mail here was quickly turned to disappointment. :( POSITIVES: (1) The boots fit exactly as their shoes do which was an extreme relief considering the unlikely possibility of my sending them back due to my current location. Too many companies have inconsistent sizing and I am glad to say that Merrell is not one of these companies. (2) The Sawtooth boots were comfortable directly out of the box. I immediately wore them on three dismounted patrols and multiple mounted patrols within the short two week period and experienced no actual break in time. Unfortunately, though there was no break in time, they simply broke. I still love Merrell, but I don't know that I would ever be willing to take a chance on these boots again. Next time I'm online I will upload the picture of the separated instep. Stay salty.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

35 of 71 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Outstanding high speed footwear that you can count 12/29/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user_96654 from
As an industry writer, I participate in events and activities that require the same level of performance and reliability our SOF teams, operating around the world, need. The Merell Sawtooth has been a great improvement over your typical military issued foot wear. The comfort and over all construction quality are superb. It's a boot that is at home whether you fastrope, rappel or are on patrol in any terrain. It is particularly adept to rugged environments where stability and ankle support are critically important.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

43 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Landscape Contractor 09/03/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: BamaLandscaper from
This is one of the best designed boots I have ever worn. I absolutely love this style. The lugs clean-out easy and they provide great traction. BUT, the craftmanship is TERRIBLE. These are the worst built boots because I am on second blown out sole in less than two months wear on each pair. I even talked my best friend into getting a pair and his blew out in less than 1 month. That is three pairs of boots that the sole blew out in less than 2 months of wear. I am a big fan of Merrell and their styles and gear but the Quality Control is just not worth the money or headache.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

36 of 79 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 06/14/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mofo from
This pair of boots are great right out of box. I used these boots on a 3 day backpacking trip I put 32 miles on these boots, with a 32 pound backpack on rocky , steep and tough trails and muddy trails the mud quickly falls off of sole. they have great support traction was perfect i just wish they were water proof for a short quick trip across a shallow stream they will stay dry.but when your feet do get wet they will dry fairly fast. i do recomend a in sole . i never had sore feet or sore spots. i highly recomend these boots. merrell boots rock I own meny different pairs of merrell shoes and boots.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

38 of 76 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars boot abuser 01/16/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: timconklin from
I bought these boots in 2006 and do not have one single complaint about them. Best boot I've ever owned. Lightweight, comfortable, durable, etc. I've climbed hills, mountains, been in and out of rivers, lakes, oceans, you name it. Love them, will buy another pair when these finally die.

The review of the Men's Sawtooth was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront