Merrell Men's Trail Glove 2

Style #:

Average Customer Review 4 out of 5 stars (15)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $100.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Make this sporty, low-profile men's Trail Glove 2 running shoe a part of work out sessions or to the toughest terrains. Amalgamating support and responsiveness, this minimalist men's outdoor shoe offers durability and internal support with its Vibram Trail Glove outsole, a rear foot sling and a microfiber footbed. It also features Merrell's Omni-Fit lacing system which offers glove-like fit and a rubber toe bumper for protection and internal support in roots and rocks.

UPPER/LINING
Fabric and synthetic upper
Merrell Omni-Fit™ lacing System provides a precise, glove-like fit
Breathable mesh lining wicks to keep feet dry wicks to keep feet dry
M-Select FRESH naturally prevents odor before it starts for fresh smelling feet
Reflective details for increased visibility in low light
Wash as needed in cold water (gentle cycle). Air dry.

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
0mm Drop / 4mm Cush / 9.5mm Stack Height
TrailProtect pad in the forefoot offers additional support off road
Non-marking outsole
Vibram® outsole
Vegan friendly footwear

Men's Weight: 7ozs (1/2 pair)

Customer Reviews 4 out of 5 stars (15)

Shoe Size: 80% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


295 of 655 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great shoes!!!! 09/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: walkerwg from
My only suggestion would be to 1 star Carson. Don't be such a sissy and just wear the shoes like a big girl/boy. What good are $100 shoes if you don't wear them....out.....ever. I've worn out the soles on my 1st gen trail gloves and will replace them ONLY with these next gen. Trail Glove 2.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

168 of 331 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Sold 08/15/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: MtnGoat from
I wrote a long review on how I transitioned from traditional running shoes to these Merrell minimalist shoes but it all got deleted =(. So here goes again Durability: Only time will tell. After about a month and 1/2 of continuous use they have held up great with no problems. Sizing: I typically wear an 8.5 but ordered these in a 9 and they were still a little snug in the tarsal region especially when slipping them on. However, this is basically a non-issue. Breathability: Like walking on sunshine with a mild yet soothing breeze. Comfort: I work in them 8-12 hours in a day constantly on my feet and I've never had any pain. I've also used them on quite a few hikes including Electric Peak, a 20 mile hike with an elevation gain around 1500', with no issues. Sum it up: The Merrell Barefoot trail gloves have served me better than any shoe I have ever owned and I hope they will continue to. I plan on using these shoes for section hiking the AT when I get home from Yellowstone Ntl Park. I would also like to thru-hike the AT in a pair of these minimalist shoes. Thanks Merrell for such a wonderful product! In such a vast footwear market you guys have really hit the nail on the head with this one.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

160 of 320 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great looking shoes 08/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: timneece from
Love these shoes, feel good and have a great look to them as well.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

169 of 337 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 08/07/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Donalda from
I liked the Barefoot Run Trail Glove 2 for exactly that, trail running. I did my first hard long run in them recently and they performed well. I bought them to replace my old Merrell barefoot runners that I've had for over a year and a half, I tore them up in a Super Spartan run. The Trail Glove 2 has a little more protection on the bottom, which I need for sharp terrain mud/obstacle runs. Running on pavement in these is an odd feeling but I think I just have to get used to the shoes bottom. I'm not looking forward to trashing them in my next competitive obstacle run but I have to use them for the reason I bought them sooner or later. The shoes are so good looking that you want to keep them that way.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

161 of 329 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars VERY Disappointed with Redesign of Merrel Trail Gl 07/29/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: NickRun from
I was a dedicated Merrell Trail Glove owner -- previously I had two pairs, each lasted a year, running 50 miles per week on roads and trails, and I only retired them after the soles wore through. Then came the redesign for the Trail Glove 2. The upper seemed lighter and less sturdy. Within three months I blew a hole in the side (on the inside, just above the foot plate, in the middle of the shoe) of one shoe and the other shoe was showing the same wear. I returned the shoes (to REI, full refund) and I've just ordered the New Balance MT 110s to try them out. I'm VERY disappointed...I thought I would always wear the Trail Gloves, but I can't see spending the money on shoes that only last three months. I wish I could still buy pairs of the original model, I'd stock up!

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 82 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Some of the best barefoot shoes 07/29/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Slipp3d from
These are some of the best shoes that I have ever owned. They fit like I figured that they would. The only negative that I have is the color choice. Some of them are a little over the top so it's not a big deal but be aware of that when you look for them. Also more of a heads up then a review of the shoe ... make sure you know how to run in a pair of barefoot shoes or you could really hurt yourself. Take your time working up into these shoes.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 80 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Superb shoe 06/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Andrew from
So I waited a few weeks before reviewing the trail glove 2, wanting to add a mix of distances and terrain on the shoes. Now, after several weeks and runs varying from 3-6 miles in these, I have to say they are fantastic! I am using them on both the road and the trail - typically park trails that feature steep, short sections and long flat sections. Running in a good weather and underfoot mix, the shoes have stuck to the ground superbly - no issues with slip or slide. Fit-wise, I was worried originally a little with the feel of looseness in the toe box, but this is not an issue running and does not affect the ground feel through the shoe. The 4mm of cushioning has allowed me to push probably further than I expected in single runs (I typically run a section or loop in these shoes) and I intend to keep extending the distance slowly and surely toward 10, then 15, then 20 miles. A great shoe, great ground feel, helps my posture and straightened me out, adjusted my stride for the better and reconnected me with a deeper running experience. Great job, Merrell!

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

45 of 84 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Stink 06/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: vechni from
Hello there, I bought this Merrell Men's Barefoot Trail Glove only for one reason, I thought that it would not stink, because of it's ventilated body, but it realy stink hard! Please give me some tips how to avoid stinking. It stink even after washing as well. Waiting your answer, thank you in advance!

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

46 of 85 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Well worn and held up fantastic 06/14/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: amrusch from
I purchased a pair of these last year at my base exchange and have loved them ever since. I used to wear Vibram FiveFingers when I worked out and ran, but the gaudiness of them would not allow me to wear them to the store if I needed to stop on the way home. Got these Merrells instead and have loved the comfort and durability ever since. In fact because these were so well constructed, it helped me buy the Merrell Chameleons for casual wear. My only issue is getting the smell out of them because I do wear them barefoot without any socks. I've tried everything and I think its just something I'll have to put up with.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

43 of 84 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Trail Glove 2 06/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Michigan trails from
Just received my Trail Glove 2 and can highly recommend the new model. The very slight modifications made to the sole structure and the dimentsions of the toe box have improved an already world class product. Now I can retire the Trail Glove 1 after 2,439 miles!

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 80 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Very Impressed 04/22/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: olsenbk from
I have a pair of the Trail Gloves; I've always liked wearing them although I just haven't done much running in them. Basically wore them to walk around in or easy hiking. I think the rock plate was throwing me off, but I still enjoyed the shoe. Typically, I always run in Vibrams, but last year I ran my first marathon, which was also a trail marathon that had TONS of rocks, and I finished but my feet had no protection against those rocks and felt like they had been beaten with a meat tenderizer for hours…. Race is coming up, so decided to look into some new shoes. Tried on the Trail Glove 2's yesterday! Loved them, took them home and then ran 10 miles, mixture of road and trail. The shoes where great! Really looking forward to getting more miles on them and race day! I bought the black/green pair and I like color design, but some more color options would be nice.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 82 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Pretty awesome 04/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Julian from
I wish I could give these 3.5 stars instead of 4, but oh well. I've been rocking the original trail gloves for over a year now and they were great. However, as I got more into minimalist running and wearing minimalist shoes all day, my feet have spread out and gotten to wide and a but longer, so my old trail gloves don't fit. I tried buying a 10.5 trail glove (usually I wear a 10), but they were still to narrow for my newly shaped feet. While at REI, I saw the trail glove 2 and figured I'd check it out. These are great. I love how much more flexible the soles are, and the uppers stretch a lot more. The uppers do seem a bit less sturdy than the TG1, so we'll see how they last with serious trail running. They also seem slightly larger (size 10) then the original trail gloves, and a bit wider. My only issue with them is the same issue I had with the originals - the arch. Merrell said they kept the arch because they got great feedback about it. I'm assuming that great feedback came from people who had not really immersed themselves in minimalist. I wish the arch was totally non-existent, but alas, nothing can be perfect. Overall, I would recommend these to people.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

40 of 80 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 03/31/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Lawrence Smith from
This is a subtle, and in my judgment, successful update of my favorite trail shoe. Merrell has wisely chosen to make only minor changes to the most popular minimalist trail shoe on the market. If you are, like many “barefoot” runners, like the heroine of the Princess and the Pea, you'll be pleased with the most significant improvement. The rock plate no longer feels like a bulge in the forefoot part of the sole. I had to put the old version on one foot, and the new model on the other, to fully appreciate the difference. The outsole looks exactly the same (I believe it is), but the change to the rock plate means that the sole flattens out more in the forefoot, and one no longer feels like the rock plate is something one must run over. Further, as the sole now feels less laterally rounded, the upper, made from a new, silkier fabric, allows for more forefoot width as the sole spreads out. So, while the width of the sole hasn't changed, the shoe feels wider in the forefoot. The base of the lace box is also wider, so there is more width across the metatarsals. Merrell has eliminated the lower pairs of Omnifit lace closures. I really like these closures and the snug midfoot fit they provide, but the remaining upper two pair are more than adequate for accomplishing this. So: Likes: Disappearing rock plate Softer fabric upper, wider across the forefoot Mixed Omnifit and standard lacing system. Dislike: Nutten. A great shoe just got better! Note: my first impression is that the new shoes feel less slippery than did their predecessor. More flex in the forefoot, both lateral and longitudinal, seems to be the only reason for this. The old shoe felt like one was landing on a ball (or, at least, on a slightly rounded outsole), with only a small portion of the forefoot outsole firmly on the ground when one was running on a flat surface. The new rock plate lets the sole flatten or wrap around rocks or lumps in the running surface, while still giving adequate protection.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

44 of 83 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Best shoes and worst colors 03/31/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Carson from
This is the biggest abomination of a hiking shoe I have ever seen. You some how manage to make the best trail shoe on the planet and then color it in the ugliest colors known to man. I ended up with a pair of these in the lime green and I won't even wear them outside of the house. Its a real shame cause the fit and feel of these shoes are amazing. Who ever is in charge of the color schemes for this shoe has to go. Not one of your other hiking shoes looks like a 5 year old colored them in. But beyond the hideous colors these shoes are miles ahead of any other trail shoe on the market. It's a smooth transition between the previous model of trail glove. This shoe seems to be everything the last one wanted to be as far as fit and form. You will feel less of the seams in the shoe and more of your terrain. I would definitely recommend these if you are into the whole new neon fad shoe. But hopefully for the Hikers that have supported this company for years they can get back to what they do best and leave the hideous neon shoes to Nike.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

38 of 79 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 03/31/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Lawrence Smith from
This is a subtle, and in my judgment, successful update of my favorite trail shoe. Merrell has wisely chosen to make only minor changes to the most popular minimalist trail shoe on the market. If you are, like many “barefoot” runners, like the heroine of the Princess and the Pea, you'll be pleased with the most significant improvement. The rock plate no longer feels like a bulge in the forefoot part of the sole. I had to put the old version on one foot, and the new model on the other, to fully appreciate the difference. The outsole looks exactly the same (I believe it is), but the change to the rock plate means that the sole flattens out more in the forefoot, and one no longer feels like the rock plate is something one must run over. Further, as the sole now feels less laterally rounded, the upper, made from a new, silkier fabric, allows for more forefoot width as the sole spreads out. So, while the width of the sole hasn't changed, the shoe feels wider in the forefoot. The base of the lace box is also wider, so there is more width across the metatarsals. Merrell has eliminated the lower pairs of Omnifit lace closures. I really like these closures and the snug midfoot fit they provide, but the remaining upper two pair are more than adequate for accomplishing this. So: Likes: Disappearing rock plate Softer fabric upper, wider across the forefoot Mixed Omnifit and standard lacing system. Dislike: Nutten. A great shoe just got better! Note: my first impression is that the new shoes feel less slippery than did their predecessor. More flex in the forefoot, both lateral and longitudinal, seems to be the only reason for this. The old shoe felt like one was landing on a ball (or, at least, on a slightly rounded outsole), with only a small portion of the forefoot outsole firmly on the ground when one was running on a flat surface. The new rock plate lets the sole flatten or wrap around rocks or lumps in the running surface, while still giving adequate protection.

The review of the Men's Trail Glove 2 was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront