Merrell Men's Vapor Glove

Style #:

Average Customer Review 4 out of 5 stars (29)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $80.00

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Run in style by wearing these trendy Vapor Glove shoes from the house of Merrell. This zero-drop men's minimalist shoe comes with breathable mesh uppers providing perfectly balanced and free movement along with prior protection and cushioning effect. It features 0mm ball-to-heel drop, an external heel sling for stability, lace-up closure for personalized fit, back pull loop, reflective detailing and a lightly padded footbed with antimicrobial treatment along with a slim rubber sole offering road feel and better traction.

Breathable mesh upper.
Barefoot construction.
Vibram Vapor Glove Sole / TC1 Rubber.
External TPU heel sling for contoured support.
Integrated microfiber footbed treated with Aegis.
Reflective details for increased visibility in low light.

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
0mm Drop / 0mm Cush / 5.5mm Stack Height
Vibramฎ outsole

Men's Weight: 5oz (1/2 pair)

Customer Reviews 4 out of 5 stars (29)

Shoe Size: 31% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 96% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


38 of 78 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love the Shoe 09/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: lwamp85 from
I have only worn them a few times so far but I absolutely love them so far. I have been wearing barefoot shoes for about five years now and I will continue to purchase this pair for as long as Merrell offers them. I owned the original road glove for over a year and was dissapointed to see them change the design. I see that 61% of people said the shoes were larger than expected. Barefoot shoes are typically a little larger than conventional running shoes in the toe region in order to allow the toes to spread and form a larger base while running or doing physical activity. This allows the runner to maintain a better running form and land on the balls of the feet rather than the heels. These shoes are a great barefoot shoe.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

37 of 76 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Amazing shoe but horrible durability 08/14/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: timothy.bramlett from
This shoe was possibly the best barefoot running shoe I have worn. The only problem is that it developed holes/tears in the upper lining of the shoes after only 4-5 months of sporadic wear. Would buy the shoe again if the durability issue was fixed.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 92 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Vapor Glove is the best shoe ever! 08/07/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Abea8 from
I purchased the vapor glove for barefoot running. I do everything from sprinting to long distance to trail running and these shoes are my favorite shoes of all time. I like them more than the vibram toe shoes of which I own 4 pairs. I like them so much I purchase one more pair so that when one is getting washed I can use the other ones. I recently see that they only come in black and green/blue which is disappointing because I bought the red and orange ones and am looking forward to buying them again once these get worn out. I really hope they bring back the other colors. I tell my friends that if I live to be 300 years old and this company and shoe style is still available I will probable still be buying it :-)

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 79 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Far too narrow 08/02/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits narrow
Reviewer: hiigaran from
I have been running barefoot for about 4 years now. I have always had wide feet. In fact, because of wearing too-narrow shoes growing up, I have toes that are deformed. Running in huaraches and completely barefoot helped them begin to straighten out. Unfortunately most gyms don't appreciate people lifting weights in "sandals" or socks. I bought the Vapor Gloves because of how light they were and because of people rating them high for build quality and durability. Well, they meet my expectations on those two fronts. Unfortunately they are way, way, way too narrow. The toe box feels like somebody's hand squeezing my toes together. There is absolutely no way I could ever run in these shoes. To anybody who can, congratulations, you must be normal-to-narrow-footed. To anybody with wide feet (or extremely wide feet) you'd do better with another shoe.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Everything I Needed 08/01/2013
Shoe Size: Fits full size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: RUNNINGman from
A I was searching for the perfect barefoot running shoe I had an idea of what I wanted the shoe to be like. I wanted a shoe that was lightweight, low to the ground, breathable, flexible, and a shoe that had a wide to box. This shoe was exactly what I wanted and the fact that it only cost $80.00 was amazing. I wear this shoe everywhere I go not just for running.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Love the shoe, upper rips easily 07/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: firstian from
I've had the vapor glove for two months, and I love it to death. I wear them all day long, run in them, walk to work in them, and they have been awesome. Comfortable, well ventilated, the fit is just right, with plenty of toe box room, but not too much. The shoes are so flexible and light that I forget I have them on sometimes. The only problem is that the upper really rips easily. I just rip mine above the right pinky toe, and I have no idea what happened to it (no tripping, or snagged on stuff that I noticed). It's small enough that I can probably still wear it for a while. I'm sad. For everyday use in the summer, it's way more comfy than the trail glove, but I may have no choice but to go back to them. $80 for 2 month is a bit steep. The sizing of the shoe is way off. I normally wear 9.5 US, and I have a 9 vapor glove. I can probably fit just fine in a 8.5.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

41 of 85 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars This is an incredible shoe. 07/14/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: 7ang from
I see a lot of people saying this style was larger than expected. Hope Merrell doesn't toss out the last upon which the size 15 is built - it's perfect, for me at least. One of the best features of the Barefoot Run Vapor Glove is that it's a little more roomy toward the toe-box to allow for natural toe splay between strike and toe off. I wear mine with black Nike Dri-fit cotton no show socks. Easily the most natural running experience I've ever had in shoes. Very, very pleased.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 38 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best Barefoot-Style Running Shoe on the Market 07/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Jack from
Excellent shoe for minimal protection, with two minor problems. Positives: Extremely flexible and lightweight Conform perfectly to the shape of my foot Very thin sole with no padding to speak of Good grip when wet, dry quickly Negatives: The upper is too thin. My first pair tore within two weeks. Thankfully, the retailer was willing to exchange them for a new pair, which has been wearing very well (very little) for the past month. A stronger upper material, especially above the toe box, would be greatly beneficial. The sizing is terrible. I usually wear either a US Size 10.5 or 11. My first pair of Vapor Gloves fit me perfectly in US size 10. The replacement was too small, though also a size 10. For some strange reason, I had to upsize to 10.5 for the same fit. Overall: The shoe is highly recommended, if you keep your toenails trim, and watch the toe box for tears. Also purchase from a retailer that offers free exchanges if it doesn't fit, or try on in person if possible. Despite minor problems, it is the best barefoot-style running shoe on the market, hands down.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

39 of 81 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best Shoe Ever! 07/05/2013
Shoe Size: Fits full size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Woody D from
I truly love this shoe! I had one issue at the outset with my pair. In the area at the bottom of the lacing there was a piece of material that reinforced the stitching that was protruding and it gashed my toes open on my first run. After trimming the piece out, they have been fantastic. I ordered a half size down but should have gone down a full size from my normal 12. All that said, I truly love this shoe. Running, kicking around town, or hiking they are the most comfortable shoe I have ever worn. I wish I had an office-appropriate pair so I could wear them all day every day. I mostly wear them to run and currently have almost 200 miles on them. Not too much wear yet so I expected to get at least 500 miles out of this pair before getting a second pair.

The review of the Men's Barefoot Run Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars My Favorite 06/27/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: run_around from
The first pair of Merrells I have purchased. I bought them for road running and they work great but I have also done some trail running on established trail (if you step on a rock you feel it). The connection to the ground is such that I can really feel how my bodies machanics are working. A great tool for my running arsenal. They fit slightly larger than my minimus, and sportiva shoes. SUPER comfortable I wear them whenever I can. I wish they also made them with a leather upper so I could wear them to work.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Too big 06/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Jimt30 from
When I first read the runblogger review on these shoes before they were released I was super excited for then. So when I first opened the box I was very excited especially after seeing just how minimalist they were and how soft and comfortable they felt on my felt. But that is when it started to go downhill. I own 4 other merrell minimalist shoes all in the same size and the fit is great on all of the them. When I first put on the vapor glove and took off for my first run I immediately felt them to be flimsy and constantly scuffing and/or dragging my toe. I also had the same thing whenever I walked over carpet. I began to think that maybe I needed a little more structure in my shoe and that these weren't right for me. Since I had put a few miles on them I shrug them off on non returnable and put them aside in the closet. This past weekend I went to REI to check out the new trail glove 2s ( which are awesome!) and was chatting with the clerk about the the m-connect series when he told me his favorite by far were the vapor gloves. I was shocked and relayed my story about them to him and told me that almost everyone who buys them has to size down and that it is a common problem. I tried on the next size down and immediately didn't want to take them off me feet, which is what I was originally expected. I couldn't justify to myself to buy them though since I have an almost new pair sitting at home. My suggestion to everyone is to size down on the vapor glove even if you have many other merrells in your normal size!

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 38 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Vapor Glove 06/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: 39Joshs from
I do not write reviews very often but when I do I chose the Vapor Gloves. I have been wearing barefoot shoes for 3 years now and have gone barefoot for a year. I first order a pair as soon as these puppies came out. These shoes are the closet thing to barefoot without being barefoot. I wear these shoes every day and have not once regretted buying them. I hike in them, run, walk, bike and much more. The Vapor Glove is a well built shoe but there is an aspect I would change (very small aspect). The fabric on the toe box is quite thin and will rip if you are not careful but with this said I am not saying to watch your every step but because I wear these shoes consistently they have ripped. This is just due to wear and tear. I love the Vapor Gloves and I am extremely stoked to buy a new pair in the upcoming future. Also the Orange is BAD-ASS!!!!! Good job Merrell, I would give this ten stars but Merrell only does it to five.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 39 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Vapors 06/09/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Steve Maxwell from
I bought these in Philly while I was there teaching a fitness seminar. I travel 100% full time and carry my life's possessions in one 65 liter bag. I live in temporary rental apartments and hotels. I am in a new country every two weeks, sometimes even a week. So all my clothing and gear is the best money can buy. I look for light weight, functional, multi-use, quick dry, durability and nice style. The Vapors had most of theses traits except one of the most important, durability. They fit great, had the best barefoot feel of any minimalist shoe I've ever tried ( I've tried many) and I loved the traction. I got rid of 2 other pair of minimal shoes that wear bulking up my bag because I thought these were the ultimate. Unfortunately they're falling apart. Literally coming apart at the seams. There's three holes in the uppers where they meet the rubber sole. This is just after around 9 weeks of use. It only took one hike off road on the island of Ikaria in the Aegean. It was a rocky hike, but no way the shoe uppers should have ended up pulling away from the wrap around toe bumper in the toe box. It wasn't like I was being stupid. In fact I was very careful to place my feet properly to keep the shoes from getting to beat up. I loved them for running, doing exercises like pistol squats and mobility drills, but you guys have to make the uppers on these shoes tougher. It's a fragile material. I'm going to try some shoe goo or super glue to keep the holes from getting larger. I hate having to go ghetto. I'll look for some thing else next week in Germany.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 43 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Interesting but sized VERY large 05/31/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: pkrupela from
First, I love Merrell's M-Connect/Barefoot series of shoes. I've got several pair of Asics that are gathering dust in the back of my closet, and I am the proud owner of several different Merrell barefoot shoes which I use for everything from trails, to training, to everyday wear. I've suffered over the years from plantar fasciitis, and while using Superfeet inserts during the day and elastic bands at night alleviated the symptoms, switching to Merrell Barefoot shoes addressed the biomechanical problems and have changed the way I connect to the Earth. So - I'm a fan. I was looking forward to receiving my Vapor Gloves because I liked the idea of a very minimalistic shoe which would be great for speed work. I read the reviews and sized down to an 8.5 from my usual 9.0 as a lot of people have mentioned that the Vapor Glove runs large. To say the Vapor Glove runs large is an understatement. My Vapor Gloves arrived and I tried them on - first with socks (because I happened to be heading out the door in Road Gloves when they arrived) and then barefoot. Even with socks, I was swimming in the Vapor Gloves, and I have a wide, thick foot. I had a good 1/2 inch room at the heel, and even after cinching down the laces, my heel lifted up a bit, which could be problematic after awhile. The shoes were very comfortable, although perhaps a bit too minimalistic and flexible. If they had fit properly, I'd have kept them as an interesting addition to my collection, but I'd have had to return them and gone down another half-size (a full size below my usual Merrell Barefoot shoes), and then the toe-box would have felt a bit off. Overall - an interesting shoe, for a niche buyer - but be aware that the shoes run particularly LARGE and size down accordingly.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

19 of 37 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars This Is Exactly What I Was Looking For 05/28/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mike from
When the Vapor Gloves were first announced I was very excited. These shoes are all I could ask for. They offered protection without a lot of plating or build up in the sole or uppers. Essentially, they are a slipper for runners. I have well over two years experience as a bare form and barefoot runner. Before the Vapor Gloves my go to shoes were KSO toe shoes for their minimal construction and the Merrell Trail Gloves. I run on all surfaces from the paved road to the technical trails and was searching for a shoe to protect me on the really rough bits. The Vapor Glove is the perfect solution. They are as flat as a pancake and give me more than ample protection on the trails. I did find them larger than expected. I use an 8.5 in the Trail Glove and the same size Vapor Glove seemed a bit longer by about a quarter inch. Since I like a lot of room in the toe box, this was not too much of a problem, though I will probably get a size 8 for my next pair. I also experienced a bit of rubbing over my smaller toes on one foot that led to some ulceration. This is solved with a bit of surgical tape and I suspect my toes will toughen in time. Otherwise, my running experience in these shoes, both on and off road, has been exceptional. Thank you Merrell for creating the perfect shoe to use when not barefoot.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

19 of 39 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great minimalist shoes 05/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Vernon from
I purchased the Vapor Glove on a recent trip to the US since I couldn't find them in China. Very satisfied with the purchase. Initially I purchased them as an alternative since running in my Vibram SeeYa sometimes results in blisters on my large toes after longer runs. Since the initial purchase the Vapor Glove has become my go-to shoe, even above the Vibram SeeYa. While they weigh slightly more than the SeeYa the difference is almost unnoticeable, and the large toebox provides almost the same freedom of movement as the SeeYa but if I want I can also wear socks with the Vapor Glove which reduces the occurrence of blisters even on longer runs. In most shoes I wear a size 10, so that's what I ordered. They seem to be slightly longer than most size 10 shoes, but not too bad. I tend to have a difficult time finding shoes that fit my foot width/height comfortably, but the Vapor Glove fit is outstanding. I have numerous pairs of minimalist running shoes, but the Merrell Vapor Glove are definitely my favorite. Highly recommended.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

18 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Absolutely love these shoes! 05/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Arora from
What a great product! I had recently decided to try the route of minimalist/barefoot running to strengthen bones and muscles in my feet and adjust my running form. I've been plagued with severe shin splints almost all my life, primarily due to hard heel-striking and perhaps some structural issues in the leg or hip area. Anyway, I did a LOT of research on minimalist shoes and the Vapor Gloves definitely stood out from the crowd. Decided to try them out, and after running in them almost daily (short 3 to 5 miles runs) for the last one month, I can honestly say these are the best running shoes I have ever owned. In fact, they're so comfortable that I spend most of the day in them, even at work. If you're new to minimalist running and in the market for shoes, the Vapor Gloves are a slam-dunk no-brainer choice. You'll be glad you did.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 44 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Barefoot Run Vapor Glove 05/20/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: trailtri from
these shoes fit great and do exactly what I need them to do on the road. the sole gives great traction during wet and dry conditions and feel great during the warm KY days.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

24 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Very Very Comfortable 05/19/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Carlo from
I recently got into minimalist running and after a long search for the "perfect shoe", I think I found it in the vapor glove. The shoe looks fantastic and is extremely flexible. Running with them is very light and airy, particularly with the wide toe box. They are great for travelling too given the weight and flexibility of the shoes and are comfortable to hike with. The shoe does run much larger than I expected. I normally wear size 9 running shoes but had to go all the way down to a size 8 (and there's still ample room between my toes and the tip of the toe-guard).

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 43 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars poor design or poor construction or both 05/17/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: mike88 from
I did a 5 mile hike to break them in on a fairly rugged section of the Appalachian trail. The soles were incredible. Absolutely love them. However, because of all the bending of my foot, the uppers, where the tongue meets the vamp, has a sharp edge that caused sores on top of my feet that bled for a week. I don't wear socks as I don't with any other shoes. I'm trying to decide whether I should return them, or use mole skin.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

23 of 40 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best minimalist running shoe currently on the mark 05/16/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: PNW Hiker from
This is the first Merrell shoe I have purchased--I previously have teased my only-quasiminimalist friends for wearing the stiff trail glove and such. However, the Vapor is something new, and I was sufficiently impressed with its minimalism (and the various "barefoot" running blog reviews) that I decided to try making the switch from Vivobarefoot. Before these--with the exception of my various FiveFingers--all my shoes were Vivo. These are better--the toe-box is wider, the body cooler on the foot, the overall construction better, and the price is significantly lower (25%). And they're attractively designed to look more like ordinary shoes, which is a big plus (although the big "MERRELL" across the heel is a bit tacky). It seems that most of the reviews (on this website and elsewhere) have found the Vapor to run large. Certainly anyone trying barefoot running for the first time will find the Vapor to be larger on the foot than his or her old shoes, but that's the point. Before I abandoned straight-jacket shoes and went minimal, I routinely wore a 12. I'm wearing the Vapor in 13, and it fits very well. My feet have spread out, and my toes are active. However, I would have given the Vapor only 4.5 stars if it had been an option. While the toe-bumper is a nice touch, I miss how the Vivobarefoot sole comes up the sides a bit (particularly on the arch). Since the Vapor is already made of sterner stuff than the Neo (my previous running shoe), it will likely last at least as long. However, with a bit extra sole on the sides, this shoe would be a great deal more robust for slightly-off-road running. Also, while the overall groundfeel is about as good as the Neo (because the toe-box is wider and my foot engages the ground better), the sole is unnecessarily thick. If I could, I'd pull out the cushion (the whole point of barefoot running is that the shock is absorbed by one's calf muscles, not the shoes). Finally, the sole is a bit stickier than I'd like (it's comparable to the original Fivefingers). For wet surfaces, this would be a plus, but it puts more torque on the knee. We'll see how the soles wear. Pros: Less expensive Attractively designed Well constructed Wide toe-box Decent ventilation Cons: Sole is too thick (cushion is unnecessary) Sole doesn't cover much of the arch Conclusion: The best shoe out there, though not perfectly minimal. If the design team that put the Vapor together continues to innovate, I expect the next iteration to be very nearly ideal. I'll still be buying my minimalist dress shoes from Vivobarefoot for the foreseeable future, and these can't replace my UnShoes (sandals), but Merrell now has my vote for casual and active shoes. Bravo!

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 42 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Barefoot Vapor Glove 05/10/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jschweiger from
Was excited to see that the pair of Barefoot Vapor Gloves arrived in time for a run that I had planned on participating in, only to find out that they are too big. I took the advise and went down a half size and that still was not enough. I can not exchange them due to the pro deal terms, and now I am stuck with a pair of shoes that I cannot wear. Try these on before you purchase online, it will save you the disappointment of ordering the wrong size.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 35 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love them 05/06/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Micah from
These have become my go to shoe for the whole day. I just finished an eight mile run in them, and they were fantastic. Be sure to order a half size smaller than you usually do. I had to return my first order. I would love to see more color options for these shoes. Brighter ones. I like the green in the women's. Maybe a yellow? I have the orange, and love them. The only complaint I've had is that the stichting holding the tongue to the toebox is a bit rough on the skin, forcing me to wear socks, but I'm hoping this mellows out in a month or so.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

18 of 39 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love my Vapor Gloves! 04/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: colortheory(Huntington Beach, CA) from
I'm not sure where I stand on barefoot vs. cushioned, but these are my favorite every day shoes. I wear them all the time, sockless, and so far, no smell. While they're machine washable, I cleaned them in the sink with a dishwashing brush and hot water once, and they look nearly as good as new. The outsole looks the same as the day I bought it (2 months ago?). I've put less than 15 miles on them, but they are comfortable running sockless in as well. I'll continue adding mileage on them every week. DEFINITELY order at least a half size down from your usual size.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

19 of 39 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Great shoe & price, but minor sizing issue 04/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: haroldyates from
Let me preface by saying that I own the Trail Glove and Tough Glove, and I've always ran in minimalist, zero-drop footwear... I eventually settled with going down a full size. I would have liked to have gone down a full size only in length while keeping the width the same (or just a half-size down)... Improvements: Because the aim of this model is to be very minimal, instead of using shoe lace loops, just use reinforced holes (like the last 2 pairs of eyelets). This should reduce material, stitching, & thickness. Thus, it might increase top-of-the-foot comfort & shave some overall weight.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

22 of 43 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars The minimalist shoe I've been waiting for 04/12/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jbb from
The Vapor Glove is exactly what I've been waiting for. It's very minimal and provides excellent ground feel allowing for a very natural stride - as close to running completely barefoot as in any shoe I've experienced. The shoe provides just enough protection to leave me free from worry, even running on the streets on new york city. I made the transition to barefoot shoes more than a year ago with a pair of the original Road Gloves. I've logged more than 1,000 miles on those and they've held up great. I've historically had a lot of trouble finding shoes that are comfortable over long distances - have wide feet and shallow arches. After the ~1 month transition (should definitely have taken it much slower), I've been running virtually pain free, faster and having more fun while doing it. The Vapor Glove is everything I loved about my Road Gloves and even more. I would forewarn anyone new to minimalist shoes that the Vapor Gloves genuinely offer no support or padding (which is much of what I love about them) and are likely not the best shoe to transition with. If you do make the transition with them, take it very slowly. My only complaint is that the Vapor Gloves seem to run large - I had to come down a full size from my Road Gloves (9.5 from 10.5).

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

20 of 40 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Make them in Wide! 03/30/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: eliyoung from
These shoes are basically perfect. However, I don't like how the tongue and sole seem to be glued on the outsides. I was easily able to accidentally remove the sole partly from the fabric when I was taking off the shoe once. That might be a place for water to get in now, but could always glue it back on I guess. My main problem is that they're still not wide enough in the toebox for me to really stretch out my toes. The big toe curves in a bit, which might cause calluses on the outsides of my big toes. Overall, I'm sure this shoe works great for most poeople. I just want to let Merrell know that there's a market for a wide version of this shoe.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 42 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars EXTREMELY disappointed 03/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Christopher from
Just received my Vapor Gloves in the mail, purchased to replace my Trail Gloves. While the shoe appears to be of high quality, I am EXTREMELY disappointed with the fit (hence my 1 star rating). The shoes are EASILY a half-size(if not more) bigger just from visual inspection alone. My issue with this is the fact that as they were purchased through the Pro Deal program I cannot exchange them apparently. So now I am stuck with a pair of new running shoes I cannot wear.

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

21 of 43 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars 03/18/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Dean from
So far I have only put about 50 miles on these. So far they are fantastic. Previously I had owned the Merrell Trail gloves but used them mainly for road use. After putting about 2000 miles on the trails, it was finally time to give them up. I was incredibly excited when I first saw pictures and data on the Merrell Vapors. The Vapors are currently Merrell's only true "Minimalist" shoe in my opinion. I have a few comments: -In comparison with the trails, the vapors do not hug the midfoot quite as well. This means that you must lace them tighter to keep them from floating around. For me, this is a slight disadvantage in comparison with the trails. -Flexibility and ground feel is incredible. -At first I was frustrated that a small amount of EVA was used in this shoe. Now I understand that it flattens down and contours to the foot after a low amount of mileage. This is good because it does not provide cushioning (cusioning is bad in a minimalist shoe), but it does help to mold the shoe to the foot over time. -Sizing: A 9.5 vapor glove is ever-so-slightly larger than a 10.0 trail glove. -Weight is incredibly low. -Breathability is better than the trails, but it could still be massively improved. -The footbed is some type of cloth material, versus the trails which had some type of synthetic suede-like stuff. I am not sure yet which footbed is superior, but I did notice that the cloth stuff is slightly more slippery (at least when new). I am hoping that it still grips well when wet/sweaty. -The toebox has just enough room, although it could improved by being shaped more like an actual foot. -Comments/Questions to Merrell: 1. Overall this is an excellent shoe. The designers deserve a generous bonus! Please do not ever get rid of this shoe. If you do change anything, please don't change it massively, and most definitely do NOT increase the cushioning, sole thickness, weight. Please do keep it thin and flexible! 2. Why was the footbed changed to the woven cloth material? 3. Please keep sizing more consistent between your various models. This shoe very clearly runs large at least in comparison to the trail glove. 4. Please consider increasing breathability by adding holes in the upper material. This would really help us runners in hot climates from getting too much moisture in the shoe which causes blisters. 5. Please consider adding a tool on your website which allows you to search for where a specific shoe model is being sold locally. I had to call around before realizing that nobody in Houston was planning on carrying this shoe anytime soon. Being forced to order them online

The review of the Men's Vapor Glove was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront