Merrell Men's Wilderness

Style #: J01015

Average Customer Review 4.5 out of 5 stars (9)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $299.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Now trek easily on uneven, rough terrains too in style, with the Wilderness Backpacking Boots from Merrell. This sleek Italian style pair of boots features waterproof leather uppers with a grippy Vibram Roccia sole which helps keep your feet protected on steep, slick tracks and to stay fresh in any type of weather condition. This dual intensity boot is highly versatile and sturdy in nature, and comes with padded collar, embossed tongue and lace-up closure detailing for snug and personalized fit.

Full grain leather upper.
Italian metal hardware.
Tesivel 3-bar knit lining.
Dual density footbed.
Bellows tongue keeps debris out.

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
Microporous rubber midsole
5mm Leather/TPR Insole
Crampon-Compatible (Strap-on Only)
Vibram® Roccia Block Sole/Trek Rubber
Weight: 3 lbs 8 ozs.

Customer Reviews 4.5 out of 5 stars (9)

Shoe Size: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


79 of 157 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Merrell wilderness boot 06/03/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: lahbarky from
I wear a size 11 and have a medium volume foot, normal arch. The fit is perfect. Finally someone has come up with a perfect toe box, plenty of room to allow the toes to spread out. Narrow heel to prevent slipping. I use them for backpacking and they have never caused a blister or hot spot. The fabric liner is smooth with no wrinkles to cause chafing. Excellent craftsmanship. Little break in required. Just the right amount of flex and support. Best leather boot I have found, and I have had them all including Limmer Lightweight, LaSportiva Glacier, Lowa Renegade, Scarpa Kailash, Zamberlan Civetta, Danner Mountain Light(terrible) and Galibier Rando(good boot). As you can tell I don't like Goretex in boots, much too hot and sweaty. I am also a traditionalist when it comes to backpacking. This is my second pair. Glad they still make them.

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

83 of 169 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Wonderful trail-work boot! 04/13/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Furryhead from
While I preffer less of a boot for hiking, these are my work-boots. I do a lot of heavy trail maintenance and construction and these have been the best boots I've ever had. When I found my first pair was still going strong after 3 years, I bought a seccond pair so I could alternate when one got soaked (sometimes I'm working all day standing in a stream)-- that was 10 years ago and I'm just now looking to replace my first pair. They're comfortable, break in well, and have saved my feet from many a misfortune. Merrell, Please don't stop making them just like they are!

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

86 of 164 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars They will probably outlast me!! 03/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: tch from
I have owned a pair of these boots now for 15 years. They have stood the test of time and punishment. A little bit of care cleaning and polishing them on a regular basis will keep them in fantastic conidition. I have hiked the Inca Trail, Gila Wilderness, White Mountains, Big Bend all with no problems. I prefer the stiff sole and support of the boot. After breaking my ankle a number of years ago these boots became my daily wear for the support. The eyes of the shoe have remained in place. Never any issues with the boot. Merrell seems to be one of the only manufacturers to use the Norwegian welt and Italian craftsmanship. That is important to me and I will remain a loyal customer.

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

75 of 158 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Merrell Wilderness = Awesome Boots! 01/11/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dshoe from
Yeah… The Merrell Wilderness… A timeless classic! I've wanted a pair of these ever since I begged my mother to buy me a pair for Christmas one year, which was about 24 years ago! I never got a pair way back then (moms know best, uh?!). WRONG!!! Moms certainly don't know best, when it comes to awesome hiking boots! I pulled the trigger on a new pair about a month ago. And, as I expected, they're fantastic boots! The fit is fabulous once they start to break in, which for me is right about now. The break in process is substantial, but if you can suffer through it, you'll be greatly rewarded. The top of the outer portion of the ankle on the right boot got me pretty bad during the process, but I just used my fingers to flex the leather for a few minutes each night for about three or four nights straight. That worked perfectly to help loosen them up. Mine are the classic black with blue laces. I added Superfeet Greens to them, too, which are awesome as well. For waterproofing, I used Seam Grip on the welt and Nikwax cream for the uppers. I also added a bit of leather conditioner (Bicks 4) to the glove leather on the insides of the ankle portions. Without doubt, these boots are shaping up to be one of the best pair of boots I've ever bought. The only other similar boot I have to compare them with is an old pair of Fabiano Rios that I had back in the late 90's. Let's just say that I wish I had gone with Merrell back then, as opposed to Fabiano (Scarpa). The Fabiano was nice, also, but the Wilderness has a nicer, and more glove-like, overall fit. When you read other reviews about these boots that claim they're like slippers after awhile, I can certainly believe it now. Also, I don't really understand some of the reviews I've read about these boots when people claim that they're hard on the bottom, with no real shock absorption. I have found that to be totally untrue. I love the way my Wilderness boots feel, with each and every step. Maybe the addition of a good aftermarket insole helps with that? I do remember those Fabiano boots feeling like 2x4's strapped to the bottoms of my feet though. The Merrells are nothing like that. Sizing is spot-on with what I expected. They're still made in Italy as well, which is wonderful (please don't take that away from us, Merrell). Anyway, thanks, Merrell, for finally making one of my dreams come true!

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

84 of 166 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Made a Round Wheel Square 10/24/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Sierra Nevadan from
Ok first of all let me say these boots fit great, they are really built very solid. They are tough, classic, and I am sure the "Original" ones built many years ago were (still are) the best. But these new ones..... whoever designs them took something great that didn't need improving, tried to improve them and ruined them. First of all the leather is made (tanned) to be waterproof. So that means sweat and condensation (heat) CANNOT escape. Then they put in the Tesivel liner that "wicks away moisture"... to where???? as the leather is waterproof.... so now you have this meaningless liner layer of insulation but they are not 100% waterproof as the seams (Merrell service rep said) are not taped. And if you really are hiking hard and exerting yourself you will notice no sweating through the boots, maybe a tiny bit through the seams around where the tounge is sewn in. And the whole time your foot feels like its wrapped in a plastic bag and when you take them off after a couple of hours your feet look like you left them in a tub of water for hours.. all wrinkled. If people want insulation they put on thicker socks, they want wicking they put on a sock liner, they want waterproofing put on an oil or spray treatment. But these are an ugly mutt of not all leather originals and not 100% waterproof. THEY DO NOT BREATH AT ALL, gore-tex breaths better. Worst of all your sweat just stays in there because it CANNOT leave the boot, you will be wringing out your socks after half a day hiking

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great boot! 10/20/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Rock1219 from
After purchasing a pair of Wilderness boots (Mogano) last year and having not a single problem with them I went ahead and purchased another pair (Black). As a government contractor in Afghanistan I have not found a better boot. They are extremely comfortable once you break them in, super durable and nothing will destroy them. They also look like they will be hot in the summer but they really are not. My feet stay comfortable all day long in the sun all day, sitting in the office doing paperwork all day or walking around base in the snow and slush in the winter. They are easy to keep clean, just brush them with a boot brush and you are good to go. The soles are able to be replaced if you wear them down but after a year of hard ware they still look brand new. I have worn Oakley, Belleville, Converse, Nike and many more but no one is close to Merrell Wilderness boots. If you want the most comfortable, durable, long lasting boot buy the Merrell Wilderness and you will not be sorry

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

49 of 96 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best Boots Ever!!! 10/11/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: nickc83 from
I have owned the Merrell Wilderness boots for a few years now. It had come time to replace my old Vasque Montana boots and I was looking for a similar quality when I decided on the Wilderness boot. I admit it wasn't easy forking out $300 bucks, but these boots are worth every penny. There is a short break in period as would be expected from a fine Italian hiking boot. They feel excellent. My feet thank me every time I wear these boots! If you are considering purchasing the Wilderness boots I would recommend to go ahead and do so. You will not be disappointed!

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 100 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Alas, no more widths! 05/20/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: BrucePerens from
This has been the best for a long time, but alas, as you can see from the web site, they've stopped making them in widths! And since people don't all have feet that differ only in length, my wife (narrow) and I (wide) can't wear them any longer. Thus only 3 stars rather than 5.

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

51 of 104 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars super genius 11/02/2009
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: gevlahos from
the last time I bought a pair of winter boots it was 1984! I was very pleased ( although NOT surprised ) to see these boots still in production! If you want to get a truly great boot, then get these. I wore mine every single day in the winter and for many a hike in the summer too. I had to change the vibram souls TWICE! Without a doubt the most comfortable, durable boot you'll find. Just a rub of mink oil before I put them away every year and they were ready to roll at the first sign of Autumn. Classic means you can try but it wont get any better!

The review of the Men's Wilderness - The Original was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront