Merrell Men's World Legend

Style #:

Average Customer Review 3.5 out of 5 stars (27)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $99.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

This can be considered as diversified footwear which serves all your adventure purpose. Designed from full-grain leather with Opanka stitching construction World Legend is excellent enough to offer you comfort without sacrificing style. it's air cushioning in the heel area with molded arc shank offers you smooth moves and excellent traction along with shock absorption. Further it's pigskin lining which is treated with anti-microbial solution prevents odor by keeping your feet fresh and healthy. The midsole contain EVA components that are responsible for carrying the load during day out and day in.

Full grain leather upper.
Pigskin lining treated with Aegis Antimicrobial solution.
Anatomical Cita-XY Footbed treated with Aegis Antimicrobial solution.
Opanka Stitched Construction offers slipper-like comfort and flexibility.

MIDSOLE/OUTSOLE
Molded nylon arch shank
EVA Midsole provide cushioning
Merrell Air Cushion in the heel absorbs shock and adds stability
Merrell World 2 Sole/Sticky Rubber
Weight: 2 lbs.

Customer Reviews 3.5 out of 5 stars (27)

Shoe Size: 92% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 100% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


90 of 173 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars great shoe 09/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: arniesarmi from
I have a pair of each color and have been wearing this style shoe for 12 years. The best shoe for comfort ever

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

87 of 168 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Never doubting again 08/23/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Mark Bemis from
I decided to try and spend a little less money on Rockport shoes, as I heard great things about them. However after 1 week of wearing them, I spent the money to get back into Merrells. They are just the most comfortable, durable shoes I have had. I am on my feet on hard concrete floors in factories all day. I have not found a shoe that is more comfortable or lasts longer than Merrells. I will not doubt any more.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

94 of 184 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars My Favorite shoes ever 07/26/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: chrismilesart from
These are my favorite shoes I've had. They are the first slip on type shoes I've ever owned and I love the convenience of that. I'm pretty active so I was concerned about them slipping off sometimes but that hasn't been a problem. I do still own running shoes that I wear when I'm planning to walk a long ways or do really active stuff although these would probably be fine. I bought mine at the Nordstrom Rack discount store in SLC UT for about 65 bucks. It's always a crap shoot what you will find there and I just lucked out with these. From now on I will pay whatever I have to to buy these shoes in the future as long a Merrell continues making them. One of my motivations in writing this review is to influence them to continue this line since I see from a previous review they occasionally discontinue models. Mine are a bit older than the ones pictured and have slightly different markings on the soles etc. Thanks and Please keep making this one Merrell!

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

77 of 175 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Can you say COMFORTABLE!?!! 06/24/2013
Shoe Size: Fits half size larger
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: JeffMere from
These shoes are without a doubt the most comfortable shoe I have ever put on my foot. I had owned one other Merrell shoe is the past and because of the comfort I decided to try again! WOW! I use to be a cheapskate when it came to buying shoes but you definitely get what you pay for! These shoes were worth every cent! THANKS

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

90 of 175 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 05/08/2013
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Buddy from
Found the men's "World Legend" shoes to be extremely comfortable from the start. Very smart look with both business casual and jeans. Sizing was exactly as expected and over-all fit was excellent. This is the fourth pair of Merrells that I have purchased in the past several years and I continue to be completely satisfied with each purchase.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars got to love Merrell's shoes plus the quality custo 10/18/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Matthew UALR from
I had originally graded this one with three stars because of the squeak that the shoe made while walking. I posted the problem and a merrell rep quickly responded with a solution. It turns out that the gel insoles were rubbing the leather on the inside of the shoe. The new foam ones they quickly sent to me for free solved the problem. The shoe feel and looks great! Don't let any of the other squeak reviews scare you away from this shoe. If it has any problem, Merrell will stand by their product!

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

44 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars got to love Merrell's shoes plus the quality custo 10/18/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Matthew UALR from
I had originally graded this one with three stars because of the squeak that the shoe made while walking. I posted the problem and a merrell rep quickly responded with a solution. It turns out that the gel insoles were rubbing the leather on the inside of the shoe. The new foam ones they quickly sent to me for free solved the problem. The shoe feel and looks great! Don't let any of the other squeak reviews scare you away from this shoe. If it has any problem, Merrell will stand by their product!

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

46 of 95 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars 09/09/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: pel004 from
suffering foot and ankle skeletal irregularities most of my life, footwear has always been uncomfortable for me. Working construction in my early years (why I suffer ankle deformity) through climbing roofs as a insurance adjuster and now long hours working and standing in my cabinet shop. When I tried these shoes for the first time 3 years ago, I found the most comfortable shoe I had ever worn. Price didn't matter to me at that moment because for the comfort I've known for these past 3 years simply because of this shoe. They are still a very function-able shoe for me after 3 years. However, because I wear them for everything, the leather begins to distress from scuffing, landscaping and roof climbing and is not the best looking shoe I can wear to business meetings any longer. I was hoping to find this shoe again and with many manufacturers out dating their shoes almost as soon as they leave their mills one cannot find another like it in many instances. Thanks to Merrell, it still exists...and is still reasonablly priced. So many thanks Merrell from a very satisfied customer.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

50 of 100 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING business casual shoe 05/31/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: jbenn from
I tried on a lot of different pairs of shoes priced from $50-$100...without question Merrell shoes are superior in this price range to just about any brand, but most Merrell shoes I was considering were built more rugged for outdoor appeal. I wanted a comfortable, durable shoe that looked great for work...not so much the trail...this shoe fits the bill perfectly, fits like a glove, easy on the foot-like a pair of sneakers...price was right at $80 at gander mountain on sale...I would of had a hard time paying $100 for this shoe...

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

53 of 103 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Great Shoe 05/30/2012
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: litehouz from
I just received my exchanged shoes. I needed the wide width. Thanks for the rapid and smooth turn around for this very comfortable and strong shoe.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

45 of 92 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Love 'em 03/14/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Don from
I'm glad I found these. I bought a pair in black, wore them home and then ordered an espresso pair online right after I walked through the door. They are extremely comfortable, look nice and the quality is great. I'm just coming off of 3 years with a pair of Zen's and Encore Grooves. The two best pairs of shoes I've ever had, but unfortunately they don't make the Zen's anymore :( and the Encore Groove changed. I'm not a fan of the shoes with the giant molded rubber front and they did that to the Encore Groove :( I guess they think people are walking around kicking rocks and trees and they put that there to protect your toes.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 93 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Another Great Shoe in the Merrell Tradition 02/13/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Balanza from
I have always liked the Jungle Moc for comfort and durability. The World Legend provides these and a little bit classier look. A great shoe. You should include a shoe horn with each pair. It makes is much easier to put on and is essential the first times you wear them.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

45 of 90 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars squeak 02/12/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: stub from
Thanks for the tip used baby powder, no more squeak.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

45 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars Merrell World Legend Black 01/10/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ArronDiCesare from
I'm on my feet a lot and experience a lot of pain in the heel, so comfort is a priority. tried many pairs for my latest footwear and these were the MOST comfortable bar none, and exactly the style I was after. I usually would not spend $100 on a pair of shoes but these were worth it. I've had them for approximately 5 months now, and while still one of the most comfortable and supportive shoes I've had, the right heel is now making a significant squeak when I walk! At first it was only sometimes, but now a few weeks later it is constant, and as of today I'm afraid this is the last day I can wear them as it's getting embarrassing walking around the office. I'd love to rate these higher because they are otherwise everything I could ever ask for in a shoe, but not even lasting 6 months at this price point is not acceptable.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 89 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Second Pair - like walking on pillows 12/28/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: James W Ford from
Bouth these for a more dressy shoe to wear to the office. Comfort is phenomenal! There is no "break-in period" with these shoes and fit is perfect. Never had a shoe brand that was so consistently excellent.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 94 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars SQUEAK SQUEAK SQUEAK 08/16/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Wzqqn1 from
First off let me say I love Merrells and own several pairs...I bought these at my local Dick's Sporting Goods as an everyday shoe to wear to work. After about 2 weeks they began to squeak when I walk. It's so bad people could hear me walking down the hallway and have made several comments. It's really annoying! They have since been sitting at the bottom of my closet and I feel like I can't wear them. Really disappointed with this...They fit & feel fine. Just the fact that they squeak makes then unwearable. I see that I'm not the only one to have this problem. :(

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

43 of 82 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Leaky 07/03/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Centre from
I bought the shoes for 1 month. Pretty comfortable for light walking. However, for the first time I wore today with a light rain, both feet got wet inside the shoes.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

48 of 95 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars This shoe falls short of expected Merrell standard 04/19/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: SMcKIM from
Having owned several pairs of quality Merrell shoes, I expected this pair to be no different. Sadly, they have fallen short of the mark. First The Achilles notch or lack thereof, caused mild discomfort during the initial two weeks. Second The well documented squeak has grown from an occasional, barely audible rub, to an every step squeak. I work in a low volume, professional office and I can no longer wear these shoes there. Third and final After three months of office use, primarily consists of sitting behind a desk, the outsole is beginning to separate from the midsole. I do understand small design flaws can and do happen, even a manufacturing error is understandable, but the QA process should have identified some of these issues. While I do not expect a $100 pair of shoes to equal a $300 pair of A. E.'s, I do expect them to outperform a $30 pair.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

42 of 98 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars Bring back discontinued World Passport shoe 03/29/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: buddhablah from
I agree with the poster above who says Merrell screwed up a perfect shoe. I have worn the discontinued World Passport shoes for many many years. I was a garanteed customer, always getting (at least) that shoe. Now it's gone and this World Legend looks like it's replacement. (business casual). I tried on the Legend at the store and didn't get that same "perfect fit" feeling as the Passport gave me. I didn't buy. Now that I read about the squeaking, I won't buy. You discontinued a great shoe, and turned me from garanteed customer to potential customer. I want another super comfortable plain leather shoe. But now I'm open to looking elsewhere. (bring back the Passport)

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

44 of 96 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Made in China, fall apart in America 03/09/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: ncspack from
I bought the "World Leader", the lace version of these shoes. I hope the "World Legend" is made better because my soles started falling apart and now I can only wear them as long as it's not wet outside. $100 for shoes is a lot when they last as long as a pair you would purchase from Wal-Mart. I still have a lot of tread left on my pair.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

44 of 98 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars sad to say worst Merrill shoe I've ever had 03/07/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: unhappy camper from
comfortable? yes. Stylish? I suppose so. Squeeky? Rediculously squeeky. I had seen in a previous response from Merrill that the skqueeky shoes had been taken off the market, fixes made, etc. Well I must have gotten some of the bad batch from a December 2011 purchase. They get squeekier the more I wear them. Very dissappointed.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

48 of 97 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Squeak-a-thon 01/31/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: BPlasky from
I bought the World Legend shoes about 2 wks ago from Dicks and could not be more disappointed. The squeaking noise is unbearable. I attempted to rectify with Dicks, however, they have been worn and they state I need to take it up with manufacturer...thus I am. I am an avid Merrell shoe owner, currently have 4 different pairs in the rotation and love them all. The World Legend are very comfortable, but are embarrassing to wear at this point. At $105, I would expect more and based upon past satisfaction would expect that Merrell will rectify this in some sort of manner. Please don't let me down as I want to continue being a avid supporter; plus between my wife and daughter, we have 10 pairs in the house of various models and sizes, the World Legend is so far the only disappointment. Thank you.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

47 of 90 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars 01/05/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user_98440 from
I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU SCREWED UP THE BEST SHOE EVER MADE! I BOUGHT THE PREVIOUS MODEL "WORLD" SHOE AFTER READING THE REVIEWS AT THE TIME. EACH ,REVIEW WAS EXCEPTIONAL. THE STYLE WAS PLAIN WITHOUT THE EMBELLISHMENT ON THE FRONT AND THE BUSY CROSSHATCHING ON THE SIDE OF THE SOLE. ADDITIONALLY THE ROUNDED EDGES OF THE SOLE,SIMILAR TO A "DRIVER'S" SHOE, WAS MUCH MORE COMFORTABLE TO WALK IN. AND THEN THERE'S THE SQUEEK! YOU MESSED WITH PERFECTION AND SCREWED IT UP! BRING BACK THE OLD MODEL!

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

43 of 93 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars They can hear you coming 12/23/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: dbdavis from
I love the look and feel of these shoes. I do a lot of airline traveling for my job and a comfortable pair of easy to slip on and off shoes are essential. The fact that they can be worn from business to casual is a plus! The downside is that they squeak incessantly! I thought that this problem might resolve itself after a breaking in period, but they just keep on squeaking. I own several other pairs of Merrell shoes and do not have this problem. This is very disappointing at this (or any) price.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

50 of 96 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars squeak squeak squeak 12/14/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user_92338 from
I own several pairs of Merrells and love them but these shoes squeak. What is up with that?

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

46 of 93 people found the following review helpful:
1 out of 5 stars Wish we had read the "squeeky" review before buyin 11/09/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: user_79297 from
My husband got these shoes and wore them the first day and loved them. Day 2- not so much. The shoes are squeeking like crazy. Not just an inconspicuous squeek, but a loud squeek. He can't even wear them. Not happy about this purchase.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

50 of 96 people found the following review helpful:
2 out of 5 stars squeaky shoes! 09/14/2010
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: MLC from
These shoes look great, perfect with jeans or khakis if you could actually wear them!!! They are so squeaky when you walk, my husband only wore them for 2 weeks. Obviously not a breaking in problem but a design problem. Not happy that we spent $100 on these shoes that can't be worn.

The review of the Men's World Legend was written on Merrell.com

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
5 36 3
5.5 36.5 3.5
6 37 4
6.5 37.5 4.5
7 38 5
7.5 38.5 5.5
6 8 39 5.5 6
6.5 8.5 39.5 6 6.5
7 9 40 6 7
7.5 9.5 40.5 6.5 7.5
8 10 41 7 8
8.5 10.5 41.5 7.5 8.5
9 11 42 8 9
9.5 11.5 42.5 8.5 9.5
10 43 9
10.5 43.5 9.5
11 44 10
11.5 44.5 10.5
12 45 11
12.5 45.5 11.5
13 46 12
14 47 13
15 48 14
16 49 15
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront