New Balance Men's MX20

Style #: MX20WL, MX20RB, MX20GR

Average Customer Review 5 out of 5 stars (10)
FULL PRODUCT INFO >>

Price:  $79.95

Color

Size

Width

Additional Views

Available Colors

Minimus is a whole new approach to athletic footwear, inspired by Good Form Running and designed to be worn with or without socks. The Minimus Cross-Trainer embodies both elegant simplicity and technical advancement. With its padded collar and deliberate lace placement, the New Balance MX20 is engineered to keep your ankle stabilized in an ideal position. Tremendously comfortable, it also offers lightweight enhancements like rubber outsole insets for optimal traction. This revolutionary shoe brings barefoot-caliber performance to your gym and circuit workouts while still providing the protection and versatility of more traditional trainers.

Low Profile
Lightweight Mesh Upper
Molded N Logo
Antimicrobial Treatment
Injection Molded EVA

Customer Reviews 5 out of 5 stars (10)

Shoe Size: 90% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to size"
Shoe Width: 90% of people said that this shoe "Felt true to width"

Share your thoughts with other customers

Create Your Own Review


5216 of 13140 people found the following review helpful:
3 out of 5 stars A note of caution w/ the Toe Box 01/23/2012
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width:
Reviewer: Rob from Tacoma, WA US
I really like the looks and idea of this shoe, but it just wasn't meant to be for my feet I suppose.

Everything felt great *except* that the toe box swept in too soon on the outside, causing the 3 toes on the outside of my foot to be in constant contact with the shoe, very uncomfortable. The toe box may accommodate most users, but not me and a few other people I've read about. FWIW, I purchased this shoe in 11.5EE and I had a good 1/3"-1/2" of room between my large toe and the end of the shoe...so this wasn't simply a size issue.

The shoe was lightweight, appeared to be made of quality materials at a good price point, and looked good too...I just couldn't see myself trying to Crossfit in them. I've ordered a pair of MT20's, hoping that they'll have a roomier toe box. Only time will tell though, I guess.

If you've got narrow or regular width feet, then go for it...I'm sure you'll love the shoe (assuming you order the correct size). Otherwise, if you've got wide feet, you may want to keep this brief review in mind; as I wear a size 9.5W Army-issued desert boot, and these 11.5W MX20's never gave my toes a chance.

I still gave the shoe 3 stars for the good qualities I listed about it, but due to the toe box issue; I couldn't rate it any higher. I know I have wider feet, but this was also a wide shoe and this issue is documented elsewhere too. Just part of the design. I'd love to see NB come out with an updated version of this shoe with a better toe box that would accommodate a natural splaying of the toes.

Good luck.

Was this review helpful to you?

750 of 1600 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars I'll Let you know 11/20/2011
Shoe Size: Fits half size smaller
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Steve Holczer from Airdrie, Ab, Can
First pair of NB shoes. I usually wear a size 9 and so I bought a size 9. Found them to be too small. I will get one half size bigger and let you know.
Was this review helpful to you?

605 of 1212 people found the following review helpful:
4 out of 5 stars Not suitable for rope climbs 09/28/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Joe Valenzuela from Middleton, MA US
I burned the sole within 30 seconds of ownership on one 20' rope climb descent.

But otherwise a decent CrossFit shoe.

Was this review helpful to you?

648 of 1282 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Best CrossFit Shoes on the Market!! 07/25/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: David Plumey from Shoreline CrossFit
Honestly, the best crossfit shoes on the market! I've tried them all and these are my favorite. I've woded, deadlifted and squatted heavy in these and they are completely stable and super light. Definetly give them a shot!
Was this review helpful to you?

622 of 1273 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars I used the shoe for everything 07/18/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Daniel Tyminski from Crossfit Lindy
So Ive been rocking the NB shoes. I love it. It is super light and super comfy. I used the shoe for everything. I warmed up with some running and double unders and felt phenomenal. I later then did a WOD that had multiple movements with squatting and lots of transition. It was great to squat these shoes and move around in them. I personally felt more stable and the lower profile of the shoe insured that I knew where the weight of my body was place on my feet so I can execute all of the movements properly. They look good enough to even go out in!
Was this review helpful to you?

280 of 571 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars So Damn Stylish! 07/07/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Brendan Marolda from Yankee CrossFit
I have to admit, the first week I had them I didn't even want to WOD in them because they're so damn stylish! That blue color is Hot! But when I finally forced myself to suck it up and workout in them, I definitely found my new favorite shoe for crossfitting. They feel great for everything from lifting, to box jumps, running, I can even pistol in them! Move over inov8, I have a feeling were gonna be seeing a lot more of this shoe in the crossfit community.
Was this review helpful to you?

277 of 595 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars I never thought I'd replace the New Balance 101's. 07/07/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Rob Orlando from Hybrid Athletics
I never thought I'd replace the New Balance 101's but the Minimus is the single best shoe I've ever used. I've run 5+ miles, done dead lifts @ 500+, done box jumps, double unders, snatched and the list goes on. Haven't found a weakness in this shoe.
Was this review helpful to you?

275 of 562 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Absofrigginlutely ridiculous! 07/07/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: David Acosta from CrossFit Milford
So the NB MX20s... Absofrigginlutely ridiculous! They're sick. Should be mandatory Crossfit footwear. these are great for whether your're running, rowing, climbing, sprinting, jumping, climbing, KB swinging, lifting, etc... The all around jack of all trades. Outstanding job New Balance. Can't wait for all the different colors to come in. I'm getting one of each
Was this review helpful to you?

209 of 435 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Always looking for the next best CrossFit Shoe? 07/07/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: Allen Blanco from Shoreline CrossFit
As someone who is constantly looking for the next best CrossFit shoe, I think I have finally found it in the MX20's. I'm a huge fan of how light and flat the shoe is. I own a pair of the NB minimus roads but I primarily use those for 3-5mile runs, I haven't tried using the 20's for anything more then a 400m run in a WOD and to be honest I don't know that I will. These shoes seem built as an all around CrossFit shoe. I've been able to squat, deadlift and box jump with no problems with these shoes. Not to mention the blues are a pretty sweet color. Thanks again Shoemart team! I know I've gotten a lot of inquires at our box for these, I know I'll be getting another pair as soon as they're available!
Was this review helpful to you?

272 of 517 people found the following review helpful:
5 out of 5 stars Possibly the best shoes for CrossFit yet!! 05/05/2011
Shoe Size: Fits true to size
Shoe Width: Fits true to width
Reviewer: A viewer from CrossFit Milford
So I was lucky enough to get to try these out over the last couple months and I absolutely LOVE them!

I wore them for a bunch of the Sectionals CF Games WODs and although it did not necessarily reflect in my scores, these shoes were awesome!

New Balance has done a great job with their NB Minimus launch this year. This model is without a doubt their best model for CrossFit.

It's extremely flat, light and comfortable (just like all the NB Minimus shoes). Beyond that you feel really stable and solid on the ground with this particular model. Because of that, these are great for all WODs with barbell / Olympic lifting movements. They're pretty much great for everything we do in CrossFit. I haven't found a movement or exercise that I wouldn't recommend these for.

I will say there are better choices for running than this model. I'm not saying your can't run in these, but I believe something like a pair of inov-8s are definitely a better choice for that. I've done WODs with 400m / 800m runs in them and it was fine, but I would wear something different if the run is most of the WOD.

Was this review helpful to you?

Adult Sizing
Men's U.S. Women's U.S. Euro Men's U.K. Women's U.K.
3.5 5 35 3 2.5
4 5.5 35.5 3.5 3
4.5 6 36 4 3.5
5 6.5 37 4.5 4
5.5 7 37.5 5 4.5
6 7.5 38 5.5 5
6.5 8 38.5 6 5.5
7 8.5 39 6.5 6
7.5 9 40 7 6.5
8 9.5 41 7.5 7
8.5 10 42 8 7.5
9 10.5 43 8.5 8
10.5 12 44 10 9.5
11.5 13 45 11 10.5
12.5 14 46.5 12 11.5
14 15.5 48.5 13.5 13
Payment Types Available On Theshoemart.com
BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site TheShoeMart NexTag Seller
TheShoeMart is UpFront